Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
Seinfeld: Seasons 1 - 3 [DVD] [1993]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£32.95+ £1.26 shipping


on 21 May 2006
I have only recently got into Seinfeld, being too young to watch it when it was first produced in the early `90's (I wouldn't have understood it, and it was shown in a graveyard slot on BBC2).

The great thing about Seinfeld, and as many, many people have noted, is it is a show about nothing, except everyday life. Rather than devising ridiculously elaborate situations and forcing the humour, as most comedies seem to do (and unfortunately rarely get right), Seinfeld instead focuses on the humour that can be found in everyday, seemingly mundane situations. Looking at the episodes here, who can't relate to the predicaments our protagonists find themselves in?

The characters are wonderfully formed. Jerry himself seems to actually take a back seat much of the time to the antics of the other characters, and is more of a commentator. George is an exaggerated neurotic, Elaine is Jerry's pushy ex-girlfriend and Kramer, his deranged neighbour. The actors all play their characters very well, and you really can't fault their comic acting skills.

Season one of the show is really only an introduction to the show, featuring only five episodes. Things only really begin to kick off in the latter half of series 2. By then, the writers are really on a roll, and this carries through to the third season, which comprises the second half of this box set.

Although Seinfeld didn't get a huge commercial following until its fourth season, the first 3 series are still extremely funny. Even today it is still leagues ahead of most comedy series, and doesn't rely on cheap devices or obscenities to be successful.

With a great variety of DVD extras, this box set is a must-buy not only for fans of Seinfeld, but for any comedy fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2005
Seinfeld is so well written with characters so, so strong that it works as drama. The fact that it is one of the funniest sitcoms ever made is a bonus that makes this such must-see viewing. You will see episodes of Friends that have been simply lifted from Seinfeld - but even though they are very funny in Friends - they are legendary, awesome in Seinfeld.
Also, as a DVD boxset it is so full, so comprehensive that if you are a Seinfeld geek then this is, like, all your Christmas's come true...but if your not then it begs the question: why can't all boxsets be this well thought out, designed and thorough?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2005
I am amazed at how many people just have not heard of Seinfeld. These 8 DVDs are just the start of what is surely one of the very best comedy series of all time. Although not at its funniest at first, right from the start there are absolute gems in every episode and by series 2 it really gets into its stride. The exchanges between Jerry and George are almost surreal and unlike some others these can be watched again and again. At the end of the 3rd series I was aching with longing for the next series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2015
One of the best US comedies ever - the show about nothing.

Really is very funny.

Characters are quite off the wall.

Quirky but very funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2011
Most people will at least have heard of Seinfeld; it's possibly the most famous sitcom of all time and follows comedian Jerry Seinfeld and his acquaintances in what is often called "a show about nothing". In truth Seinfeld is a fairly standard sitcom where the main characters find themselves in slightly strange or awkward situations, albeit more realistic ones than most comedies.

Unfortunately, while Seinfeld grows to become essential viewing, the first 3 seasons included in this box set are fairly mediocre and it doesn't become the hilarious show it was until the 4th season. It's still worth buying at a reasonable price, but don't expect anything too great and pick up the later seasons as soon as possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2016
The first 3 series of Seinfeld are great, and so are all the later series. Fantastic comedy. The DVD extras were a very entertaining addition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2004
I watched a bit of Seinfeld when it was on TV. However I hadn't seen most of the early episodes. I am so glad that I've bought this DVD set. I started laughing so much. Seinfeld is one of the greatest comedies ever written. Even if you've never seen Seinfeld before, I still strongly recommend that you buy this set. COMEDY = SEINFELD. Hopefully the rest of the series will be available soon on DVD as I will definitely buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2016
predecessor to curb..warming the road...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2005
Quite simply, this is the funniest sitcom ever made. It takes a while to get into it, but once you become more familiar with the characters, your sides will be splitting! If you are already a Seinfeld fan and considering buying the newly released DVDs, you will not be disappointed; they are tremendous value for money, filled with hours of exclusive material. At forty quid, this box set is an absolute bargain and I can't wait for the next release!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
I forgot how good the 1st 3 are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse