Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
185
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2011
Don't be fooled by the "Fully Restored" claim on the cover of this monstrosity. The transfer is poor with very bright whites and overbearing contrast. I may have to keep the disc for the extras as I don't think I could handle the guilt of selling this disc to some poor unsuspecting soul. The most fascinating extra is the before and after "restoration" comparison where Freemantle tries to convince us that they actually improved the image of this film. Whether the source print or Freemantle's tinkering is to blame for the poor transfer, I could not say. I'm just sorry that I rewarded them with my purchase, but I hope I can prevent others from making the same mistake. I agree with the other reviewers that suggest the region free US Blu ray or get the region 1 Criterion DVD. I will never preorder another Freemantle release. The movie itself is excellent and deserves better representation than this on Blu ray. My most dissapointing Blu ray purchase yet.
44 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Format: Blu-ray|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great film. It isn't going to be everybody's cup of tea due to its graphic scenes, but it is intelligent and has stood the test of time well. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for this new blu-ray 'remaster'. The picture quality is appalling, with contrast pushed up so high that whites are bleached out and blacks lose all detail. And colours have been changed too, with unnatural greens and the sky almost white rather than blue. Watch the 'Before & After' feature and you can see how natural the colours were BEFORE the restoration. They have completely ruined it. There are quite a lot of good bonus features, particularly the extended interviews, but very little that hasn't been available before. The poor picture quality means that i cannot recommend this disc.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2006
Sam Peckinpah's Cornish western has a heritage of controversy trailing in its wake. Perceived by turns as being misogynistic, exploitative, pornographic and gratuitously violent, it was labelled a "video nasty" in the 1980's and was consequently banned from view in the UK until the tail end of the nineties. An intriguing pedigree.

Essentially, what we have is a movie that uproots some of the values, morality and themes governing the mythic cinematic western and transplants them into an English backwater community. The locals are restless, being envious of and despising the American strangers (Dustin Hoffman and wife Susan George) who intrude on their redneck world. The fact that Hoffman's wife used to be one of their own serves to make matters worse, increasing both tension and conflict.

Hoffman wants to avoid trouble and remain peaceable, but ultimately is pushed too far when his cat is killed, wife is raped and his homestead is laid siege to by his tormentors. He stubbornly offers shelter to Niles, the village idiot, who has just inadvertently killed a young girl. His refusal to surrender the man to the (lynch) mob initiates the violent finale. The stage is set for a man doing what a man's gotta do, and this translates as holding the fort whilst killing and maiming as many of the attacking natives as possible.

The controversy surrounding the film stems primarily from the issues of sex and violence. When Amy (Susan George) is raped by one villager she responds ambiguously by first seeming resistant and naturally unwilling to participate and then appearing to enjoy the experience, encouraging her attacker (who is also an ex-boyfriend). This duality of attitude, this ambivalent mixed message towards forced sex upset many a feminist and non-feminist alike at the time and led to accusations of exploitation and misogyny on the part of the director. Compounding the situation is the fact that immediately following this first act of sexual abuse, Peckinpah then has the Amy character anally raped by another villager. Ultimately, her response is to conceal these events from her husband and appear no more than slightly withdrawn, petulant and a bit miffed. Any psychological and emotional trauma or physical discomfort or damage she may have experienced is ignored and unexplored. In fact, if one is honest, Peckinpah actually succeeds in trivialising rape. Events earlier in the film clearly suggest that she "was asking for it anyway." Amy is seen to "tease" the locals by appearing naked at her window whilst they work on her barn roof outside. This monumentally sexist attitude provoked outrage in the early 1970's and no major filmmaker today would be likely to get away with such an approach to the subject matter. Peckinpah argued that it was in fact cuts by the British censor that actually succeeded in making the rape scenes appear more pornographic and less politically correct than his original intent - but I'm inclined to take this with a pinch of salt.

The violence at the end involves a foot being blown off with a shotgun, a beating with a poker, boiling water being thrown into faces and a semi-decapitation with a man-trap. By today's standards, they can hardly be considered gratuitous or graphic in their depiction. However, it is a testament to Peckinpah's skill as a filmmaker and Dustin Hoffman and Susan George's performances that the experience of the siege is both powerful and harrowing. The drunken mob are suitably menacing, mindless, obnoxious and deserving of their fate. It's an exciting end to what is essentially a slow-burning and action-free movie constructed primarily to gradually crank-up the tension until the climax. In this sense the film does not disappoint. Hoffman gives a nervy, slightly-wired, pacifistic almost to the point of cowardice type of performance throughout that contributes magnificently to the build-up. His character finally snaps under pressure from all the insults, goading and abuse he has received from his antagonists. He utilises the provision of a safe-haven for the mentally challenged Niles more as an excuse to exact revenge, to force a confrontation, than to satisfy any moral rationale he may harbour. The stand-off is not even about retribution for the rape of his wife, more an affirmation of his own manhood, standing up to the bully, facing down the bad guys. Typical macho Peckinpah ideology steeped in Western mythology.

To conclude, Straw Dogs is a fascinating and essential film by a master craftsman. In technical terms, it builds a sense of suspense and ever-increasing dread in the audience with almost clinical expertise. The climax is nearly as cleverly choreographed as the finale to The Wild Bunch - only framed by different culture and in different context. If you can ignore the faintly repugnant ideology behind the rape sequence (which probably says more about Peckinpah's personal attitude towards women than anything else) then this is a true 70's classic that even today has the power to shock and enthral.
55 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
A great film, so I was really looking forward to the ''Fully Restored'' 40th Anniversary Edition Blu ray from Fremantle.
I wish I'd checked the reviews out on here first, though.
Quite simply a dreadful picture, the worst I've ever seen on Blu ray. My old DVD was far better!
One star for the extras.
Avoid this release!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
The US blu-ray only has a trailer and TV spots as extras.

The UK blu-ray has lots of extras including commentaries, a vintage featurette, retrospective interviews etc.

But the US blu-ray is far superior to the UK release because it has such an excellent transfer. I can't begin to describe how poor the UK transfer is in comparison to the US one.

If you love this film, don't put up with the awful UK transfer. The US blu-ray is the only way to view the film, and looks superb.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
This is one of Sam Peckinpah’s darker and more disturbing films. Perhaps also one of his most controversial. The underlying message – if there is one – is that men and women are subject to basic instincts over which they have no control, particularly with regard to sex and violence. I found it difficult to get a handle on both the Dustin Hoffman character and the Susan George character and kept asking myself: Is this really how they’d behave? Leaving that aside, the film is exciting and thought provoking. The menace builds slowly into a bloody climax. The acting was excellent and Peter Vaughan’s portrayal of the homicidal alcoholic was chilling. The DVD is advertised as uncut, but it only runs for 113 minute instead of the original 117 minutes, so there must have been some cuts and I believe some of the rape scene is missing. This is a classic film and well worth watching not only for the entertainment value, but also for the awkward questions it raises about the less attractive aspects of human nature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
A great film, 5 Stars without reservation. But the picture quality on this blu ray transfer is appalling, 1 Star generously! And the colours? Well, the whites have got whiter and the blacks blacker. I don't know, if not being technical, I fail to understand the challenges or limitations of these transfers, but as an ordinary consumer I can say that something hasn't really worked out that well with this one. Great shame! And for reference, this film was made in 1971. Hitchcock's North By Northwest was made in 1959 and it's transfer to blu ray is near perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
Having viewed the US region free Bluray of the movie a few weeks ago I got this one for the generous and very interesting bonus features. If they are of no interest then go for the US disc as this so called restored version is an absolute travesty. Brightness and contrast are all incorrect and the contrast is boosted so much that any hint of high definition detail is lost. The US disc on the other hand looks as good as it should. Some Blurays are lacking in certain areas but this release sets the format back 5 years. Complete rubbish.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
There is a very good selection of extras on this Blu-ray. Sadly the picture is a pain. The contrast has been increased so that much detail is lost, especially in the light areas. The blacks are either a deep blue or green, and faces often look like they have been processed on an old colour photocopier. Fremantle's before and after restoration shows up the faults in the Blu-ray! The unrestored image is more naturalistic and pleasing to watch.

The very good news is that whilst not having the wealth of extras that Fremantle's Blu-ray has the American MGM Blu-ray of Straw Dogs has a wonderful picture quality. In this version the colours are natural, darks dark etc etc.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
As many reviews here state, the picture quality of this so called restored version is absolutely awful, it's amaturish and looks like the work of an unsupervised trainee who is too young to understand anything about the atmosphere of this very well made film which I will say is 'of it's time'.

I am so appalled by the quality I am returning the dvd even though it has the special features disc. I have now ordered the 2002 release as there are no reviews derrogatory to the image quality.

I feel strongly that Amazon should refuse to sell this 40th anniversary version until the manufacturer has transferred the film in its original colour and not push up the contrast so much as to bleach out the whites and take out any detail in the blacks.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)