Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2004
Tupac... What can I say? This documentry left me speechless for a day. Its so hard and so direct! Its so emotional! There is a message in this dvd that changes your perspective on the way you live your life. The way you treat people around you. Its so compelling, its so moving, its so natural that after viewing this dvd I had to watch it again because I didn't believe what I had seen or heard! Tupac is and will be a living legend. This is too emotional a piece to be a documentry, this should be a lesson! Please watch this and you will be changed for the better. Until the end of time...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
first of all ive got to say this is the best Tupac DVD avalible forget all the others. i have been a tupac fan for a few years now and have bought pretty much all of his releases, and yesterday i bought this film new film and since then i have watched it twice (once the normal film and once with commentary).i first intended to see this film at the cinema, but unfortunatly tupac is not as popular in England and i didnt get the chance to get a look at it a few months back.
this is not only your average documentary, which you would see lots of snipets of an interviewer asking friends and family of the decesed rapper. instead this tells the story of Tupacs life from the very begining right up to his untimely death. whats more it is in Tupac's own voice. the director obviously searched high and low for material to use. its almost like Tupac planned the film, as almost all he says seems to fit in perfectly.
Tupac: Resurrection looks deep into the contravercy of the way tupac lived. it also shows how he came out of the struggle of the ghetto, how he rose up as a strong leader within the Black community.
The film is best suited for people with surround sound and a subwoofer as it is filled with music from the great rapper which play best in those conditions (films such as 8 Mile)
not only is this film great, it has many well made special features (ones that come to mind are the two music videos, and the interviews with other rappers on the life and death of Tupac), the worst special feature was "Bootleg This" where Afeni Shakur (Tupac's mother) warns people not to bootleg the DVD or any of Tupac's CDs.
All in all this is a great movie, and a must for any Tupac fan. if you are new to tupac then this film will tell you almost all you need to know about the slain rapper.
R.I.P 2Pac
dean hollman
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
"Tupac: resurrection" (2003) is a documentary that tells us about the life of Tupac Shakur, a rapper that became an icon, and that was murdered in Las Vegas in 1996, when he was only 25. I am far from being a fan of rap music, but I don't regret watching this documentary, as it is interesting and informative, the kind of film Tupac's fans will adore, and spectators that don't know about him will appreciate.

To start with, the director (Lauren Lazin) managed to get Tupac to speak from the grave, thanks to the careful edition of many interviews he gave during his lifetime. We get to know about his childhood, his relationship with his mother (a Black panther, and one of the producers of this documentary), and his beginnings as an artist. We are also allowed to hear his point of view about many issues, the kind of things he did to help his community, and the mistakes he made. Most importantly, we can hear his songs, the controversial music in which he expressed what he felt and who he was.

On the whole, I think that this documentary is outstanding. Notwithstanding the fact that it is subjective, it manages to entertain and inform at the same time. And even though you must not expect to know the whole truth about Tupac after watching "Tupac: resurrection", I'm confident you will have a pretty good idea of why we is remembered by so many even now. Highly recommended...

Belen Alcat

PS: For parents --> take into account that this documentary is not adequate for children, as it contains strong language, images of drugs, violence and sex.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2004
This is a refreshing documentary. There is plenty of footage that has not been widely seen, if at all. It's construction is excellent, having Tupac narrate his life in his words drawing together his comments in an appropriate manner. It seems to involve you and continues to hold interest throughout. What better way to set a story straight than by getting Tupac to speak on the subject himself. It really lets the viewer judge for himself. His mother has released an outstanding tribute to her son.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
I bought this DVD thinking it would be another documentary explaining why Tupac was a bad person and why we should all hate him, but within the first five minutes, I was so interested in it I could not take my eyes off it. This DVD really takes you back to look at all of Tupac's life and gives you his point of veiw. He explains how he is wrongly accused of everything and you can clearly see he is right in most cases. It gives you interveiws with all of his friends, which is a very emotional experience. I would recommend this DVD 100% to anyone who is a fan of Tupac. It has over 3 Hours of DVD extras and is just truly amazing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
Absolutely excellent. You get the sense that this DVD has been planned and written very very carefully, with real passion. This DVD is narrated entirely by Tupac. The way this is done is brillaint because it fit the title of resurection perfectly, you really have to keep reminding yourself that the narration is taken from recording of Tupac's voice before he died, because it fits so well.
If you already love Tupac, buy this, you'll still learn new stuff about Tupac.
If you dont already know or love Tupac, black or white, buying this DVD, get the truth about 'Thug Life' and what Tupac lived and dreamed about, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2004
'i always knew id get shot....'. I have a great number of dvd's on the legend that is tupac and my only wish is that this had been the first. then there would have been no need for any of the others. this is an unbelievable, inspiring piece of absolute genius. eerie in the way that tupac shakur speaks from beyond the grave, his charisma oozes through. he shows all sides of his nature, from innocent, to thug, from sinner to saint and from not giving a f*£! to deep remorse. how he lived not for himself but for black people and everything they represent. he tried to change others lives for the better. his voice guides you through his life, spoken entirely by him this dvd is the most impressive on this superstar and one that should not be missed by anyone let alone true hip hop fans. a must have. dont miss this coz ul definately regret it. his whole life story the only way it should be told. through the words of the don himself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2008
beautifully done

takes the emotions of how pac thought. a great insider remembering 2pacs great music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2005
This is the best DVD about 2pac I have ever seen! It gives you a really good insight into tupac's life and death row, and whats more it is narrated by the man himself! The special features are really good as well, with Snoop, Jada, Treach and members of his family giving good interviews which told you what he was really like.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2004
A brilliant movie about Tupac's life and the truth about his time on Death Row Records.
The hidden features are fanatic, they are absolute proof that he still lives!.
I have one issue with the English version, it has four minutes less movie than the US version. The English version also has some different footage from the US version, in my view the movie seems to have been dumbed down for English audiences.
In my opinion you should buy the American version of Tupac Resurrection, if you don't have a multiregional DVD player than you should still buy the UK version, you just won't get the best version of this great movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here