Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2013
Wanted this for ages. Finally picked it up and no regrets at all. Darren Hayes is a very under appreciated artist. Easy 5 stars, fully recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
I have to say that I was surprised that Darren & Co. decided to release "Darkness" as the second single from "The Tension and the Spark". Not that the Song is not fantastic - it is! But in a market overflowing with "say nothing" bubblegum pop, releasing a deep, introspective track like "Darkness" seemed to me a very Bold move indeed. That said, GET THIS SINGLE and "The Tension and the Spark" NOW!!! Both are fantastic. As a "Pop Artist" Darren Hayes stands shoulder to shoulder with the music industry's best. His talent for writing ear catching Pop Music is in tact on this release. But what will really strike you about this release is his depth. Frankly, I was stunned by his profound understanding of human nature and the human condition. A very rare trait from a "Pop Artist" indeed. If you like Darren Hayes, I recommend that you also check out the new release from Pop/Rock Artist Amber - "My Kind of World". Amber shares Darren's talent for writing great Pop/Rock tunes that "say something". The first single "You Move Me" (an Alt Rock Infused Electronic Track) hit #1 on America's largest Satellite Radio Network, XM Radio. The second Single "Voodoo" is being Remixed for a 2005 Commercial Release. Other Standouts include the Pat Benatar-esque "Just Like That" and the Whitney Houston Meets Pat Benatar Power Ballad "Sacficial Lamb". There are enough Potential Singles to keep his CD in the Charts for 2 Years! My Advice? Get BOTH Darren Hayes - The Tension and the Spark and AMBER - My Kind of World
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Tracks 1,2,5 and 6 were good, rest of it not so. Fans will like it but after a couple of recent crap buys I'm not so much of a fan now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
I have been anticipating this album for some time now and now that I have heard it... I am not surprised at how good it is. It is absolutely amazing. The entire feeling of the album can best be described as a diary put to music. Some songs are lighter and less meaningful (Love and Attraction) while others are incredibly deep (Darkness and Dublin Sky and Unlovable) but in my opinion Darkness is one of the best songs that I have had the priviledge to hear in a long time. It opens the album and instantly hooks you... and the rest of the album never lets you go. Once you understand the songs meanings and allow yourself to experience them emotionally they are instantly a treasure and the new fresh sound keeps you hooked to wanting to simply listen to it as well. Please give this album a shot... it is daring but an excellent jump for Darren and music as a whole.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
A great cd from Darren Hayes, Great to sing along and to listen too in car or in house.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
Excellent value, Excellent quality and excellent service. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Not his best CD but easy listening and good to relax to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2006
After hearing spin i was anticipating "tension and the spark". the album is not what i would like to expect from darren, but although he has gone for a different type of genre, he still manages to maintain that excellence along with his other albums, i was suprised to find out there was no love songs like "i miss you" or "good enough" like there was in spin.I believe he has gone for a more in depth emotional sound about love, and its ups and downs, but still this album is rather good, and reccommend you to buy this if you have heard spin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
good headphones, dark room, close your eyes and go! I could listen to this 24/7 and never tire of it, awsome!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2006
After hearing some of Darren's solo work, I decided to treat myself to both his solo albums. I received The Tension & the Spark first and found it's not a pure pop album full of radio friendly hits. It begins with `Darkness', a song which has been well received from most reviews I've read. This song didn't grab me though. I prefer `Light' (oh, the irony). Stand out tracks for me are `Dublin Sky', Unlovable', `Hero' and `Feel'.

The soundscape created may be off-putting to some; with weird squelchy beats gracing `Unlovable' but it's an album that requires perseverance to fully appreciate its unusual quality.

The lyrics are much more personal and probably a better reflection of Darren's thoughts than `Spin'. The album loses momentum and runs out of steam after track 10, `Feel', and it's this patchiness in quality that makes it less listenable than `Spin', but tracks as sublime as `Dublin Sky' make the album worth its money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)