Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
The Beautiful Struggle
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 January 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2016
Everything was ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2015
Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2004
Having anticipated this album HUGELY since talks of it being released last spring, and then waiting months for it to get re-recorded, 'The Beautiful Struggle' does not dissapoint.
As there was on 'Quality' there are tracks that fit pretty much every mood. 'Going Hard' is a strong way to open the album and sees Kweli spitting with anger and aggression. 'Back Up Offa Me' is where Kweli and Hi-Tek reunite with a great head nodding beat although I think that he could have chosen a better beat from Hi-Tek. The Neptunes produced 'Broken Glass' is hot and it becomes apparent that Kweli is definitely trying to shift big units on this LP, not that there's anything wrong with that of course! He deserves some mainstream success. His lyrics are as clever and deep as always but the production is definitely more appealing to the main stream. On the Kanye West produced 'I Try' Kanye once again is trying to re-create the effect of the classic 'Get By'. Although it is a great track he doesn't succeed! For me the highlight of the album is 'Never Been in Love' where Kweli teams up with Roc-A-Fella super-producer Just Blaze resulting in a soulful and upbeat track where Kweli tells the story of a "playa" falling in love for the first time. The beat reminds me of Jay-Z's December 4th.
'The Beautiful Struggle' is a strong contender for hip hop album of the year but to me doesn't quite match up to 2002's 'Quality' which I now look back on as a classic. Go cop them both!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2014
Talib Kweli is one of the few rappers I feel still stay true to themselves. Lyrically he is brilliant and this album doesn't let you down. if you're interested in real rap - fed up of main stream 'rappers' such as Drake and Lil Wayne who just end up talking about the usual things - then you should definitely give this guy a listen.

Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2004
This album delivers a more commercial sound than Kweli's previous albums but this is not a bad thing. He is still lyrically tight, and offers the conscious minded approach to rhyming. On this album he gains a slightly more famous production team and this strangely this does not distract from the strong vocal presence. We see appearances from the Neptunes, DJ Quick, Just Blaze and obviously Kanye West. The album is good from begin to end, with message of a continuing struggle against the clear injustices in the world.
I feel Kweli is a rapper everyone should listen to once on their headphone, therefore ensuring that you can truly hear the words spoken, and then you may see Kweli's strength. If you want club type beats and rhymes about selling crack buy Jay-Z's album. Funny thing is that even Jay says "that truth be told I'd be lyrically be talib kweli".
Buy this album if you like to listen to meaningful lyrics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2004
Talib Kweli, talented yet under-rated semi-underground MC from Brooklyn hits the streets hard with the Beautiful Struggle. An album as diverse and yet lyrically similar to 2002's Quality, which in my opinion reflected the album title. Beautiful Struggle reflects the partnership between Hi-Tek and Kweli as reaffirmed, something we all are glad happened,production also includes the token track by Kanye West and answer to Get By, I Try. The guest appearances, Anthony Hamilton,Common, John Legend also pack the album with heat but the standout performance by Jean Grae on Black Girl Pain allows this album to sit alone from the average cd being released, do not expect Nelly. This album, lyrically, is probably album of the year so far.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2005
I really think that this a a great album, some say Kweli has gone more towards the pop side of things, I disagree. All he has done is got better producers like Kanye West which rightfully is going to make the album sell more. He also teams up with Hi-Tek on some songs which still provides good tracks. Kweli hasn't become any less of a lyricist and I believe he is still the greatest lyricist ever. Kweli has been a well known non-mainstream rap artist and I think he still portrays the struggle of life with tremendos lyrics.
If you don't already have Blackstar then I would reccomend this because I think it is a better album because personally I don't like Mos Def. Unless you want a really hardcore hip-hop album then I would reccomend his.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Quality
£6.66
Ear Drum
£14.98
Fuck The Money
£13.61

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)