Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 11 October 2004
I must admit to being quite nervous when putting this on the player for the first time. Would it, could it possibly live up to "Turn on..." ?? Well the answer is yes yes and YES !!
As the previous reviewer stated, this IS a classic, with not a hint of filler in sight. (i must admit i have found myself skipping the slow, building opener "Next Exit", not because it's a poor track, but just because i'm impatient to get to the hard stuff).
All tracks are standouts, however current favourites, (for those wishing to download a sampler before shelling out), are "Evil", "Narc", "Not even Jail", "C'mere", "Length of love".
This really is the album of the year for me, (can't see the Kings of Leon new one beating this !). Well done to the guy's for coming up with the goods. This is the first time in ages that a "Notoriously difficult second album", has equaled if not eclipsed it's predecesor.
Looking forward to hearing these songs live in Manchester on 18/12 !!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2005
I must confess that I have very little to add to what has been said in the Amazon review and the other customer reviews. It's on a par with Turn On... as far as I'm concerned, having matured enough to make it different but without stepping away from what made its predecessor so great.
The only way that I can update the previous review is to say that in my opinion the Kings Of Leon's new one (Aha Shake Heart Break) did in fact turn out to be even better than this (and that's really saying something).
Along with the Kings Of Leon, Interpol have already topped The Strokes by keeping the quality up for the proverbially "difficult" second album, so here's raising a glass to the third.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2005
I'd never heard Interpol before buying this album, only read reviews and odd articles about them. I've got to say it's the best album I've heard in a long while. A partiular favorite track is "Take you on a cruise" which is constantly whirling round my head all day. Excelent, buy it, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2005
After hearing evil and c'mere on mtv2, I went out and bought the album just because i thought this band sounded so fresh and different. The first track, next exit, with its organ intro was not what i was expecting but it opens the album perfectly. The gradual epic rise in sound tells you that this album is going to be a fantastic journey. Personal highlights for me are evil, narc, take you on a cruise and not even jail, but all the tracks deserve repeated listening. So if you want to listen to a band, who are surely going to be massive sooner rather than later, buy antics (along with their debut) because you will not regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2004
I put in Antics in my portable cd-player and hoping that it's another Interpol-paradise.
The intro is kind of disappointing but cool. It gets better after Next Exit, though. "Rosemary, heaven restores you in life" and Carlos awsome indie bass chewing my music sense.
Everything sounds so good! There is darkness but also happiness and amazing succession of tones.
In about 10 years Interpol problably covers the Q magazine when it's time for one of those Ultimate Songwriter things. Because the songs on Antics are as fantastic as on Joy Division's Closer. Maybe better. Interpol does not make revolutionary music that nobody has heard before. They stay with the dirty, old stuff.
All the songs gives me goosebumps. And that's hard to make. You have to be genius and that is what these indiegoths are.
I want to see more of Paul, Daniel, Carlos and Sam. Because Antics is music with soul. Both clean and dirty.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2005
A Very underrated band that deserves the highest of accolades.Best money that i have ever spent
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2011
Ive had this classic album in my collection for 7 years now and still listen to it and enjoy it to this day. During 40 odd years of listening to various types of music my previous favourite acts include "The Who" 60s,70s,The Stranglers 70s,Peter Gabriel,David Bowie 70s & 80s, The Jam, Talk Talk 80s, REM 80s,90, I think therefore im well qualified to give a judgement on any modern day act. How good are Interpol? In a decade of near total musical mediocrity most of Interpols peers have come and gone but as they say "true quality is timeless" and 10 years after their superb debut album they are Headlining major festivals worldwide. And still hundreds of thousands of music loving people are unaware of their brilliance and would be doing their ears a massive favour by buying Interpols entire back catalogue. As other reviewers of their albums have stated you have to keep playing their work to truly appreciate and enjoy its musicianship and in "Antics" you have their most complete works todate and my personal favourite album of all time.
Given the list above of my past favourite acts and the awful dross of most music in this last decade it is unbelievable to me that any modern day act could have made two of the finest albums of all time within it!
It is a dark album with great depth and many twists and turns and indeed as Q magazine said in 2004 "Antics is ridicuously good"!
To sum up, if Oasis style "pubrock" is your thing or screechy modern day divas OR X factor wannabes you will never "get" or understand Interpol, But if you like your rock music "interesting" and a little dark you too will love "Antics".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2004
Here it is at last..after a 2 year wait and Strokes take heed..this is the way to do the difficult second album.
Short and sweet..ten tracks and very little filler!.
The claustrophic uneasiness of "Turn On The Bright Lights" has been enlivened by a parking-mall size sound and production, the drums are massive on every track while the bass rumbles and swoops on the backing like a frenzied falcon!. The guitars are chiming,buzzing cacophonies of noise and the subtle melodies flow under the tactful guidance of Paul Banks baritone delivery.
All of the tracks pulsate energy and fustrated intent, the lyrics inaudible one second but prominient the next. There are 2 average tracks where the pounding intensity suprisingly grates but this compact,well measured and downbeat album is another classic and should be in every good goth-indie collection come Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2006
Interpol are one of those bands you either love or hate. Usually, if you're a true music lover, you'll more than likely love it.

'Antics' opens up with the slow but quite anthemic 'Next Exit'. The guitars are excellent here, and the music works so well together. An excellent opener.

'Evil' is track two, and begins with a rather punchy bassline. The opening verse is very effective, consisting of vocals, bass and drums. The first part of the bridge is a bit heavier, and the second bit is simply vocals and a U2-esque guitar. It opens up into a brilliant chorus, especially second time around. One of the best tracks on the album. Top class.

Track three, 'Narc' starts simply with a guitar and opens up into singing and drums at the same time. Has a punchy feel to it. That is testament to the quality of the music. And although it isn't as high-tempo as 'Evil', it still has a very catchy chorus and the music is so tight and precise, which shows the brilliant quality.

Track four, 'Take You On A Cruise' is slower. Nevertheless it does not stop the great music that is heard here. The chorus again is the backbone of the song and it builds a foundation for a great song.

Track five, 'Slow Hands' is another release and an up-tempo song. Another one of my favourites. For me, Interpol are at their best when they play their songs at this kind of tempo. Tight, precise beats, precise guitaring and the musical chemistry is brilliant. Brilliantly catchy.

Track six, 'Not Even Jail' is my personal favourite on this album. The song varies in tempo and Interpol do it so well. The song itself is six minutes long and is always a crowd pleaser. This is music from a band producing their best music to date. Brilliant.

Track seven, 'Public Pervert' isn't up to the standard of 'Not Even Jail', but few tracks are on this album. This is a good track, but not one of the best if I'm honest. The chorus makes it a great track, but nothing else is derived from it.

Track eight, 'C'Mere' is brilliant. From the moment the growling guitars tear it up at the beginning, to the swinging drums. If anything this is the only track where the verses are stronger than the chorus. The bridge is quite soft in comparison, but this is another solid song on a brilliant album.

Track nine, 'Length Of Love' begins brilliantly. The guitars and drums are in complete control with each other, and the timing is spot-on. The chorus is great here, and this is an under-rated song if I'm honest. It is better than many people make it out to be. Fantastic.

Track ten, 'A Time To Be So Small' is a more down-tempo song. The guitars are excellent and it has an anthemic feel to it. Apart from that, there's nothing much more I can say about this song.

For the quality, I would have given this five stars, however, for constistency, it gets four because 'Public Pervert' lets it down somewhat. Apart from that, this is a top quality album from a top quality band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2007
I heard of Interpol when the single 'Evil' was released and i couldn't wait to get this album. Since then i have purchased their debut album and have been immensley satsified by both.

This album is an absolute must for anyone who enjoys the sounds of a band making good music and also experimenting with their sound.

Here are my verdicts on the tracks:

Next Exit: This is a brilliant opening track. It starts of slowly with a guitar and synth but builds into an epic chorus which will have you tapping your feet along to.

Evil: This song is stunning and is brilliant live. With the pounding bass intro and the soaring chorus this song is the first highlight of the album.

Narc: This song sees the band slow down after Evil but they don't let the quality go. This is a brilliant song and builds into a brilliant chorus with fantastic lyrics.

Take You On A Cruise: This is an epic track and is almost the best on the album. I can't say much more to be honest. Simply stunning.

Slow Hands: Another single and it really picks up the pace for the album. The chorus and middle eight of this song deliver much joy and you will listen to it again and again.

Not Even Jail: A pulsating intro to this song soars into a fantastic verse and breathtaking chorus. For me, this is the highlight of the album and needs to be heard, for the chorus alone. Amazing!

Public Pervert: Another good filler track but it tends to drag on. A good song nonetheless!

C'Mere: Another brilliant single from the band. This is a great song and is great live.

Length Of Love: Similar structure to Slow Hands but a song that stands on it's own two feet. Needs to be heard. The lyrics are stunning.

A Time To Be So Small: A fantastic outro by Inerpol. Epic.

Overall, i love this album! It is very different (apart from Editors!) and shows a brilliant band in the prime of their careers.

Buy it now!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)