Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
60
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2013
Great film, the best, most fair rendition of the Mutiny (yes, I've seen the Brando/Howard and the Gable/Haughton features) to date, with wonderful acting by Hopkins (why Gibson, that sour, antipodean England-hater, gets pride of place in the queries is beyond me, but there you are). Audio quality could indeed be better, but the film is certainly not unwatchable (but then I'm not a die-hard HD aficionado). The most terrible feature is the dreadful music, which sounds so terribly dated as to be almost ridiculous. If ever the film company that owns the rights to this film should decide to restore it audiovisually, it would help very much to have the LSO can some Korngold or Shostakovich film music instead of the electronic noodlings of Evangelos Odysseas Papathanassiou, the hellenic cross between Demis Roussos and Rasputin, aka Vangelis.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
There is something I can't quite put my finger on that causes me to feel there is something lacking in this version of the Mutiny on the Bounty. The cast is first rate, but, well I think its partly Mel Gibson playing Fletcher Christian that turns me off slightly. The sequences at sea, which I found so good in the 2nd version, (Trevor Howard as Bligh), are not so good. Also the wide screen format on my version ended up as a reduced size picture in the centre of my TV screen, which spoilt it. I changed the settings to enlarge but with very little change; which is shame as this film needs a large screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2011
Back in the Lean/Bolt years they both wanted to work on two movies of the Bounty. The script at the time was deemed too expensive to shoot (Accountants robbing us of a Lean masterpiece no doubt) and then many years later Dino De Laurentis bought the rights to the Bolt script(s) and this one movie THE BOUNTY was directed by Roger Donaldson.

The movie itself boasts a great script, some fine performances from Anthony Hopkins, Mel Gibson, Daniel Day Lewis, Liam Neeson, Neil Morrisey, Phil Davis, Dexter Fletcher, John Sessions and pretty much anyone who had a good agent in the 1980's.

But and it is a big BUT - this release is BAD...it is a "digital transfer" that would make a market piarate blush. The aspect ratio I can't even work out, and the great photography of the film is not served well. I am sure there must be a market for this to have a better version, and digitally remastered sound - a Vangelis soundtrack - but I am happy to watch the performances and the writing till that day!

Buy it, but imagine its a dodgy VHS you found in the attic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Another version of the Mutiny on the Bounty event and the establishment of Pitcairn as an eventual British colony. This is better than the original 1932 version in my opinion, but not as good as the earlier 1960s version with Marlon Brando.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
The film is as I remember it. Great locations. Reasonably well acted by Mel Gibson - rest of the cast excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
This is a fantastic film with a very fine ensemble cast.
The cinematography is excellent.
Direction is excellent
A true story extremely well realised.
One of my all time favourites..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2007
Gloriously atmospheric interpretation of a famous piece of naval history. Featuring a glittering cast spearheaded by Anthony Hopkins as the infamous Bligh, there is quality acting and stunning cinematography in abundance, and all underpinned by Vangelis' brooding music score. One of those films that oozes excellence throughout and shows how brilliant the Brits are at making them. Should do the south seas tourist industry a few favours, too, I'll wager. Splendid stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
I HAVE BEEN AFTER A GOOD COPY OF THE BOUNTY FOR YEARS AND THIS SADLY IS NOT IT.THIS DVD IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN.IT IS A GOOD MOVIE BUT THE QUALITY OF TRANSFER FROM VIDEO IS RUBBISH.THERE ARE OLDER MOVIES THAN THIS WHERE THE PICTURE QUALITY IS MUCH BETTER.EVERY COPY OF THE BOUNTY IS THE SAME,NEVER BUY THIS FILM ON DVD.The Bounty [DVD] [1984]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
This is a very well-done movie and brilliantly performed with classic actors including not just Hopkins and Gibson, but Neeson, Day-Lewis, etc.

It is also definitely a superb history lesson in not just the events surrounding the most famous mutiny of all-time, but also seafaring during that era and Tahitian culture.

Critics and audiences haven't given this movie half the respect it deserves. Having read "Mutiny on the Bounty", I was impressed by how accurate it was yet remained entertaining and compelling. The cinematography is a winner too!

For a more realistic alternative to clichéd movies about sailors (be it pirates or submariners) this picture is indeed the best choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Mel Gibson is a bit young in this but still a good film, love the music soundtrack, story line still the original but entertaining
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)