Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
104
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2017
My favorite Megadeth album
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
As described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
I love everything this band do
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2001
Put this on, turn it up, strap yourself into a chair, and prepare to thrash for your life through what is the best thrash guitar album of all time.
'So Far, so good, so what?' had established Megadeth as a credible rival to Metallica and allowed front man (and 2nd guitarist) Dave Mustaine to make his point, but where next? Keep things fairly & squarely thrash, but lose the NWOBHM & punk leanings in favour of a more polished & progressive approach, and hire one of the best lead guitarists around, is where!
This is the album where Megadeth brings it all together, and peak. This one has blistering guitar and drum work, fast-paced songs that will leave you breathless, shouting, sneering, politics, magic and oh, oh those blazing solos!
Pretty much every song is a highlight. "Holy Wars...The Punishment Due" kicks things off which riffs throughout, and builds to a stunning climax of lead guitar frenzy. "Hangar 18" is a complete shred-fest, with Mustaine & Friedman dueling throughout.
"Take No Prisoners" and "Five Magics" feature some fantastic interplay between the riffing guitars and drums (some of the most polished thrash chops ever heard) and "Tornado of Souls" is just outstanding. How many killer riffs can one song actually hold before it explodes?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Great album from the masters of trashmetal. If you like metal at all you need to have this album. End of discussion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
No doubt the best Megadeth album ever and to me its definetely the best metal album of all time! From the opining riff of Holy wars to the last riff of Polaris, its simply shreds from start to finish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2002
Dave Mustaine's composition skills are at their best on this album, no doubt about it. The first song, Holy Wars, pummels along at a brilliant rate, guitars blazing a burning path through with the occasional soloing slash, and then it ends with Dave growling an interlude which takes us into The Punishment Due, a brutal assault which builds up towards a climax and ending while Mustaine yells "Next thing you know, they'll take my thoughts away". Hangar 18 is, musically, a stunning accomplisment - as speedily produced and stunningly executed as it is guitar-solo filled, it has an almost FuturEgyptian feeling to the guitars. Take No Prisoners is Brutal, Poison Was The Cure is stunning and quite emotional, Tornad of Souls is melodic yet brilliant, Five Magics is a dark track leading to a "Final battle" climax, Rust In Peace... Polaris is a grinding, heavy ending to the album, with the wonderful album finale: "Eradication of Earth's Population Love Polaris" (The "Polaris" is growled by a second voice, for that flawless "Death To You All" effect). Lucretia is a great "memory lane" trip, with brilliant lyrics, Dawn Patrol is a great little dark break from the thrashing to give Apocalyptic effect.. The whole album is Thrash at it's best. Amen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2005
ok so Mustaine messed up with re-recording this amazing album and you should probably try to find one of the originals, but the songs are great nonetheless.
'holy wars...' is one of my favourite songs of all time and is just perfect thrash. it truly is mind-blowing when you have it blasting out at full volume. but the other songs on the album aren't overshadowed, there are still classics like 'hangar18' and 'five magics'. all following the same formula of fast and heavy thrash metal has created a great album that isn't boring or repetetive at any point. 'dawn patrol' can hardly be described as a song and is a bit of a waste of space but it doesn't matter when following it is another stand out track 'rust in peace...'
definately one of my favourite albums of all time and is on a level-pegging with master of puppets by metallica - that's how good it is!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2005
I won't go on and on about this album. So much has been said about it already. I will just give a quick, honest opinion. And my opinion is that Rust In Peace, Megadeth's fourth release, is an amazing album, not just a thrash but a metal classic and their best album. This is a thrashy, snarling masterpiece. It's very heavy, hard edged and the rhythm guitars have a really nasty, shredded sound, while the leads just sound fantastic. I personally think this album has a very unique sound to it. The lyrics are top, too. I think Dave Mustaine really delivers the vocals very well, and i love the way he sings this album. But another obvious thing you notice is the musical mastery. This album not only has great songs that sound fantastic, but it is technically excellent. Here you really have a group of musicians who are absolutely amazing at what they do; who have totally mastered their chosen instruments. All do a fantastic job: the bass sounds great and there are some brilliant basslines; some of the drumming is out of this world; but the guitar solos are just incredible. There is a lot of lead guitar play on this album, but it doesn't sound cheesy or 'permy'. The songs themselves are outstanding quality, and the songwriting skills, mainly of Mustaine, are very evident on this record. In my humble opinion, there isn't one bad song on this album. ALL are great, but a few standout tracks for me - 'Holy Wars....The Punishment Due'; 'Hangar 18'; 'Take No Prisoners'; 'Tornado Of Souls'; 'Rust In Peace...Polaris'. This remastered version of the album has better sound quality of course. It's not your average cheap rip-off of a remastering release; everything has been given an overhaul, but it doesn't take away from the greatness of the album, and i actually think the album sounds really refreshed. A few of the songs have actually been re-sung, and while i didn't like that at first, i can now appreciate how cool they sound. Taking a song like Take No Prisoners, for example, i think it sounds even more agressive. If you already have the original release, you may not want to be in too much of a panic to get this remastered version, but for die-hard Megadeth fans, i think it is warranted for the improvement in sound quality and the few extra tracks: My Creation (a cool little number, along the lines of Frankenstein), and the demo versions of Rust In Peace......Polaris, Take No Prisoners and Holy Wars......The Punishment Due - the last of which, i think is excellent. Also, being a big Megadeth fan, i think it's great that these demos feature the guitar playing of original member Chris Poland, which is a treat. I tried to keep it brief; i guess i couldn't. If you've ever wondered about buying this album but haven't done so yet - do the deed, it kicks a lot of a**. I can't give it less than 5 stars.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)