Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
133
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2016
A psychological thriller and brilliantly assured film that faithfully reproduces the eeriness, chill factor and complexities of the writing by Stephen King and David Koepp. Johnny Depp is on seductively secretive top form as a writer separated from his wife and resisting signing final divorce papers whilst attempting to be creative in an idyllic retreat location. But tortured memories and indistinct realities forbid him any real peace. As lives are examined the plot unfolds and your enjoyment is assured. Particularly superb supporting work is in evidence by the convincing and much under appreciated John Turturro, who adds significantly to the film's realism and suspense. Buy this movie - it's one for anyone's collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
This is a good film, I like it. Johnny deep is good in it but this is not his best film. I like the story and its a clever ending. I can recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Great movie :) Good Quality but sound could be a bit louder. Anyway worth to spend those £2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
VERY CHEAP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Delighted with packaging, delivery and goods. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
A good movie (4 Stars) but whoever added the subtitles decided it would be ok to have some on frame and sone off frame. Zoom in to fill your tv screen and you loose some of the subtitles. Whar should one call this? Cynicism, arrogance or technical incompetence!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm so surprised that there are a few negative reviews for this movie - this was one of the most enjoyable suspense movies I've ever seen. No, it's not a masterpiece, but it is excellent none-the-less.

Johnny Depp is fantastic at his portrayal of a depressed writer who lives out in the middle of the woods in an isolated cabin in a very isolated town. The man who appears on his doorstep looks like an ordinary man, but is extremely menacing in his straight-faced threats. That unwelcome visit is from a man claiming that Johnny Depp's character "stole my story." Those few chilling words set off a course of events that will keep you sitting on the edge of your seat. Finally the end has such a marvelous twist.

This movie is very reminiscent of Hitchcock, very well acted, and well paced. It is definitely worth watching - we liked it so much we bought the DVD.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2005
I watched this movie because I knew Johnny Depp was in it and I am a HUGE fan of his. I have loved every one of hsis movies that I've seen and this one was no different. There are quite a lot of twists in this movie, maybe one that people don't see is at the beginning when we go through the mirror and see everything through Mort's (Johnny's character) point of view and then we come out at the end and see everything the way his wife see's it. The film can be kinda confusing towards the end coz through the beginning of the film, you're on Mort's side and you feel sorry for him, but then there's this twist and you feel horrible for being on his side in the beginning. The acting in this film is just opure brilliance. Johnny Depp was excellent as the lead (as usual!) and John Turturro was brilliant as the crazy psychopath claiming that Johnny's character Mort "stole ma story"
Just purebrilliance. The only things I would say is wrong with the film is the rating, I think it should definitely be 15 because there are some spooky, gross and confusing parts, but being 14 myself, I'm not really complaining! Definitely a must-see movie though. Johnny Depp is just......WOW!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2004
Secret Window is classic Stephen King, not in the sense that it will ever be immortalized as a masterpiece of cinema or revered by movie fans for its pace and direction. No this movie (based on the King story) is classic in the sense that so many of the elements of this story have already appeared in other works from the horror maestro. Throughout the movie shades from both `The Shining' and `The Dark Half' abound and ultimately detract from the presentation with a distinct sense of déjà vu and `they did it better in...' pervading the movie.
The story centers around a washed up writer Mort Rainey (played by Johnny Depp) consumed in alcohol and depression over a failed marriage and writers block who is shocked by the arrival of a stranger who accuses him of stealing his story (the `Secret Window' of the title). Things get worse for Mort as Shooter becomes increasingly violent and Rainey slips deeper into paranoia and insanity before a shocking climax. Depp does his best with the material he is given and this movie at times comes close to creating some real chilling scenes. John Turturro also turns in a memorable performance as John Shooter and Maria Bello elicits a great deal of sympathy as Morts (soon-to-be) ex-wife Amy, a character wracked with uncertainty about stepping out after the shelter of married life.
Supporting performances by Timothy Hutton and Charles Dutton are both admirable, if both the characters they portray are slim on actual characterization and Len Cariou turns in a surprisingly good performance as Sheriff Newsome.
Good for fans of the genre and people looking to be mildly entertained, just don't go in expecting to be particularly surprised by anything.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)