Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 27 July 2015
If you love horror films or classic movies this is a must buy. Made in 1968 its still a fresh and exciting horror film even today. Romero's zombie films had a tendency to focus less on the undead and more on the human characters. Though even this first entry into the 'dead' has its fair share of gorey scenes. The actors, largely unknowns at the time, put in great performances that keep you hooked. Though Remero would certainly go on to better this film it stands the test of time as a thrilling horror film and a classic of the genre.

This Blu Ray offers a great quality picture and sound. There seem to be many different companies releasing this film, with varying success. However I can recommend this release from Studio Canal.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2015
Night of the Living Dead was originally made in black and white but this copy has been digitally remastered in colour and the effect is brilliant! The story itself is very gripping and tells the story of a young couple visiting a graveyard and when the couple are attacked by a madman, the woman flees to a cottage and the nightmare really begins as zombies gather outside. While watching the movie, I could not help thinking what I would do if I was in that situation and I believe that to be the mark of a great movie-maker.
While copying some old videos to DVD, I came across a video recording I had made from tv in the 80s of Return of the Living Dead and Return of the Living Dead 2. As a trilogy, since they are all tied in together, they make a great set and are well worth watching over and over again. Highly recommended if you like zombie movies... B-B-B-BRAI-N-N-N-S-S-S...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
Classic, claustrophobic flesh-eating horror. George Romero really knew what he was doing, and this film has aged well.

The added colour isn't very convincing on the outdoor scenes, but on the man-made sets the colourists' painstaking efforts really pay off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2011
ive always been a fan of the dead films.ive only ever owned this on dvd,in 3 different formats,but this format is the best!as soon as the movie starts,you can tell that its been tinkered with and upgraded for the blu ray format,and a wonderful job theyve done too.the zombies in the nightime scenes are a lot clearer than before,even the daytime scenes are,especially in the graveyard at the start.but there are 2 things that bug me about it though;1)the black lines on the side of the screen and 2)although the sound is DTS HD MA,its done in the original mono.but hey,they didnt have the vast array of sound effects that we have today,so i shouldnt really complain.i have all the dead films now bar 2,so come on George,do ya thing and give us another taste of zombie heaven!:-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
The fantastic debut that made George A Romero a household name in not only zombie but the horror genre. This has excellent thought provoking commentary on nuclear explosions and racism which is sort of filmed like a documentary in a way with very good performances by Duane Jones. Judith O'Dea and Karl Hardman. This is an inferior film to Dawn Of The dead in terms of it's time but still remains a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
this is the 2006 "special edition" on the Cinema Club label (CCD30211), picture and sound where excellent, if buying this film on dvd I'd go for either this release or 2005's "collector's edition" on the Contender label (CTD10832), both are the best looking versions on dvd and both have great (and different) extras
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2016
I grew up with the black and white impressions of the horror genre and fell, instantly, in love with this movie - being the birth of The Modern Zombie. Now, with all the CGI and Special Effects in films, it is hard to come by "The Night Of The Living Dead" on the TV or on Sky. With this DVD - in colour! - you can watch enjoy it any time and anywhere. It is one of the greatest and one of my absolute favourite horror movies of all time. A fantastic buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2014
Relatively speaking I'm not the most knowledgeable about zombie-flicks but none the less I believe my opinion is just as valid. Night of the Living Dead was BRILLIANT, very old school but gripping all the same. Shot in a way making you feel like you're kinda actually there. You can see elements where alot of the modern zombie films get their ideas from. Romero is the god of zombies and having watched alot of his work he's clearly his own teacher and develops film after film. Definitely recommend this and all his other work too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2014
This is the perfect version of 'The Living Dead', no extra crappy added bits, just the original movie. The transfer is great too, nice and clear. So remember the one with the white border on the cover.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Good old movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse