Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.98+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2015
HAPPY WITH ITEM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
just what i wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Solder paste is not that common these days. It was once to be found in the tool cases of every plumber and on the shelves or in the drawers of TV service technicians workshops. But copper piping and solder jointing has given way to plastic pipes and compression-fit unions and joints. In electronics, just about every component/item of equipment is replaceable: throwaway-and-buy-new. Electronic component soldering is much less common than when I was a trainee electronics engineer, 40+ years ago.

There are relatively few manufacturers of solder flux around but LA-CO has survived. This item is the non-drip, paste flux although wet flux is/was available. A 60gm container will last quite some time and I doubt I will ever use the entire contents because my primary soldering interests involve electronic circuit repair, which uses flux-cored solder rather than flux paste. Flux paste is still mostly used on copper pipe jointing - gas and water - in conjunction with solid solder bars. I have used the LA-CO flux and it is easy to spread onto a surface with a brush/sponge/cloth. Its anti-oxidising properties ensure the hot solder runs smoothly over the surface thereby making a clean and strong joint.

I deducted 1-star for the relatively high price. Flux never used to be expensive but like soldering and solder it is less widely used by the DIY-er, although it is still widely used by industry, which use vast quantities rather than small, 60gm tubes.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
I had my ancient tin of 20-odd year old, evil smelling soldering Flux nicked fairly recently and replaced it with a couple of jars
of this product.
It's cleaner, smells like it isn't killing me when I use it, and works brilliantly for the kind of electric guitar mods and repairs
I do quite regularly.
I love it when something just works!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
I've been using liquid acid based flux for model making for a while but have become worried about breathing the fumes.

Thought I'd try this as it is non toxic and non acidic. No health warnings at all.

Didn't expect it to work as well as the acid based flux because it is in the form of a grease. I thought it would be difficult to make if flow between the pieces.

In fact it is better. The grease disolves and the solder flows in to replace it. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
It's a small plastic jar of flux

Helps with soldering making the contacts stick and protects them

can't say there is much i can say that's either good or bad about it, is there really any difference in flux other than the price.

This was good value for money, so buy it if you need it i've been using it for some home electronics and it's worked nicely for me still got like 3/4 tub left after quite a few projects.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Works a treat. Doesn't come with an applicator. Says paste, is a paste, so don't expect it to flow into small spaces. If you need to run it under components to re-flow solder, then get a liquid flux.

Jar isn't shrink wrapped or anything. Nor does it have one of those anti tamper type tops, so I weighed it, comes in at 74grams total.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Looks professionaly and working like that.Very good for work with lead even if laed contains flux in content. I am use it for Professional soldering station . This product is good also when You working in High level temperature and is very efficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Flux is the way forward as a way to make soldering easier. This stuff works so well and appears to be a little safer than the traditional stuff which I understand is not very good if you inhale it, which, is not something you have much choice about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
I use this flux sometimes with solder when it's not sticking properly, it does the job very well. Sometimes I find rosin core solder doesn't have enough flux inside so this is useful to have around...works instantly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)