Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2010
This recording is the best ever. Glen Gould died when he was very young.
But the 1955 recording of The Goldberg Variations is the difinitive recording of this piece by J S Bach.

The only pianist that might get close, when he gets around to it, is James Rhodes. I look forward to hearing that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
A satisfying performance
Glenn Gould was a grand master of the piano
A satisfying performance
The sound still sounds fresh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
If Glenn Gould wasn't grunting and humming all through the performance, I'm sure you'd be prepared to pay more for this. It's not overly intrusive - if you play it on your hi-fi, you're listening to Bach, whilst Gould's ghostly mumblings make you wonder if your living room is haunted. You could argue that the vocal contributions add the personal touch, provide an insight into the tactics of the accomplished performer, or adds an authenticity to the performance that elevates it above a merely mechanical rendition. However, you might also argue that the inclusion of such extraneous noises detracts from the work of the composer, and is not required nor expected in a professional recording. Whether this peculiarity is a good thing or a bad thing is open to debate, however, I don't feel it adds value, and hence the price tag of just £2.99 is about right. Also I'm not sure that listening to the final track, "Studio Outtakes," is a good use of 12mins 32s.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
What a superb performance! Glenn Gould's grasp of this classic Bach piece is astonishing. It must rank among the best performances ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
His interpretation and performance stands far above any of his rivals. A privilege to hear him. Words are inadequate. Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
From somebody who is not a music critic, this simply sounds good. It was Youtube which led me to the Glenn Gould interpretation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
It's hard to rate a combination of the purity of Bach and the slightly eccentric playing of Glenn Gould - worth every penny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Iconic recording with all the original (in every sense!) programme notes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
This is wonderful although I prefer his later, slower take on the piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I'm not usually into this sort of music, but was given it as a gift and felt i had to write a review! This is only piano music (no other instruments), but its performed with a liveliness that makes it a lovely CD to have on ion the background when you're pottering around. I would recommend it to anyone, even if they don't like classical music ordinarily.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse