Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
Live Killers
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 12 October 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
Classic live album .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2010
Excellent but in dire need for a 'new' Remix, at times the placement of the instruments etc just sounds wrong!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2009
Some of the muppets who've posted reviews harp on about the sound quality of this recording. I wonder whether they ever owned the original on vinyl.

This is an amazing CD with perfectly acceptable sound quality given that it was recorded live almost 30 years ago!!!!!

Queen are quite simply the BEST live band ever! This CD captures them at the electrifying best. Freddy in full swing supported by his incredibly talented band. What more do you need?

Don't listen to the muppets, you'll regret it.

I'm in the process of rebuilding my music collection and am delighted to have a copy of Live killers again.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2017
love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
Not a bad live album, not a brilliant one either. The performances are edited from numerous shows (a complete show with little to no editing would have made for a better album), the very loud 'bleeping' of expletives before 'Death In Two Legs' still grates on me after all these years, not very well mixed (despite these performance's being recorded on multi track tape). Sound quality is lacking on many tracks. On the plus side: The 2003 remaster has improved sound quality when compared with earlier CD and vinyl releases (though its still not that great a sounding album). It contains the stripped down 'vocals/acoustic guitar' arrangement of 'Love Of My Life' with wonderful crowd singing along at Freddie's request (one of the better recorded tracks). The inlay sleeve does a reasonable job of replicating the red and green artwork found on the original lp. Worth owning if you are a Queen completist. Casual fans would be better served by greatest hits vols 1 & 2 and perhaps a few studio albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 September 2003
Always the showmen, always going that extra mile. Quite breath-taking when you first hear it. 2 completely different versions of "We Will Rock You". The opening one which attempts to knock you off your seat in it's intensity. Things never really let up from there on in.
"Death On Two Legs", "I'm In Love With My Car", "Get Down, Make Love" (weird!), and the extended "Now I'm Here" - and that'sjust the first half! Coupled with "Dreamer's Ball" & "'39" and you're salivating at the prospect of the second disc.
Things carry on nicely on the second disc too. The brilliant "Spread Your Wings" from NOTW, "Brighton Rock" with Mr May's solo work, and of course "Bohemian Rhapsody" - why did they never play the first section? Things come to a nice quiet(!) conclusion with a rabid version of "Sheer Heart Attack" follow of course by "... Rock You" & "...Champions".
Listening to this you find that some things never changed much over the years. On the other hand it's a good record of where they were in 1979, just before the synths put in their first appearance.
Very good stuff indeed. Play it loud!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2006
This double live album captures Queen at the very end of the 70's at the height of their powers, before their increased reliance on synthesisers in the following decade. While being compiled from various concerts hampers the feeling of the flow of a real Queen show the sound quality is good (especially considering the complex multi-track studio records being replicated by only 4 people), and the recordings have a real sweaty 'live' band feel rather than the overly-clean studio overdubbed live recordings that some bands issue.
Highlights and differences from the studio versions include the radically different 'fast' version of We Will Rock You; a medley combining Death On Two Legs, Killer Queen, Bicycle Race and I'm In Love With My Car; the Freddie/audience sing-along in Now I'm Here; the mini-acoustic set complete with comedy wind instrument vocal impersonations in Dreamer's Ball, the guitar version of Love Of My Life and Freddie taking lead vocals on '39; an epic version of Brighton Rock with new drum and guitar solo sections; and Freddie teasing the audience with the opening bars of Mustapha.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)