Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2004
Since I got this album I haven't stopped playing it. This highly original amalgam of psychedelic rock, pastoral pop, country and folk is truly mesmerising.
If you like Mercury Rev, Flaming Lips, Spiritualized, Polyphonic Spree or Joy Zipper - this is for you.
Truly excellent!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
I know its only July but the sheer class of this album is so amazing, I feel that the album of the year has quite possibly arrived already. Heard 'Wayward Song' on The Blue Room last week and have been hooked ever since. The album flows perfectly through eleven songs of musical bliss, with there being too many highlights to single out a particular track. This is music that should really last the test of time. Stunning.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2007
If I could I would give this album 6 stars.

From the gorgeous tinkling harmonies of opening track "In The Beginning..." to the upliftingly expansive closer "Dead Birds", the quality is breathtaking and the love with which it was crafted obvious. Repeated listening rewards the listener too, as the intricate layers of production slowly unpeel themselves into your ears. Not that they are so precious as to extract all humanity from the music: listen closely and you'll hear the odd giggle, instruments being dropped, extracts from memorial services, quiet cues - even the odd "eh,what?!" between band members.

Unusually, the lyrical content matches the quality of the music - at turns sombre, uplifting, admonishing, but always with a refreshing honesty.

Albums like this are a true rarity and should be cherished as the gems they are.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2007
For a moment, contemplate this: two guys from the musical backwaters of Burnley, Lancashire (UK) have some new and wonderfully twisted ideas on how to put an album together. They're halfway (or so) there with the songs, but something's missing. Ever ones to embrace the rapidly changing technology of our world, they put what they have recorded out there, into the musical-ether, on the internet. It's worth a shot, see what comes of it. And what comes of it, I hear you collectively cry? Two geezers from Texas (the place, no the blinkin' band!) pick it up, and 8000 miles away say, "Hey, we love this, man; let us get involved!" So they did. And this is the result. Part ranch-music, part cotton-mills. Part Fort Worth, part pint of Worthingtons. Part Beach Boys, part Northern Boys. Truly beautifully harmonic, properly crafted songs, with weirdy-samplery-trickery and organic instruments. This is only half of what they are capable of achieving, and if you even slightly like this album, YOU HAVE TO SEE THEM LIVE. I guarantee my friend (and you must be one of my friends, if you're still reading this), you'll be blown away. All the way to San Jose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
this is the soundtrack to my summer,it's a fantastic debut album.
it sounds like all your favourite bands but also like nothing you heard before,
no hype,no slick angular hair,no agenda ,just a classic record for everyone
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2006
I loved the whole album from the first time of listening BUT be aware, the CD is protected so you CAN rip it into Media Player but you CANT copy it to your portable device. I think there sould be something on the CD cover to warn us!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
You can tell these guys put their hearts into their music. Each listen takes you to a different place, where you actually feel the musical depth expanding -- a total joy to both chill-out to, as well as sing along with. I can't wait to see what they come up with next!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2004
Word to the above reviews. Agree this is the album of 2004 so far (and its nearly November!). Blissful orchestrated left field pop perfection, shimmering harmonies take you to a state of grace as you submit to its unique charm. Forget the comparisons to the Lips, Rev, Beach Boys et al, this is music all by itself and - thankfully - unlike anything else. If you do like the aforementioned bands though, you will love this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2005
i've been waiting for a vinyl release of this album for months and i must say i was absolutley stunned when i opened the gatefold..it's amazing! and so is the 20 page booklet inside..infact you can see how much this band care about everything from the music through to the artwork.
as an owner of the cd as well i've played this album constantly for the 6 months i've owned it,but i had to have the vinyl too... even just to look at
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The Earlies must have made friends a lot more easily than they made music. Particularly music journos. Like another disappointed reviewer, I bought this based on reviews and recommendations (after buying the first three Alabama 3 albums). This album is weak, thin, boring and dull. I couldn't bring myself to listen to it more than twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.48

Need customer service? Click here