Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Bible - David [1997] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 April 2017
I love all these bible videos but one must not get carried away and remember that this is acting and some bits may have been added to liven up the dvd which does not always compare to the bible completely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2017
Beautifully filmed. Begins with Mr. Spock anointing Saul as King with his son Jonathon by his side. But soon King Saul aspires to communicate with God directly a d make bad decisions which leads to his demise and David becomes King. He sees a neighbor lady and soon she is preggers so he has to call the woman's husband in to cover their hook up. He decline the chance so David sends him to the hottest part of the battle to ensure his death. The baby dies.

Years later David's family fractures as his son aspire for hook up with half sister they casts her out. Another brother designs his demise the listens to faulty advice and claims kingship, running his dad out of town. Soon he is hack from a tree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
This entire series of films are trustworthy portrayals of Biblical stories, and each are packed with excellent actors giving their all to their craft. Nathaniel Parker (of such fame as the Bodyguard & Stardust) packs a solid performance as King David, backed by the acting chops of Jonathan Pryce & Leonard Nimoy. Pryce does a top-notch performance of King Saul, in all the nuances of the character - insecure, bordering on insane, and volatile. Nimoy is the wise advisor of both men, trying to guide as history unfolds.

If you're interested in the Bible, history, or simply costume dramas, this is an excellent choice.
44 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2013
This is a great series of bible films. I read along the bible with it and it is pretty accurate helps bring the bible to life and puts things chronologically
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2010
This DVD is brilliant. It is very well portrayed and very close to the original Biblical account. (None of these extra bits they like throwing in these kind of films sometimes!) I would recommend this highly and say that it won't just entertain you, but probably challenge you as well.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2010
I really enjoyed this film, it is so close to scripture and really bought the story to life, well worth the time and money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
I ordered this Bible DVD last Monday 9th Dec and they were all delivered by Wednesday 11th Dec; I was sooooo impressed!!!)Also, my copy was no more that £4.?? or £3.?? !!!

I'm in the process of building a Bible DVD collection, so I'm real happy with the first 3 I got and will be back for more very soon.

This David DVD is very close to the Bible account in 1 Kings and that is what I was looking for. The actors are real good and David in all stages of his Life is very easy on the eye. :o)

I definitely recommend this DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2014
This man was cherished by God for his passionate heart, whilst he had our human weaknesses, he did great exploits. So an encouraging film based on truth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
I was very disappointed with Nathaniel Parker's portrayal of David, he was too arrogant for David. Poor and weak movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)