Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
70
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2005
The comparisons with Joy Division are always going to be justified, but in the most positive way, because there is no escaping the fact that the vocals by Paul Banks, sound hauntingly similar to the late Ian Curtis. As a life-long fan of Joy Division, i find the albums by Interpol are like an example of the kind of music which Joy Division may have gone on to make, had they not become New Order. The similarities don't end with the vocals, as like J.D. there are tracks which grab you pretty quickly (Next Exit & Slow Hands), whereas others take more exploration to discover much more beneath the surface. If you listen to this album once, you won't be in a position to really judge it, as after listening all the way through a few more times you will really discover what all the fuss is about. The best thing about this band, is that they aren't as obvious as a lot of the others around at the moment, and therefore they will be rewarding. Buy, listen, explore and enjoy this masterpiece, then go and see them live, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2004
Having first heard Interpol's "NYC" on a C.D. sampler I was prepared for much of the reference points usually bandied about when their name crops up. Yes there are hints of Joy Division; though I feel Magazine circa "Real Life" is a more apposite comparison. The surging trebly guitars recall any number of new-wavish bands but what is the real revelation about this album is the tangible aura of drama that exists and permeates every single track. They could be singing about their weekly excursion to the shops and make it all sound earth shatteringly important. Every note and lyric on Antics seems to radiate life and death significance. It makes for a hugely enjoyable listening experience.
From the first ringing chord on opening track "Next Exit" this album stakes its emphatic claim to be taken seriously. Paul Banks terse edgy reedy delivery perfectly suit's the music's rhythmic dynamics, along with the semi funky roaming bass lines and the whip sharp riffs. "Evil" is sensational, building to an urgent fulgurate chorus. In all honesty you could choose just about any of the ten tracks on Antics to prove just how good this album is. "Slow Hands" centres on a simple two chord riff for the verse but blossoms into a chorus of such pin sharp effulgent clarity it leaves you gasping for breath. The wide screen keyboards on "Not Even Jail" lend it the air of gravitas and weight that a band like U2 would give one of their Castles in Ireland for, but Interpol make it all seem so effortless. Even a more studious song like "Public Pervert" that could have become mired in pomposity and sonic sludge has a grace and sleek fission.
Only the slightly ponderous "A time to be Small" lacks the impelling quality that the other nine songs on this album carry in abundance and even that tracks final third is worth hanging around for as it suddenly acquires a shimmering tension. "Length of Love" manages this same simmering tension for every one of its glorious 246 seconds. Its one of those wonderful songs that drags you into the very centre of its own narcissistic universe. Even though you may have not one clue as to what it's about, while it's on you can think of nothing else, but then this whole album pretty much has the happy knack of doing that.
So even though Antics is musically pretty much a one trick pony it's such a fabulous beast you want to stay for the duration and it never ever becomes tiresome. Another stunning album for 2004. When will it end?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2005
This album is so good it should be illegal. It throws the attempts of lesser bands like The Strokes into a cocked hat.
I wont bore people with an NMEesque self regarding, 'look how much I know about music' dissection of the tracks, suffice to say the most obvious influences are Joy Division and the post-rock landscape of Slint and Godspeed.
But this music is entirley their own, its original, brilliant and belongs in any person's CD collection who pretends to be interested in modern music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
What a great album and gone even further with the excellent sound from the "Turn On The Bright Lights" . Only heard it a few times and already love it. Stand out tracks for me the excellent "slow hands", could listen to the chorus for so much longer though, its hypnotic. "Length of love" and "A time to be so small" but that doesn't take anything away from the rest of the songs they are all great. Definate candidate for album of the year I would think, its truly superb. Wanna the next one now, leaves you begging for more of these tunes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
Interpol were one of the first bands that i have loved. I am a teenager and my friend and I were at an interpol concert, interpol are an intelligent band and this comes across in their music. Many students like the gloomy sound of interpol. whether you like the vocals of Paul Banks , the enigmatic drumming of Sam Fogarino, the great guitaring of Daniel Kessler or the superb style of Carlos D and his bassing, Interpol are great and Antics is just as good as their debut in my opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2006
Don't believe it when people say that "Antics" isn't as good as "Turn on the bright lights." It's just as good musically, and that's the truth.

The album begins with the quite un-Interpol-like "Next Exit," which, with it's full church organs, shows that Interpol are willing to experiment and not just make the kind of songs that they're famous for; they're up for trying something new. However, the old Interpol magic soon returns with "Evil." Beginning with the single strumming of Carlos D's bass guitar, the song gradually gains more instruments, more melodies and harmonies interweaving with each other, until the song reaches a loud, striking, and once again mosh-worthy climax. The song is pure Interpol, yet still manages to sound fresh, perhaps due to the development of singer Paul Banks' voice. Banks has always been known to have a powerful, distinctive voice, but somehow he sounds much more stronger, and not so much alienated.

The song "Slow hands," is explosive, brutal, and like TOTBL's "Say hello to the angels," is almost enough to make you want to get up and dance. Don't ask me how, but Interpol have always managed to sound chic, while still gather up a moshpit in the crowd, something they pull of in such songs as "Slow hands," and Length of love." The songs are much more fuller and confident. Many have commented on how "Antics" doesn't sound as dark as TOTBL. In terms of music, there are many more examples of bright, sunny melodies stemmed from Banks and Dan Kessler's guitar work, but in terms of lyrics, Interpol are just dark as they've always been. You only have to look at the soaring and gripping "Public pervert," or the melancholic "A time to be so small" to see my point.

I personally see "Antics" as a growth for the band in the right directions; if they'd kept doing the same thing, they'd still get criticised. They've made just the right departure from their first album, making this as a work of carefully skilled art.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Turn on the Bright Lights' was everything The Strokes' hyped debut should have been- at once modern and new, balancing originality & displaying a range of influences including Television, 'Heaven Up Here'-Bunnymen, The Psychedelic Furs, Sebadoh, Fugazi & Sonic Youth (the idea that Interpol are totally UK post-punk is erroneous & I can't see where Joy Division come into things!)'Antics' advances wonderfully on that classic debut (it has to be classic with such songs as 'Leif Erikson','NYC','PDA' & 'Untitled' on, doesn't it?)- the arrangements are more adventerous- the bassplaying having more in common with The Pixies (especially on 'Evil')& early Gang of Four (the funky-diversions on 'Narc', 'Length of Love' & 'Take You For a Cruise')- Peter Hook hasn't been close to as tight as this since 1979!
'Next Exit' is a great opener, keyboards coming into their sound & a gorgeous lull that drags you in ("we ain't going to the town...")- as great an opening-track as 'Untitled' was. 'Evil' is even better, an anthemic Kim Deal-bassline-nodding joy that advances the angular approach found in songs like 'Obstacle 1' & 'Roland.' The vocals are quite Richard Butler, which is fine by me, and this will be one of the anthemic highlights at Glastonbury this year when Interpol play. 'Narc' is another highlight, the song building over the guitar - the song as the aforementioned 'Length of Love' drifts off into another realm ("she found a lonely sound...") to angular-funk territory worthy of 'Entertainment!'
'Antics' is still able to do concise-angular-anthems - singles 'Slow Hands' & 'C'Mere' fitting that bill perfectly- the latter evoking a summery-melancholy somewhere between The Chameleons & The Smiths. It's all great really- 'Public Pervert' could easily have fitted on 'Turn on the Bright Lights', while 'Not Even Jail' plumps for a hypnotic keyboard-heavy sound. Closer 'A Time So Small' offers up some atmospheres that sound like '17 Seconds' as approached by Fugazi...
'Antics' is an excellent follow-up to 'Turn on the Bright Lights'; I just hope they stop touring soon and start on that third, difficult album!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
I much prefer this to Bright Lights - more melodic, more polished - though I can understand why others would prefer that album's greater urgency.

But there isn't a weak song on this album. The choruses are almost universally epic, and tracks like Slow Hands would be on anyone's all-time favourite list. This is definitely a band that is going to be around for a long time, getting better with every album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
For the first time really i don't know what to tell about the album but at the same time i feel obliged in some way to tell how great it is!I feel that there are no such words that could describe this cd.As a BIG fan of Interpol i don't agree that this cd is worse than the debut one- it is not, it is as brilliant, emotional, beautiful...the only way to "feel" this band is to listen to the entire cd, feel this extraordinary, beautiful lyrics sang by Paul Banks, a man whose voice won't let you foget about the songs.
As i said I am a huge fan of them(one might say fanatic?), so why am i writing so late?Becouse i listen to this cd over and over again for quite a along time now and i am still sooo impressed.If you don't want to be addicted to music don't buy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
I must confess that I have very little to add to what has been said in the Amazon review and the other customer reviews. It's on a par with Turn On... as far as I'm concerned, having matured enough to make it different but without stepping away from what made its predecessor so great.
The only way that I can update the previous review is to say that in my opinion the Kings Of Leon's new one (Aha Shake Heart Break) did in fact turn out to be even better than this (and that's really saying something).
Along with the Kings Of Leon, Interpol have already topped The Strokes by keeping the quality up for the proverbially "difficult" second album, so here's raising a glass to the third.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)