Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2004
With the release of this collection of songs Damien Rice has put himself in the awkward position of having a set of recordings that at times surpasses the quality of his debut album. With lyrical content that deviates from the acceptability of radio broadcasting and the broader audience, the real strength of Rice's talent becomes apparent and the live recordings demonstrate to any one that has not witnessed a performance, that his ability translates well from the recording studio to large audience venues.
B-Sides is a well crafted recording culminating in the song that will have highlighted Rice's presence to many listeners - the radio edit of Cannonball. The real talent of this artist, like many of his peers, is that each song appears to be laden with deeper meaning. What sets this work apart is the enthusiasm and subtlety of the delivery. This album is a worthy addition to anyone who enjoyed listening to 'O' and wants to hear more from this talented individual.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
being an avid fan of Damien Rice I was delighted to hear that a new album of B-Sides was being released- and i wasn't disappointed. A lot rougher than O it shows all critics who pen Damien Rice as a depressing artist how he can cross the divide and come out successful. probably the best track on the album is the opening track- The Professer and the worst is the closing track- a very commercialised version of Cannonball. A must have album for Damien Rice fans- looking forward to the next helping!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2004
Well, what can I say about this collection of b-sides, other than they are absolutely breathtaking. From the simple and expressive professor & la fille danse, the warmly uplifting beauty of lonelily to bewilderingly charged & diverse moody mooday, and of course the hard-hitting, stark (& at times ghostly) onslaught of woman like a man (I couldn't believe it was live)where Lisa Hannigan in particular shines out very brightly. There is something here for everybody. The instrumental volcano offers an alternative production of it which in my estimation works just as well as the 'o' version; if not better and the '97 volcano demo delivers a colder, more despairing reality behind the lyrical implications.

It took me some considerable time to truly connect with Damien Rices music, but I am now hooked absolutely. 'O' and the 'b-sides' albums are never off my stereo. Expect huge things from this man, and his wonderful band. Their heads are screwed firmly to their necks, regardless of how atmospherically bleak their music and vocals can get. It's all a part of the plan. Be part of it as well... BUY THIS!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2005
The magician that is Damien Rice has pulled another one out of the hat. When I listened to 'O' I thought I wouldn't hear a better album in a long time and I was proved wrong. The album 'B-Sides' shows all the emotions imaginable. From love to pain he takes you through a truly delightful journey. When I listen to a song with explicit language I think sometimes it is unnecessary, but in this album it helps Rice get his emotions across in a magical way. The feeling and enthusiasm put into this album is clear for anyone to see. Also the way in which he can portray his music recorded or live it is just as stunning either way. This is a simply breathtaking album. Any admirer of this genre of music, this is a must have album. Rice is simply head and shoulders above the competition. One word to some up Damien Rice and his music Ledged.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2004
Since the first time that I listened to Damien Rice -Cannonball I have feel in love with his music. I brought "O" and the album was amazing. But then buying this I have just been completely blown away. Its a bit stronger language but that gives more emotion to the album. Like I said I was completely blown away by this album and would advice any fan of Damien Rice this album is a must have.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2004
Enough has been said, lauded, and expressed in amazement of this young man's talent, both musically and lyrically. Certainly "O" was one the greatest debut CDs in a long., long time, and wanting more from him is the inevitable feeling you probably were left with, after listening to his first full album.
Now comes, not the first, but possibly the best EP released in the wake of "O." Most selections included are either unreleased demos ("Lonelily"), sketches of songs you'll know ("Volcano"), great live stuff ("The Professor & La Fille Danse" or "Delicate"), and, probably, represent the best of this EP.
Among the several EPs Damien Rice has released over the last twelve months, I consider "b-sides" to be his most satisfying and representative of Rice's deep talent and promising career.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2004
Most Bsides albulms are generally produced to gain some extra cash for a struggling artist, but Damien Rice is flying high and this collection is a welcome addition to O capturing his live sound well.Having seen him play 4 times this year was a bit dubious about forking out for this but glad I did, a particularly brill instrumental version of volcano!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
He's good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
The odd track by this guy is brilliant, but a whole album???????? Not for the depressed. This guy likes to self indulge too much, is very intense and if you want suicide music this is definitely it. Regretted the purchase, based on just one or two tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
I think this is the best album I've listened in the last 4 years of my life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)