Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
147
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2006
'Crazy isn't being broken, or swallowing a dark secret. It's you, or me, amplified...'
Girl, Interrupted is an incredible film, insightful and memorable. Winona Ryder identifies in one of the DVD interviews that the book appears impossible to adapt, but all involved with the film have done a terrific job here. The film manages to stick very closely to the book and yet still tell a coherent story; anyone who's read Kaysen's biography will know that this is no small achievement! The characters' relationships with themselves and each other are at turns heartwarming and heartbreaking. Angelina Jolie does a particularly excellent job playing the magnetic Lisa, but all the cast give great performances.
The DVD extras are very good, and it's particularly interesting to see the deleted scenes offer a little bit more insight into some of the characters. The film's music is also worth a mention, with some really great song choices.
This film is resonating and beautiful, and in short, I can't recommend it highly enough. Go watch it already.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I loved this film. I think Winona Ryder and Angelina Jolie were brilliant.
I also think Brittany Murphy was great and Angela Bettis (who played the anorexic Janet)
It was such a real film, i really got in to it.
I think the actresses portrayed their characters perfectly.
I loved the scene in the ice-cream shop, so funny.
I really enjoyed watching it.
But I would've loved to see the girls reconciled, or if Janet died from her anorexia and if all the girls got out.
But thats just me, I like having all the loose ends tied up.

I throughly recommend it, it's a brilliant film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2005
Ignore the critics - it's way too easy just to call Girl, Interrupted a 'Cuckoo's Nest with women'. The story and the atmosphere are both completely different.
Girl, Interrupted is based on a true story about one young woman's stay inside a psychiatric hospital. Eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen is questionably diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and spends nearly two years on the ward for teenage girls - where she chooses to befriend her fellow inmates, a group of troubled young women.
If you think all movies set in mental institutions are depressing, think again - Girl, Interrupted is often amusing and uplifting, as well as dark and haunting. It has a brilliant cast - Winona Ryder, Angelina Jolie, Whoopi Goldberg, Brittany Murphy, Vanessa Redgrave and Jared Leto, to name but a few, are all outstanding in this compelling drama. Ryder's portrayal of Susanna Kaysen has been called 'weak' by the critics, which is ridiculous. Her performance isn't exactly powerful, but it's one of her best performances to date. Admittedly, though, Jolie outshines Ryder in this movie - she deservedly won an Oscar for her portrayal of fiesty sociopath Lisa Rowe, and anyone who saw 'Lara Croft: Tomb Raider' and then branded Jolie a 'terrible actress' should see this. Her performance alone is worth seeing this movie for - being an Angelina Jolie fan, you could accuse me of being biased, of course - but she is undeniably brilliant in this movie, bringing the screen to life with huge amounts of energy and emotion. Brittany Murphy is also superb in this movie, despite being slightly overlooked by the two lead characters.
Overall, Girl, Interrupted is a moving, inspirational drama. It's one of my favourite movies of all time, with one of my favourite performances from one of my favourite actresses. I recommend watching the movie with the director's commentary at least once - it's interesting and will provide you with lots of little-known information about the movie.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
The trouble is photosensitive epilepsy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Fantastic price for an amazing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 May 2006
A wonderful film with brilliant acting from the whole cast.

Winona Ryder plays the main character who narrates a tale of being admitted into a mental institute after trying to kill herself. Jaded with life and without a long term plan for the future that involves marrying and reproducing Susanna Kaysen is considered unstable. Diagnosis - borderline personality disorder.

In the institute she meets people the general public would consider the 'real crazies'.... As the story unfolds however we learn to see each of them as individuals and the stories behind why they are who they are...

Angelina Jolie's performance as a sociopath is unbelievable. The first thing that crossed my mind when I saw this was 'she absolutely and totally deserved that oscar.' If you've written her off as an actress give her one more shot with this movie and I guarantee you will change your mind.

Based on the book by Susanna Kaysen this is a true life story about self discovery and a must see movie... You may well laugh or cry. Maybe even both.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
This movie makes light of the nightmare that is Borderline Personality Disorder. You learn NOTHING about BPD in this film (I should know I HAVE the disorder). Read the book instead.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2003
A powerful drama, certainly more so for the feminine persuasion, that is both moving and inspiring. It is also, definitely, the best performances I have seen from both Jolie and Ryder so far. The supporting cast is also very good, not just Goldberg but all of the women support actually pull together well. The full extent of the film is not altogether developed but what has been is more than adequate.
The story is wholly believable and the build up to events is fairly well executed by Mangold and the film moves continuously with flash backs, and side events placed smoothly within the story and used expertly to fill in glimpses of Susanna’s (Ryder) past to aid in the movement of the film. Mostly, the cast holds the film together; the notion of these people being more real than the outside world isn’t portrayed too strongly, but as mentioned in the Amazon Review we have the more well-known “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest” for that.
Overall a very good film, well acted, that stirs emotion and challenges our perception of the world (to what success is up to the viewer) but mostly makes a significantly heart-warming film that shouldn’t be overlooked because of the resemblance to the said well-known classic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)