Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 February 2011
`Tokyo Godfathers' is another great anime film from Satoshi Kon.

When three homeless people in Tokyo find an abandoned baby their lives are turned upside down as they struggle to look after her and find her parents. A variety of seemingly unrelated events come together until the film reaches it's heart warming and satisfying ending. Traipsing all over Tokyo they follow various clues in their hunt for the babies parents, whilst their own life stories unfold before us.

The dysfunctional homeless family make for humorous viewing, with an old geezer for the dad, a flamboyant gay man as the mother and a bitter, yet sensitive, girl as the `daughter'. There's makes for a complex but touching family relationship.

The animation is very good and whilst not as lush or beautiful as Ghibli films, this is more gritty and realistic. This film has a 12 certificate, but this is an animated film aimed more at adults. The themes, language and some scenes are more adult orientated that other anime films out there.

This feels quite bleak at times due to the winter landscapes and muted colours, as well as the storyline in general. But, it is very well made and everything comes together perfectly at the end. If you are a fan of anime films in general then this should please you and if you a fan of Satoshi Kon in particular, then this should leave you delighted. A worthy addition to your anime film collection.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2012
This is a warm, spiritual story set in a cold and snowy Tokyo one Christmas. It finds the right balance being not too sentimental or moralising. That the major characters are homeless is not an invitation for the makers to preach about society and inequality. They are homeless for different reasons and even though they may have their faults I found it very easy to sympathise with them and like them. They are very human.
A 12 certificate is deserved not just because the content involves some quite adult issues but there is no dubbing and subtitles are not every youngsters cup of tea.
I found the story quite spiritual with possible divine intervention here and there. But, it is not Christian or Shinto or preaching anything.
I did wonder why such a story was animated. But the animation creates an artistic interpretation of reality which is almost subliminal. Every frame of film has been created and analysed to invoke a mood and I was left in a very fine mood indeed with the movie's amounts of humour, pathos and drama balanced in equal proportions.
I was looking for alternatives after finishing Studio Ghibli's ouevre and this is the first of Satoshi Kon's movies I have seen - I will be watching more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
Not for little kids- adult themes. You will need English subtitles unless you speak Japanese. Has a proper ending: the city of Tokyo, which is the 4th protagonist, bows to you, the audience; as if it is an actor on the stage, and it sings Beethoven's 'ode to joy' (in Japanese) in the voices of all its inhabitants. Why are brilliant movies like this a secret and I only get to know of them by reading reviews on amazon, and there is crap on TV every night? well, it's a good job there's Amazon and its reviewrs...thanks peeps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
Absolutely LOVE this film! Amazed to discover a Christmas anime, and equally amazed to find it's the best Christmas film I've ever watched! Better than all the stalwarts wheeled out on TV every year by a long way - faultless entertainment, fantastic animation, action, comedy, and a heartwarming Christmas message underneath it all. Not what I was expecting from an anime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2008
I purchased this title when I was looking for something different from the normal robot/creature anime that is so abbundant. This film is superb.It is so "real" in its themes of true to life story telling that you soon forget that its animation.The feature is funny,sad,thought provoking,and a delight to watch.If you like your manga high adreniline none stop action then go elsewhere,but you would be missing a gem of a movie.This version of the film has no english/usa dubbing,but the emotions
brought out by the original japanese voice actors are superb...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
I really enjoyed this film. The animation quality was a joy to watch. Great storyline but was subtitles only.
This took away the full pleasure of watching this movie. I don't mind subtitles but when they never shut up my eyes are glued to the inscription on the bottom of the screen. Nevertheless I'm glad a bought this because the characters are really funny. A good anime film to have in your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
Film basically about a homeless trio who find an abandoned child and attempt to return is to its mother.
The film has comedy moments but ultimately shows a great development of characters with underlying moments of self discovery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2009
I have enjoyed all of Satoshi Kons films, this one is one of my favourites because it is much lighter and funnier.. but also with a deeper meaning and emotion to it. Unlike the other Kon films this hasn't been dubbed into English but i cannot stress enough how that should NOT put you off in the slightest because this film is brilliant. It's worth the extra work of speed reading through the subtitles because it is so enjoyable. To put the icing on the cake the artwork and animation are fantastic, a lot of Animé is low budget so the animation can be jumpy and awkward but that is not the case here, its smooth edgy and funny.

I recommend this to anyone...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2016
A sweet yet confusing story line I enjoyed it very much and I liked how it focus one everyone as a family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
Great Movie from The Late Great Satoshi Kon, Nice animation and a touching feel good story. There is no Dub on this release, Sub Only!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse