Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Infinity Land
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.69+ £1.26 shipping


on 18 October 2004
Biffy have gone and done it again.
I wasn't the most certain of this album when I first listened to it. A couple of the tracks jumped out at me immediately, and I was a huge fan of the single Glitter and Trauma; but the album as a whole didn't strike me as particularly good.
But first impressions can be deceiving and I was oh so wrong. So wrong indeed! I have to warn you now though, the only way I can do this review properly is to compare to Biffy's earlier work. So if you don't know it well, then "these words won't help you if you're looking for answers".
This is quite simply the most varied, intelligent, unpredictable and accomplished album I have ever heard. Starting off with the Eightiesesque dance rock anthem "Glitter and Trauma", with a typical thumping Biffy baseline after the amazing anticipatory (real word?) minute long intro; and finishing with the quiet majesty of "Pause it and Turn it Up", this album never lets go of your brain and eardrums and you just have to jump up and joiun in the lyrics in true Biffy tradition. The music "twists and turns, wrapping around me" as Simon shrieks in "Jaggy Snake", one of the more complicated tracks that took me a few listens from when I first heard it live to 'get', but I love it now.
As for the rest of the tracks, "Strung to your Ribcage" is a frantic warped love song that rips along at breathtaking pace, "Got Wrong" is a grungier almost Weezerlike song of a similar loudness, while sandwiched between them is the catchy cheekiness of recent hit single "My Recovery Injection". Following this raucous start, Biffy pause for breath with the beautifully sad "The Atrocity", which sees Simon sounding his most Scottish ever. A good thing if you ask me.
Next up is the surely classic-in-waiting "Some Kind Of Wizard", which recalls such previous Biffy wonders as "The Go-slow", while the explosive time changes and sensational melodies also display just how far the band have come in only three years. Following this is "Wave Upon Wave Upon Wave". Words cannot do this song justice. Its like a better "Liberate the Illiterate". And that was one of my top 3 alltime Biffy songs.
The rhythm then changes with the awesome baseline and jangling guitars of "Only One Word Comes To Mind", followed by "Man from Crasp". This latter is bizarre; with no music only Simon, Ben and James singing in choral harmony; but strangely compelling. This immediately breaks into the cracking riff of "Jaggy Snake".
Then, the glory of the most magnificently titled song of all time - "The Kids From Kibble and the Fist Of Light". The song even does the title justice, flying along with roaring guitars and the jazzy chorus, before splintering off into some introspective trumpet (!!!) and the sensational repeated line of 'these strange explosions hit me like a fist of light". Magical.
Then to round off, we have the big band start and great ending of "The Weapons Are Concealed" followed by the aforementioned contemplation of "Pause it and Turn it Up". There is also a bonus track, consisting of Simon reading a great little poem over a background of raucous static guitar feedback. Its not pretty on the ears, but makes sense.
In summary, if you are looking for a bland, by the numbers record with one or two poppy choruses, don't buy this album. However, if you aren't afraid to try new things, to listen to bands who aren't afraid to push boundaries, experiment, and just generally have a good time while doing it, get this album. It may take several listens, but once you get it, it will be a friend for life.
Of course, if you love the Biffy already, what the hell are you waiting for?
"Do You Believe In Magic?" After this you may just.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Bought this for someone as a Christmas present and as far as I can tell its great as theirs been no come backs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Im still trying to work it out.. but its still spinning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
All good here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
Biffy Clyro are a mixture of various music styles, ranging from post-indie and punk to hard rock and metal. However overall I would class them as a heavy rock band with many influences.

Every song is brilliant on this album, there isn't a reason to skip to your favourite, because they're all so brilliant. The lyrics are unique and never tiresome either, backed up with musical and instrumental genius.

Many people may be put off by the singers unpredictable singing style, which ranges from very mellow and calm, then suddenly bursting into fits of screaming and swearing. But don't let this put you off. the songs are all the better for it, trust me...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2004
to start with, i apologise for that title, its a bit obvious frankly. but there you go.
immaculate album, truly. not a poor track.
jaggy snake is an immediate track, that really stands out, and for me, theres no such man as crasp stuck out, because its the lyrics from jaggy snake, which i had heard prior to the first listen of the record. i laughed alot, on the bus. loudly...
the weird dance beat prelude gives away to the hip swaying glitter and trauma. the weapons are concealed sounds like a bizarre cop show soundtrack with its blaring horns, and then turns into the spiky guitars that you and i both love. wave upon wave upon wave, the tribute to simon neils late mother, is both beautiful and ugly. each song is different, and its obvious the band are progressing. hoorah.
this took me a while to really get into - theres less heavy guitar and more screaming, which i wasnt expecting - and theres probably still more for me to get my head round. if you have just heard biffy, and want to start with them, id reccomend you blackened sky, the debut, which is more accessible and a better place to start really. but if you love em, why dont you have it already? its damn good
mon the biffy
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2004
Oft described as the Scottish Nirvana, Biffy Clyro have the same almost effortless ease with generating radio friendly hooks in heavy songs.
However Biffy are a whole different ball game - this album could be considered their polished 'Nevermind' period - yet songs like Jaggy Snake and Strung To Your Ribcage are as progressive and meaty and shouty and plainly different to the competition as anything they've previously written.
These sit well as a juxtaposition to more accessable numbers like Got Wrong, My Recovery Injection and Glitter and Trauma.
If you know and love Biffy Clyro already, then you probably own this already (and if not, why not?), and if you don't know them then congratulations you've just discovered your new favourite band.
Honestly this album is not just difficult to put down, it compels you to pick it up and play it again.
Buy it, love it, tell all your friends!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 April 2005
Like Biffy's previous 2 albums I found Infinity Land hard to get to grips with at first and it can often be a frustrating listen; just when you think they're on to something accessible and superb in a particular song it changes via strange time signatures and angular guitars into something completely different and more challenging. You may begin to doubt the album if you are new to the band but the rewards for repeat listening are huge - the album reveals itself to be a truly superb piece of work and, in my opinion, the best of 2004.
Simon Neil's vocals range from fits of screaming to soothing harmonics but always convey pure passion. The music is hard to classify but is rooted in hard guitar indie/indie punk. The melodies swerve and dodge making for a totally gripping aural experience. This non-linear approach keeps the music fresh and there is always something new to discover and a new favourite song to pick!
Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Puzzle
£5.02

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)