Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
44
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2009
Two great movies finally packaged together.

Troll: I first saw this when I was about eleven years old and I loved it. So when I saw it (10 years later) for sale on Amazon I had to buy it. Not sure whether i'd still find it as entertaining and creepy, I sat down to watch it, somewhat apprehensively. Anxious that my fond, nostalgic memories of it would be lost if it wasn't as good. I needn't have worried, within minutes I was glued to the screen, back in the world of the Trolls where I had been a decade before. It's a classic fantasy, with an inkling of horror. It has fantastic characters and make-up, with an inventive and magical story. If you like films such as Labyrinth, Dark Crystal, Legend or willow with a little bit of Critters thrown in, then you will love this. It will especially appeal to younger teenagers, but I think most ages who appreciate the genre will enjoy it.

Troll 2: This doesn't have quite the same charm to it as its predecessor. Whereas Troll was Primarily fantasy, Troll 2 goes towards the Horror path. It is still a very good movie which is worthy of being made unlike many sequels. However, if you loved Troll, you may be slightly disappointed with the change of styles. It is still good fun, but there is just a bit more malice and intent in this sequel. Whereas, the previous was suitable for a slightly younger audience this one isn't. It could almost be a Troma movie with the excessive usage of green gunk. It is also a bit reminiscent of Swamp Thing style movies: people turning into plants. It is original and it is fun and the fact that you are even looking at this page means that you are obviously the type of person who enjoys this type of film, so all I can say is buy it.

Update November 2009: Troll 2 has become recognised as the worst horror movie ever made and this has led to it gaining cult status. This is a good thing, because now a documentary has been made: The Best Worst Movie. This is a feature length documentary which is going to explore the Troll 2 phenomenon through the story of the cast of characters that took part in its creation and why it is celebrated by fans worldwide. It definitely is not the worst horror movie ever made but I guess I can concede that it might just be the most ridiculous!
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2008
There are good films. There are bad films. There are awful films. And then there's Troll 2. The quality of Troll 2 transcends the good-bad spectrum - the film is completely indescribable. I mean, how can you decide whether movie where the villains are vegetarian goblins trying to turn people into plants is good or bad?

The "plot" - as much as it could be called one - follows the Waits family: bratty squeaky-voiced Joshua, stoner 80s girl Holly, nice-but-dim father Michael and the confused mother Diana, as they holiday in the sleepy desert town of Nilbog (read it backwards). Unfortunately, the townspeople are goblins in disguise, and if the family eats any food, they'll be transformed into green slime!

Along the way, they're aided and hindered by Joshua's grandfather, Grandpa Seth - who's dead -, Holly's sexually-confused boyfriend Elliot, his equally sexually-confused (and -frustrated) "boys", and Creedence Leonore Gieulgud, a druidess who controls the goblins with the Magic Stone of Stonehenge.

The film is laughably bad, it actually becomes an excellent comedy - probably better than most intentional ones. And here's the kicker. There are no trolls in this film. Not one. In fact, it has NOTHING to do with Troll at all.

Troll itself is not a bad film. Not a good one either, but it has a catchy tune and a kid wizard called Harry Potter. But really, Troll 2 is the standout film on this DVD.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
Troll was a decent enough film, I would say it falls more into the fantasy genre rather than horror. I don't think there's really enough action to keep it interesting but it is watchable. Troll 2 however is probably one of the most singularly unique films ever. Definitely a 'so bad it's good' film. Despite the low budget, questionable acting, bizarre plot and the fact that there aren't actually any trolls to be seen (they're goblins) what you've got here is pure entertainment. The actress who played the goblin queen (wonderfully named Creedence Leonore Gielgud)seems to be the only one in on the joke, with a fantastically over-the-top performance, the strange dialogue seems to work for her character, unfortunately not for the others, resulting in (unintentionally) humourous viewing. If you like cult films or are curious as to what qualifies a film as officially one of the worst ever made then pay a visit to Nilbog, if you dare... Also, watch Best Worst Movie, a documentary made by the actor who played Joshua, for some insight into the making of Troll 2.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Troll is a silly movie, a little slow, and wastes the talent of Michael Moriarty. But it's ok.
However, the real star of the movie double bill is Troll 2
Referred to as 'the worst film of all time'?
The film needs to be seen at the right time, and probably three viewings, just to fully appreciate how 'so bad it's good' it is.
It is bad, real bad...but in many ways it's good. There's no doubting Troll 2 has a charm about it, it's amusing in its sillyness. And it's never boring. Troll 2 could never be accused of being dull.
The acting is...well...You have the grandfather (Robert Ormsby) who not only looks like Orson Welles but, in what is Ormsby's only acting performance, is good enough to match the great man. The boy too is pretty good. Around them are cast 'actors' ranging from reasonable to outright ridiculous, as if they practiced acting by watching re-runs of Scooby Doo. Some 'performances' seem to have been carved out of wood, the kind you'd find in an M Night Shyamalan film, but at a much lower price.
The special effects... sometimes they're ok for a low budget movie, but mostly are moments of comedy genius, like the food which seems to have been created by 5-year-olds.
The real stars of the show, though, are the trolls themselves, or goblins as they're known. Some of the masks are so hilariously bad you can't help but like them...and then there's one or two in particular...well you have to see it for yourself.
And see it you should, there's nothing else like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Sorry, I have to say straight away that the film "Troll" is really brilliant! It has a very original premise for a story, is brilliantly acted, and leaves a lasting impression on you! So much so that I had to buy it in 2013 after seeing it on VHS in 1986!

Although it's a fantasy, the characterization and the dialogue has an element of realism that makes the rest of the film believable, suspending your disbelief for the fantasy. It also contains a touch of moral ambiguity, which makes it seem more like real life than a fairy tale. The relationship between the young Noah Hathaway character and Eunice St. Claire (June Lockhart from Lost in Space) is very touching. But also, the relationship between the Troll, who is in the guise of the young sister, and the English Professor who the troll befriends, is also genuinely moving. I don't want to go into the themes because that would necessitate spoilers, but there are a lot of ideas in this film that you will think about long after you've watched it! There are also scenes that bring back the frustration of being a child trying to convince your parents of something when they just won't take you seriously, because it's you and you're a kid it's just a joke to them!

"Troll" has a brilliant cast, with Michael Moriarty, Sonny Bono (Who is actually really good, although the over use of the term "babe" seems a bit disrespectful to his former hit, but I'm sure that's intentional), and a very young Julia Louise Dreyfus (from Seinfeld) naked! Well almost naked; in a body stocking with some judiciously placed vines sown on.

"Troll 2" though, which is also included on the DVD is awful! The lines are dreadful, some of the cast can't act at all (in fairness they aren't really given the best material to work with) and the rest of the cast and crew clearly realised it was going to be rubbish and just played it for laughs. It might appeal to some people, but we switched it off about 20 minutes in. It's worth buying the DVD just for the original Troll film though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Troll one is a mythical fantasy film about well bit self explanatory about a magical troll which is well worth a watch. Troll 2 is rotten and probbably the worst film I have ever seen, absolute am-dram at its worst and doesnt follow on from Troll one at all. I gave this 5 stars because Troll one is worth the money, but Troll 2 would be 0 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Best film ever, if you like 80s films and the crazy ones about trolls then this is for you. Can't comment on troll 2 yet as haven't watched it yet and only just found out it existed but I can vouch for the first one. Brilliant in a Kate bush, poltergiuest combination of madness but with a easy story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I haven't watched these films for years but sat and watched it with my husband at the weekend. I know that it's meant to be a horror but Troll might as well be a kiddies film! Just one or two swears and nothing frightening at all. Brought back childhood memories of my husband tring to scare his younger sister by making Troll noises.
Troll 2 is another kettle of fish, thought to be one of the worst made horror films of all time. Pretty much all of the actors were first timers and you can tell. So bad it's actually very entertaining. Don't expect HD quality and the sound is pretty poor but don't let that stop you from viewing it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 March 2012
I can't really elaborate too much on the title, as it kind of sums it up quite nicely.

The first movie, Troll, is about a boy called Harry Potter (yes, seriously - it was before JK Rowling made the name slightly more famous) who moves into an apartment block, where a particularly nasty Troll lives in the basement - one who's determined to bring about a Troll apocalypse so to speak.

If you watched plenty of eighties monster movies - think Demons, Ghoulies, Critters - then Troll should be right up your street. Ignore the slightly shoddy acting and relish in a simple tale (that's slightly tongue in cheek in places) and reasonable special creature effects for its limited budget.

If nothing else, I dare you not to smile at the sight of a friendly talking potted mushroom.

Now on to Troll 2. You only need to know two things about this. The first is that it's truly awful (only one of the entire filmmaking crew spoke English and the director's commands had to be translated to the actors, making giving a decent performance impossible and don't get me started on the not-so-special special effects). The second thing is that it's NOT a sequel (well, only in name). It just uses the name to start a completely new and unrelated story, only with even worse acting and effects (if that's possible).

Troll is a fun movie if you're not expecting Avatar-like special effects.

Troll 2 deserves to be forgotten.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
This is one of those films that's bad but good if you were a child of the 80s you will remember Troll, and Sonny Bono dancing in a house robe, I use to watch this film on VHS constantly due to the comedy horror element and it's very enjoyable.

Troll 2 was listed and still is the Best Worse film ever, the acting is a joke and painful, the costumes are a laugh and the plot is stupid, if you are well stoned and want a laugh check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.01
£10.83

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.