Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 22 September 2004
This is definitely a high point for music releases this year. Micah.p.Hinson and the gospel of progress have produced an album of beautiful songs that are both joyous and melancholic. The vocals echoe over folk/country style music, with many of the songs accompanied by a minaiture ochestra. The album has similar attributes that a bonnie prince billy record has, with micah's vocals alternating with a female counterpart to give a sense that we are being told both sides of the story to these lost love songs. This is a perfect record for people who enjoy such artists as bonnie prince billy, the reindeer section and devendra banhart. Go out and get it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
This is an excellent debut from a young artist with a tale or two to tell. Micah P Hinson born in Texas before moving to Manchester sings about his hard up bringing and traumatic experiences. At 22 Hinson has just about seen it all, adopted, homelessness and imprisonment. This album is largely acoustic and songs like 'Don't You Forget' and 'On My Way' just beg to be played over and over. This album just gets better with every listen. Other reviews suggest that I am not alone in my praise for this album. UNCUT 4/5, TIMES 5/5 and NME 9/10.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2004
Micah P Hinson & The Gospel of Progress... is an assured debut from a young man the publicists would like you to believe has had a tough life. It certainly sounds like it. With a gravely, smoke-chiselled voice that recalls Nick Cave and early Leonard Cohen, Hinson sings largely of loss over desolate accompaniment from 'The Gospel...', members of psych-rockers The Earlies. Unlike that band, however, Hinson mines a country/folk territory that recalls Bonnie 'Prince' Billy and - fleetingly - Scott Walker. For me, the album is strongest when the music is most developed. This is most apparent on the opening two tracks: 'Close your Eyes', which builds from wistful keyboards and flutes into a cacophony of sound, and 'Beneath the Rose', which layers piano and strings onto Hinson's rich, dark vocals. As the record progresses, a seemingly single narrative of a love affair plays out to a bitter finish, with the music getting sparser and the lyrics more and more bitter in their delivery ('On My Way', 'You Lost Sight In Me'). Most importantly, Micah P Hinson has the emotional gravitas to pull this off, an increasingly rare phenomenon in contemporary music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2004
This is a truly wonderful album. Every songs drips with melody and warmth even though the songs are all about love and loss. Mr Hinson sure sounds like he's had a hard life but his loss is definately our gain. Great stories, great songs, and great production thanks to the transatlantic collective the Earlies. Think a young Nick Cave, Johnny Cash, or Leonard Cohen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
Hinson's record has greatly surpassed all of my expectations, even though I was a huge fan of his demos. Its strengths rest on a number of foundations--simple, compelling lyrics repeated hypnotically; unique vocal quality (honest and rough) supplemented by layers of harmony; huge variations in style and instrumentation (beautifully simple piano melodies, horn ensembles, screeching guitars, melodic feedback, acoustic "hillbilly" riffs, etc. all in various combinations). My favorite songs include: "Yourself Asleep Again," "Don't You," "As You Can See," "I Still Remember," "The Nothing," "You Lost Sight In Me," and "The Day Texas Sank to the Bottom of the Sea."
I highly recomend this album. I also recommend the singles with b-sides. "The Possibilities" (demo) on one of the "Beneath the Rose" singles has great lead guitar blending seamlessly with the slowly picked acoustic melody. Also, the album "The Baby and the Satellite," is incredible--short, atmospheric, with more a consistent style and equally intelligent and compelling songs.
If you enjoy honest music with a good deal of emotional content and are eclectic in your tastes, I'm sure this album will amaze you.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2004
In the vein of a loud Lambchop would be my nearest point of reference with more aggressive/wobbly vocals. The musicianship is breathtaking and the final track makes it for me.Starting from a slow jangly guitar beneath a growling mournful vocal the whole song build into a wonderful wall of sound almost orchestration with an almost big band sound accompanied by a string quartet; extraordinary stuff and worth the price of the CD just for that track.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
I bought this album basically on the strength of amazon reviews... and was not disappointed. It's essentially a country album, but is far darker and more intense than anything you might expect from this genre. His wonderful voice -the first thing to strike me about this record - it can be soft, gentle but also rich. dark and gravelly. His lyrics are compellingly dark, but relativley straight-forward. The range of instrumentation is enthralling, particularly on the epic last track. Quite simply atmospheric, emotionally intelligent, beautiful song-writing. Highly recommended!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
Stumbled over this album accident, played it loved it then tried for ages to get my hands on the CD but it is very rare. I did after some time find one for a reasonable price and it has been on my playlist ever since.

It manages to be emotional, sparse, haunting, beautiful, melancholy and stays with you wherever you go whenever you play it. I have scanned through his output after this, but nothing has resonated with the bleak and haunting majesty displayed here.

I don't often award 5/5 but this album obsessed me from the moment i heard it so the rating is throughly deserved!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2005
Can't remember why I bought this album... I certainly hadn't read any reviews or heard any songs. It didn't impress me at first but then I never gave it time. On repeated listens it slowly sunk in. It's a very good album... up there with the best of last year. A testament to well crafted songs that stay with you, instead of catchy hooks that become tiresome after three listens.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
alles in Ordnung gerne wieder
all thing ok
its very good music from micah p hinson and the gospel of progress
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)