Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
109
4.7 out of 5 stars
Reise, Reise
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 11 October 2017
This is Rammstein at their most sinister and sneering best, I enjoy this album a lot, it really is disturbing in places, it is really down to the hard edged vocals with so much spite and venom especially towards Amerika.
This album is more relevant now than when it came out, it captures the whole American attitude of "we are right and the rest of teh world can F*#k itself", I think since Trump this is more than ever the case.
Rammstein at their snarling best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Never really listened to Rammstein before but Planet Rock decided to play Amerika a few times a while ago. Based off that song I decided to buy into this album. I have absolutely 0 regrets. I love this album and it's actually tempting me to learn some German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
very teutonic in a good way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
All ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
Rammstein, excellent band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Another fabulous slab of heavy riffs, haunting melodies, crunching guitars, orchestral keyboards, pounding drums and gritty German vocals. One of my favourite offerings from this powerhouse of a band. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Yet another great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2004
The latest Rammstein album, Reise Reise, is truly one of the best albums I have been lucky enough to enjoy lately, and in my opinion, one of their best. Herzeleid is still in my book an incredible album, but this latest release reminds me of it in a way. Back then, Herzeleid was a major leap, and one of a kind. Nothing sounded like it before, and many tried so hard to sound like it after. Sehnsucht was different, and I am glad they did not continue to follow that path, as it would have been without me. Mutter, though at times fantastic ("Links 2 3 4 " is a great example), became kind of boring after a while. I keep going back to Herzeleid when I want a true dose of the good old Rammstein.
Then comes Reise Reise. The first time I heard it I was a little shocked. It starts off with music you would expect from such a great band, but nothing new. Then track 4 hits you.. starts off slowly, but wow, what a beat, and what an incredible combination of sounds and truly fantastic strong and very powerful. Which is why in my opinion, track 4 "Keine Lust" is the most innovative part of this new album for Rammstein. It suits them so VERY well. It does remind you of music by "System of a Down" - but you know what? they do it so much better!
The rest of the album has many highlights, and overall, this seems to be an incredible surprise. One I have listened to over five times in the last week, and I still feel as if I need more.
Once again Rammstein has provided great music. I HIGHLY recommend "Reise Reise" to any Rammstein fan, but also to anyone who enjoys real good strong rock. Rammstein's music is special, unquie, and this album is yet another example on why Rammstein is one of the best bands around.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2006
German industrial metallers Rammstein have always been one of the world's must-see live acts due to their frequent use of fire, pyrotechnics and god knows what else, but it wasn't untill Sehnsucht and the widely advertised Mutter, the group became known in the media conscience.

During that period, the strains of Mutter took its toll on the group which nearly split them, and left fans wondering if they would ever peform another infamous live show. Those questions were immediately answered via the release of 2004's Reise Reise.

Possibly Rammstein's most accessible album to date, Reise Reise is 48 minutes of anthemic orchestral monsters. Whilst Mutter seemed rather gritty, Reise Reise has a more poppier leaning, but without going beyond the point of corniness. Certainly Moskau is reminiscent of the bubblegum songs in the 90's, with that familiar sounding female voice on the chorus.

Apart from the poppiness of Moskau and the tongue-in-cheek tone of Amerika, Rammstein revisits some of their orchestral sounds, from the gigantic opening title track, the disturbing cannibal song Mein Teil to the bittersweet ballad Ohne Dich. When listening to them they sound very similar to the choir sounds of Nightwish.

Of course unless you're bilingual, translating the lyrics is going to be hard, but because the music is catchy with great riffs like Los or Keine Lust, the meaning of the lyrics is easy to look past.

I've heard various opinions on this album, maybe cause its more poppier, die-hard fans would be a bit disappointed but there's nothing bad going on here.

Buy it now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2004
Unlike Sum 41's astonishingly inaccurately titled album, Rammstein have managed a trick not pulled off (by anyone except themselves) since Faith No More put out Angel Dust in the early 1990's and produced an album of consistently high quality, with not a single duff track on the entire disc.
Rammstein, uniquely, have a habit of doing this - I considered writing a review of Mutter a few years ago saying much the same, and their trademark sound ramains as strong as it ever was. One has to wonder if somewhere in East Germany in the 1980's the DNA of Motorhead, Reni Leifenstahl, JS Bach and Gary Numan was somehow spliced into one consumate music producing entity which started producing music and simply hasn't stopped.
As an album, just plain great. The best thing I've heard since...um...Mutter, a couple of years ago, and probably the best overall since the glory days of Faith no More or AC/DC a long, long time ago.
Just plain great.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)