Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Excellent service, delivery and good product quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
he so reminded me of growing up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection contains forty of Bobby Darin's finest songs from his peak years, ranging from his rock'n'roll music to his Sinatra-styled ballads.
Dream lover, You must have been a beautiful baby, Things, If I were a carpenter, Mack the knife and Beyond the sea were top ten hits in Britain and America. This set also includes the British top ten hits Lazy river, Clementine and Multiplication and the American top ten hits, Splish splash and Queen of the hop.
Bobby's singles were sometimes covers of older songs. Here you can find his versions of Nature boy (Nat King Cole), What'd I say (Ray Charles), Lovin' you (Lovin' spoonful) and several other great songs.
If you want a comprehensive collection of Bobby's hits, this serves your needs brilliantly.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Have only played the one track I purchased for, and it stops twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
I have seen the film Beyond the Sea, and while Kevin Spacey does a stunning job singing Bobby Darin's songs, the film is slightly spoilt by the total lack of Babby Darin's voice! This was particularly frustrating in plkaces, such as a sequence where Bobby Darin is falling in love with Sandra Dee while Dream Lover is playing. Spacey's arrangement of that song is nowhere near the same as Darin's original.
When I was was very young, Bobby Darin was a regular in the UK singles chart. I grew up being familiar with Splish Splash, Dream Lover and Things. I became familiar with other songs later, like Mack The Knife and Multiplication. This CD set is almost as complete a collection as there is of Darin's hits. The range of material shows his brilliance as an interpreter (listen to the chatty, cheery style of depressing songs like Mack The Knife and Clementine) and writer (Splish Splash and Dream Lover were lyrically very simple, while Multiplication and Things had very clever lyrics).
Darin's most successful period was only around 5-6 years, but this set also contains later material, such as a thoughtful reading of Tim Hardin's If I Were A Carpenter.
If you want to hear what Bobby Darin really sounded like, listen to this fine collection, as you you won't hear himn at all in the film.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
It's true-the evidence is right there on Frank's version of Old McDonald had a Farm-which to my mind was his finest hour
Yet Darin was once accused of copying Frank! I mean so what 100s before him did the Great American Songbook.
His first singles on Decca included a cover version of Lonnie Donegan's revival of Rock Island Line.
That's mainly what Darin was about.He was a Carpet Man who was only a writer by neccesity
Rock'n Roll paved the way for Darin to try other styles yet it could so easily have never happenned .Atco were just about to drop his contract when Splish Splash started selling causing the label to find out about his moonlighting activities with the Coral label and the song Early In The morning-for this one he was the Ding Dongs but when Atco took it back they issued it as the Rinky Dinks and Buddy Holly got the biggest hit.Darin's final clutch at the brass ring coincided with Splish Splash charting.
From then on it was nothing but Up-a year later came the first transatlantic No 1 with Dream Lover.His label wanted more high school pop but Darin seemed intent on commitiing artistic suicide when he put the idea to his label of playing Sinatra at his own game.Atco were not interested and refused to pay for the sessions so Darin financed them himself brought in arranger Richard Wess and ended up with another chart topper.No doubt he was lucky-Mack the Knife probably sold because it was a Death Disc and I can take it or leave it.But Clementine was something else entirely-a rather stunning rewrite of an ancient English folk song which moved up a semitone on every verse.It was this which caused Sinatra to do Old McDonald.
So the Darin career would move between pop,folk,country and the Great American Songbook to the end with a Christmas album thrown in.He went back to his rock'n'roll image for songs like Multiplication and an album of Ray Charles songs with his version of What'd I Say as a single.In 1963 he went country with 18 Yellow Roses and You're the reason I'm living then had a second coming in 1966 with Tim Hardin's If I were a carpenteras he explored Folk Rock before the politics took over
The movie made with the cooperation of Darin's son is as good a way of learning about him and about the drama in his life which would affect him till the day he died.His life sounds like a movie script-the singer who wanted to be a living legend before he was 30 and achieved it yet it was seemingly true-the woman he'd always thought of as his mother was in fact his older sister.
Today in an increasingly boring parade of fake stars Darin's like will never bee seen again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Such a pity so many tracks are mono and dull when perfectly good stereo tracks are available if you search enough,why settle for cotton when you can have silk.I do not know a single equivalent CD to suggest,you will have to choose 2 more to get all these tracks,but atleast they will sound much better.If you look at my other reviews,I have suggested several excellent Darin CD's,in stereo(where they actually do exist,as very early stuff is only mono),I cannot recommend this CD.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
This Album Is Superb,I Have Alway's Loved Darin's Voice.
Especially The Swing Music e.g.Mac/Beyound The Sea/Lazy River.
The Thing That Hits Home Here Is His Working Of The Lesser Known Album Tracks Like Guys And Dolls ,Two Of A Kind etc.
His Ability To Sing With A Big Band Is Superb In My Opinion Better Than Sinatra On Some Of The Up Tempo Tracks (And I Am A Big Sinatra Fan)
Some Of The Lesser Known Rock And Roll Numbers Are Suprisingly Good
Especially Early In The Morning Which He Wrote And I Knew As A Buddy Holly Album Track
Some Of The Later Recordings Are Interesting I liked
His Version Of Be Your Baby Tonight Origionally By Bob Dylan.
The Icing On The Cake Is Artificial Flowers Which I Had Never Heard Of Before.This Has To Be The Best Track On The Album.I Can't Stop Playing It.The Best Modern Swing Track I Have Ever Heard.Can't Seem To Find This Track On Any Of His Studio Albums.
This Album Has Made Me Want To Buy The Origonal Studio Albums eg That's All,This Is Bobby Darin.
Buy This Album Play Sit Back And Enjoy.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Love this double cd , play it all the time in my car whilst driving .its got some great tracks on it , excellent value for money and great delivery and service .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)