Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
25


on 3 August 2017
This is my favourite Dizzee album, after watching his Glasto set I felt nostalgic and brought all his past albums. 13 years later, it's still the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2010
Just about the best i have heard,i am in the 60's age range,but still enjoy his RAP,and,get my poor aged limbs well into action!Exeptional album!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
Funny XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
Good 2nd album, has the right element of rap n grime ... Hard to top Boy In Da Corner but this was good release. Stand out tracks : Stand Up Tall, Graftin, Learn & Imagine. Dizzee talks about how he survived the infamous stabbing and all the haters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2012
With sparse - and often almost discordant - beats, coupled with Dizzee's LDN style aggressive rapping, this is certainly grime at it's best.

I do feel it's a shame there's the odd 'cheesy' moment like the 'Happy Talk' sample in 'Dream', but then again Dizzee's vocals and lyrics are strong enough for the track to maintain it's credibility (besides, I don't think he's taking himself too seriously on that particular track!).

'Showtime' is not quite as accessible as you might hope for the 2nd album from a Mercury Music Prize winner but does grow stronger and more enjoyable with each listen.
Singles "Stand Up Tall" and "Graftin'" stand out as a little more mainstream in their delivery and do actually serve as a good introduction to Dizzee Rascal's work and this album. However, do expect the album to be a little darker, musically and lyrically, compared to the singles.
Personally, I always hate the first few listens of most albums; while the tracks are still unfamiliar I just can't get in to them. However, as the lyrics become more discernable and different layers of sound emerge and become clearer with every play, this album will be one I'll keep coming back to for my grime fix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2004
After his stunning debut i was more than a little afraid that Dizzee Rascal's follow up was not going to live up to expectations, either going too commercial or too abstract ala Tricy's Pre Millenium Tension.
However, listening to it for the first time now, it is clear that although his sound has moved on it is still as interesting and unique as before.
With more focus on bass this time, the tracks often sound more like slowed down rephlex music than standard grime.
The rapping as well is still as unique as ever and would definitely recommend you at least give it a try. The second listen is the one which always hooks you......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2004
Absolutely unbelievable 2nd album!!!, on a par with the 1st. 'Showtime' sum's up the whole album. It's a bit more, dare I say, persistent!. The one thing that did cross my mind is, would Dizzee still be as 'raw' on the follow up to 'Boy In Da Corner', I mean after hearing 'Stand Up Tall' I started to doubt the 2nd album would be (not a really big fan of that song to be honest). But I was luckily wrong, thankful that he hasn't gone for the more 'softer (commercial) approach' on the 2nd album. His style has improved and his skills as a MC. My favourite track at the moment is 'Respect Me' the bass line is just sick... If you was in love with the 1st album... you'll love the 2nd... I can't wait for the 3rd... KEEP IT RUFF DIZZEE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2004
I first heard of Dizzee rascal when I heard "I Luv U" on Channel U on Sky. The first album had not been released at that point and he had just been stabbed in Ayia Napa. Having listened to and fallen in love with "I Luv U" I purchased his first album "Boy In Da Corner" as soon as it was released and for the first couple of weeks I thought the album was OK. As I listened more I fell in love with a few of the tracks and after a couple of months I absolutely loved every song, I can't believe how deep some of the lyrics are and was especially touched by his messages to kids to try hard in school and do your own thing.
So obviously I awaited the release of "Showtime" with quite a lot of excitement, I booked the day off work to listen to it and was very impressed, it has been out for just 4 days now and I have fallen in love with a number of tracks already and I know that the others will all grow on me. The lyrics are untouchable, never have I known somebody to be so positive and so uplifting, I would seriously compare Dizzee Rascal to 2pac who is in my opinion the greatest artist of all time, Dizzee talks about how hard things can be and talks about the struggle but he is filled with positivity and hope, he has proven that anyone can be a success from any background & he suggests time & time again throughout the album that with hard work anything is possible. The beats & Bass lines are awesome in some of the tracks and the dashes of comedy are what I have come to expect from him. My favourite tracks at the moment are "Get By" again a song of hop, "Imagine" is also an excellent thought provoking song. I am also a big fan of "face" "respect me" and "stand up tall"
Excellent album, excellent artist, excellent example
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2004
If you liked Dizzee's first album then you'll love this one. This totally a different album from Boy In Da Corner, but in many ways it's similar. It still has that crazy production of his and those rhymes in that weird voice of his.
What makes this album different - and maybe better - is that the beats are lighter. They're more accessible (maybe cos he wants Americans to like it?). So if you just couldn't 'understand' Boy In Da Corner, give this album a listen. You might find it easier to get into.
One thing is sure tho. There's no one else out there that sounds like this. This boy's original!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2004
I dont like grime music. Or whatever its meant to be called. I'm a straight hip hop fella. My favourite rappers are MF DOOM and Edan at the moment, as well as Nas and Ghostface. I love Lewis Parker and Jehst. Supposed real British hip hop. I didnt really like the first Dizzee album. I wondered what all the fuss was about. I did like I luv u and Fix up look sharp, but some of the LP i thought was horrible. Even if it did win the Mercury Music Prize. However this album is a totally different beast. Nothing but astonishing rhymes and energy that was showing on some of the first album. And the production fits. Almost perfectly. If this is the growth just over one album I cant wait for the next one the lad's hopefully got up his sleeve. I've been converted. This is monumental in my mind. Well done Diz. Nice one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Fifth
£6.74
Raskit
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)