Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
59
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2010
I bought this because I enjoy my hi-fi and the sound of brass instruments come across excellently. I had previously bought a few jazz albums, so decided to try a full brass band sound. Boy, did I make a great first choice! These guys can play their socks off. Clearly, every one is a highly accomplished musician in his own right and together they really rock. A great variety of tracks gives a wonderful flavour of the huge repertoire of this award winning (and rightly so) band. No wonder they have achieved worldwide acclaim. The dynamic range of the music - going from very soft to full-on blow your hair back - is astonishing. If you are an afficionado of brass bands or just fancy trying this type of music, you could have no better disc in your collection than this.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
If you're a brass band fan, and even if your not, you will really enjoy a wonderful musical experience with this CD.
The Grimethorpe Band is second to none.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
The authentic sound of a colliery band. Long may it continue. Good choice of pieces and lovely cornet solos. Sheer enjoyment.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is brass band playing - the very best. What a great programme of music! There is stirring film music- The Great Escape, James Bond, Bridge on the River Kwai, The Dam Busters, and Indiana & The Temple of Doom - a great riot of controlled sound. There is beautiful music that is rightly sentimental - By the Sleepy lagoon, Largo from the New World Symphony and Londonderry Air and Jerusalem. One of my favourite pieces of music Is 'The Padstow Lifeboat' by Sir Malcolm Arnold. The band does it proud. And then what virtuosity and solo brilliance as well as collective power and skill in Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody No 2 in a just fabulous arrangement by Rimmer. I am only just now coming down from the ceiling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
An excellent selection and very good value for money . This cd makes for easy listening both at home and whilst travelling.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
A worthwhile addition to any Brass/Silver Band Library, really good buy and up to all it was described, Good Service,Edwin.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Love this CD, allthough I like brass bands, Ime not an avid fan, but listening to this I am transported to the film, Brassed off, it actually moves me, thinking about the miners, and how they were treated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Contains just what the title of the CD says! A Value for money selection of the Grimethorpe at their very best. It includes William Tell Overture, Flower Duet, Nimrod, Largo from The New World Symphony (better known as "The Hovis Advert"), Pomp & Circumstance March No 1, as well as more popular pieces such as The Dam Busters March, James Bond Medley, By a Sleepy Lagoon (theme music to "Desert Island Discs") , Londonderry Air (better known as "Danny Boy") etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
I bought this as a gift for my mother, who is a fan of the Brassed Off film (from which the band get there fame), we really enjoyed listening to the range they offer on the disc. My favourite has to be the Bond medley, but there are so many good tracks !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Speaking unashamedly as one who still cannot sit through 'Brassed Off' without a box of Kleenex and a well-thoughtout exit strategy, I have to say that this is one of the best albums of any kind in my possession. Yes, it is eclectic, as any greatest hits compilation will be; but every single track is perfect in its arrangement, rendition and digital mastering/balance. For an all-singiing, all-dancing, heart-rending and heart-thrilling CD, look no further. 'Cheap' it is certainly not, though it is extremely inexpensive. It is simply exquisite. And to G.C.B: well done! Absolutely outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.94
£5.75
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here