Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Tropican Lifetime Parrot Granules Mix/Food, 2 Kg
Size: 2kg|Style: Conures, Caiques, Quakers, Pionus and small Amazons|Change
Price:£5.49 - £45.98


on 26 April 2017
My parrot loves this food, it smells lovely and fruity. will be buying more when she has eaten all of this as she does not get fed up of eating it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Very poor. My parrot doesn't like it what so ever and he eats anything and everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
this is a good product but my african grey is still testing it out it has good quality stuff in the pellets and you can be sure that everything is good and natural
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Great as always, balanced nutrition for parrots
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
The small size of Hagen Tropican is a perfect size to try on birds, that way I am not heavily invested in a pellet brand that does not appeal to them. The Air Barrier Zipper Bag insures freshness, and the bag seals up tightly after each use. I am fostering a cockatoo that did not get along well with colored pellets, so I thought to switch him over to something that contained no artificial coloring. The Hagen Tropican has been a success and the cockatoo--who had been inclined to episodes of extreme nervousness and terrible night frights--has calmed down considerably. The only thing that has been changed is his diet, and at this time, I attribute the change in his attitude and demeanor to the improved nutrition that he is obtaining in the Tropican.

Although, there is a "bubble-gum-like" smell of the granules, after briefly doing my own ‘crunching test’ I can attest that this smell does not translate into the taste, therefore, the Tropican does not taste like bubble gum. I am impressed that Tropican contains not just the usual corn, but also soybean meal, ground wheat, soybean oil, peanut kernels, sunflower kernels, brewers rice, oat groats, flaxseed meal, spirulina, and a number of natural oils and other ingredients that apparently results in higher acceptance among birds that are not necessarily found in other major-brand pellets. Additionally, believing that birds need a certain amount of natural fat and oil for good feather condition, I have also observed that other pelleted foods are excessively "dry." The Tropican formula addresses the normal dry pellet formula with an oil content of 10% (orange, banana, soybean), which is a healthier and more palatable alternative for our pet birds.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Excellent food and far superior to food of the seed/ nut variety you get for parrots. I give it to my African Grey. If you are changing over to pellets you should probably do so in the week when you are out the house as they may not like the transition at first and could make a racket. When they do take to this strange new food source you should notice some behavioural improvements as they are getting the full nutrition they need (with a lot less work involved on their part) and won't attention seek as much.

An absolute must for people with female birds as it already contains calcium and vitamin D as well as other vitamins and minerals and you will drastically reduce the possibility of her becoming egg-bound. They can be too lazy to chew calcium blocks in their cage so calcium blocks alone aren't enough. My parrot never gets bored of this food and it does smell nice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Always use this product, the bird will not eat anything else. it keeps him in really good condition as well
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Excellent product, sensible price . My birds love it .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
lovely and fresh,smells beautiful,my quaker loves it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)