Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2017
Wonderful memories my youth. My french is lousy so it took a while to locate and find the English sub titles. The story is good fun and Fernandel is (was ?) a great comic actor. I'm looking forward to collecting further films in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
The first episode in the 'Don Camillo' series. In French with subtitles in English or Italian; B&W. This 1950s production will probably seem dated and somewhat 'quaint' to today's audience but it is an enjoyable movie and makes a welcome break from all the gratuitous sex and violence which has become de rigueur even for comedies these days.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Having read the books back in the dim and distant past and enjoyed them I can honestly say that I was not aware of this Fernandel series until I saw it available on Amazon.Although to watch it you have to turn on the English titles (unless you are fluent in the original language) I found this film true to the book.Another Amazon reviewer recommended to try the more up to date Terence Hill version of the 80s which I also purchased.To tell the truth although both versions work the Fernandel series fits on better with the age it was written for i.e.post war.This film is definitely worth a look for Camillo fans.
11 Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
My husband has wanted it for a long time. We enjoy watching it. Had fun and games at first getting the subtitles but all is well now. Great video.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
This film was a smash hit in France and Italy and it is easy to see why. I first encountered Giovanni Guareschi's Don Camillo books in 1954 and I was enchanted by them. This film is the most accurate film representation of a literary masterpiece that I have ever seen. The conflict between a Catholic priest and a Communist mayor in an Italian village, while both respect and even love each other, is funny and heart warming. It shows the fundamental decency of human nature despite passing quarrels in a way that really is unique. After the release of this film Fernandel became known throughout France as Don Camillo. This DVD shows why.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
A quite old (1953) film but absolutely delightful and Fernandel is perfect as Don Camillo. The film is also true to the books and having read them many years ago it was a joy to see them recreated.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
The film is in French with English subtitles and in black and white (as filmed in 1953) which actually gives a flavour of the period it was filmed in. The film was very enjoyable but to appreciate it - you would really need to read the book first.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Fernandel is an "old timer"'favorite.
He managed to make you laugh yet the situations are not always laughable.
Buy this one and you will buy others like "L'auberge rouge" if i remember the title correctly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
The Little World of Don Camillo was bought as a presentfor an elderly friend who was very pleased to recieve it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
A brilliantly funny film starring the famous French actor, Fernandel. Fernandel plays Don Camillo e Catholic priest who has a pet enemy- the communist mayor. Their funny adventures are hilarious even today.

The film is brilliant as it shows the creative genius of the first filmmakers In black and white,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)