Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
83
4.7 out of 5 stars


HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 April 2012
Following the departure of vocalist Ian Gillan and Bassist Roger Glover after the lacklustre `Who Do We Think We Are', David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes were recruited as replacements and so Deep Purple Mk 3 was born.

The first album from the new line up was a departure from the pure heavy rock sound they had pioneered with the Mk 2 releases, and sounded fresh and energetic. The inclusion of new blood worked wonders for the band's creativity. The basis of the sound is still the heavy rock, and any rock fans will love this. It's also got a flavour (not much, just a flavour) of funky soul to show the influence of the new band members. It also has a slightly more blues feel to it.

Personally I think this is one of their most consistent releases, with track after track of great music and no filler. It's one of the few of their albums that I play end to end without skipping any. And I love the sound that they were developing, especially on the title track and Lay Down, Stay Down, two classics in the Purple canon.

The 30th anniversary edition contains the original album remastered, a contemporary B side (Coronaries Redig, which has a silly name but is a classic blues/funk/rock workout) and a series of remixes. The remasters are pretty good, with a crisp clear sound. I have to say that the remixes do little for me and I often listen to the original album plus B side and skip the remixes.

5 stars for this classic album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
memories of a misspent youth
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2009
A Blast of funky Deep Purple, David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes coming in to replace Roger Glover and Ian Gillan, Deep Purple Mark 3 turned the hard sound of mark 2 purple into a more funky and modern at the time sounding band. Both Coverdale and Hughes cover vocal duties on this album. And Richie Blackmore seems to have found a new foil for his guitar in Jon Lords Synthesiser, rather than the Hammond of previous albums. Ian Paice solid as ever throwing the rhythms and never missing a beat. `Burn' the title track seems to set the tone a slab of hard funk, `Mistreated' shows the way for Richie Blackmore's next band `Rainbow' and featured prominently in `Rainbow' live sets.
The Bonus tracks don't add much to this release in my opinion being pretty straight forward remixes of album tracks, except for the instrumental B-side `Coronarias Redig' it's a shame more out takes were not available.
An enjoyable romp if nothing else but not the best of deep Purple and not the best of mark three that goes to 'Stormbringer' the follow up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
It's been a good few years since I last played this album (I had it on vinyl years ago but never got the CD). The remastered version is fantastic. Coverdale's young voice is superb and considering he was only 23 when he recorded this album is pretty mind-blowing. Glenn Hughes'Funk styled vocals seem to gel superbly with DC's. A superbly eclectic mix of sounds and Richie Blackmore's guitar work is god-sent even though he supposedly detested the 'shoe-shine music' of the new Purple line up. The fairies and pixies must have started screwing up his mind by this stage! John Lord's Hammond organ is always a pleasure to listen to. All in all 'Burn' is probably my favourite Purple album. 10/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
saw deep purple at Newcastle when burn was first out , fantastic night straight into burn the track, with david coverdale leading the pack , fantastic show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Olaying it now as I write , oh dear the neighbours don't like loud 😈😈😈
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Great addition to any Deep Purple collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 October 2010
I'll make no bones about it,Purple mark 3 have always been my favourite,love the Gillan stuff but Mark 3 always grabs you by the throat,either with the ferocity of this release or the more laid back stuff that followed.

Opening with possibly the most ferocious riff Blackmore ever wrote ,the music thunders from the speakers,stunning riff,great drumming,keyboards superb,the new boys performing at the top of their game,Coverdale's vocal debut immense,thats just for openers.The original albums 8 tracks are all excellent,maybe A200 straying to far into ELP territory.

Stll what classics are here? the lung bustin 'Mistreated',swaggering 'Might Just Take Your Life',the strutting Bad Co influenced 'Sail Away',the class of 'You Fool Know One' which would take on a life of its own in the live arena.

This remaster is superb,giving the music a new(visceral) sheen,the remixes are excellent,in truth they dont bring too much different.The only 'real' bonus here is the sublime instrumental 'Coranarias Redig',a track i've loved since discovering it on some obscure best of years ago,Blackmore's guitar playing out of this world.

As always the packaging is superb,slipcase and booklet top notch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2004
WOW! This is truly the best album I have ever heard! I have listened to the original recording of 'Burn' all my life so I was delighted to hear my favourite songs polished up for this remastered CD. The title track has never sounded so good, it really shows off Ritchie's and Jon's solos to the max. 'Sail Away' is the highlight of the album, the sexy guitar riff never fails to draw all of your attention, it'll have you humming the song for days. David Coverdale's vocals are particularly excellent on this track, really heart-felt. And of course the legendary 'Mistreated'. What more can I say than Complete Blues Heaven.
The only reservations I had about this album were the remixes as quite often they disappiont , but I was blown away by the sheer power of them, especially the 'Sail Away' and 'Mistreated' remixes. I recommend this to any rock loving person. Truly the best rock album by Purple!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
I agree with many of the reviews, especially that of Francis Brennan. Many Deep Purple fans probably got into the Gillan stuff first and although 'In Rock' and 'Machine Head' are without doubt classics, so is 'Burn' but it was such a big change in direction, many fans just didn't get it at the time or since. Now I can't defend some of the rubbish that Coverdale has put out with Whitesnake (There was some good stuff upto him going all blond and American) but he sang on three of the best Deep Purple albums pressed into vinyl without a doubt, this album being the best of the bunch. A classic from beginning to end in my book although the organ can sound dated to some. Brilliant playing by all concerned and the blend of Coverdale's and Glenn Hughes' vocals is magnificient!

Don't listen to the Gillan fans, buy this, turn it up loud!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)