Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£48.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2004
There's just so many wobble or wobble related albums that one just doesn't know where to begin.
My collection only ever consisted of a handful of his 30hertz releases and I wouldn't have even known where to begin looking for his many many collaborations over the years, but this 3 cd retrospective ends all a fans worries.
Here, over the course of 3 discs is the mans entire career, the great, the good and the slightly strange!
I admired his work ever since the mid 80's when a house clearance gifted me the Betrayal album. Following him since has never been easy. Just when you think you've pinned him down he wobble's off some place else.
Do yourself a favour - 3 discs for 12quid - you will NOT regret it.
The only thing I can say against this release is that 3 discs doesn't seem so much for a man who's released 30+ albums. Four discs would have been nicer but there's also a great inner booklet with photos and all types of info that fans will adore.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2004
I was first introduced to Jah Wobbles work when a friend invited me to one of his gigs a couple of years ago. The heavy dub is really addictive.
Having bought a couple of his later Cd's I was very interested when this one came out as I had not heard any of his earlier work (sorry for my ignorance!). This is a great Cd and covers lots of different types of music but all with that familiar heavy base. Favourites include Josey Walsh with Sinead O'Connor...brilliant, Blacksmith Dub and Lam Tang Way Dub.
Actually there are loads of tracks I really like ...well there are 37 of them to choose from!!!
A great introduction to Jah Wobbles work, and an absolute bargain. You can't lose.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2004
This is the perfect album for those who like the "bottom end" of the scale. Just sit back, and relax with Jah as he takes you through his years as a bass man. There are some truly fantastic tracks, "Visions of you" (disc one) and "So many years" (disc two) to name just two. If you are in two minds, just look at the price! It's under ten quid. What more can I say.An entire evening of quality music, for less than four pints. It's easy choise.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
I bought this on a recommendation and I too will recommend.. if you know Mr wobble then you you will not get a better deal on 3! cd's.. music for every taste, intelligent and interesting sounds,, although, as a Pill lover ;-) it does not need the opening tracks which distract from the culture of the rst of the cd... you cannot possibly be dissapointed with this al bum.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
a master class on how to put a compilation together, Unlike the other reviewer I was glad the PiL tracks were here as they're brilliantly mastered and sequenced.
Betrayal Dub is 30 seconds longer than the 12" version from 1980.
Betrayal was always a personal favourite and its great to hear it amid the PiL tracks on disc 2
a quality project and a great way to find out which areas of Wobs huge discography you want to investigate
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
'I could Have Been A Contender' is an impressive, almost encyclopaedic, overview of 30 years of Jah Wobble and his eclectic, eccentric music.
It's an enormous wade-through, and it's unsurprising that the quality of each finished piece depends almost entirely on who he's been collaborating with.

Examples: The PIL work with Lydon and co is exceptional: 'Poptones' is here like Hercules, as is 'Death Disco' in a version bafflingly called 'Swan Lake.'
A duet with mad Irish God-botherer Sinead O'Connor, 'Visions of You,' is the whole collection's ethereal highpoint, and the funkoid post-punk 'Snake Charmer' wins, despite being co-written by the frustratingly unreliable Holger Czuzay.

It's pointless trying to make any sense of the chronological aspect of 'Contender,' Wobble is a lunatic for versions, extracts, rehashes and particularly, parts. You can read 'part 1' of some title or other, only to discover part 4 was recorded 10 years before, and there are no parts 2 or 3! Such is his coruscating, sheets-to-the-wind attitude...

'Contender' is always challenging, sometimes inspired and often magnificent. Wobble is kinda the Snakefinger of ethnic industrial disco; the Clock DVA of roots. Every conceivable musical instrument and vocal style from all the corners of the earth are employed. From Evan Parker to the Temple of Sound; The Edge to Brian Eno.

Monstrously, 'Dreadlock Don't Deal in Wedlock' is sadly absent from 'Contender,' an omission which has cost clever-clogs Wobble a star, but depreciates from the overall value of this mammoth sampler only minutely.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 August 2014
Bought as a gift. Was well received
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
Impeccable bass driven vibes from the master of ethnicity. Only for the die hard fans as it's more for education than relaxation in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse