Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
83
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2016
So bloody funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Classic genre setting show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Game On was a guilty pleasure I had when I was a young teen, the show was funny yet serious at times, especially the content it was involved with. Martin Henson is a dreamer, obsessed with women and getting on in life; a lot of people think he's boring. Matt Malone is a agoraphobic, who's not left the house in years, he's loud, brash and fancies himself. Mandy Wilkins is a dizzy blonde who seems to sleep with everyone, which annoys Matt as he wants to sleep with her.

Some of the best moments in the show usually involve Matt being stupid, like his marines equipment, and his listening to The Manic Street Preachers at 5am to wake everyone up.

This isn't a bad show, OK it's not ground breaking, but it's funny and light hearted. The fact the show had a change in lead role didn't bother me, Ben Chaplin was funnier but Neil Stuke had whole package for me. Tracy Keating who played Claire was also excellent in this. A lot of people say that Samantha Janus (Womack) made the big time here and that's how she scored her role in Eastenders, but I feel sometimes she really was flat in the show, and her lines really revived her.

This DVD isn't very good, the picture is a bit fuzzy at times - but the sound is perfect. There are no extras which is a shame, but at least we got all 18 episodes on here on 3 DVD disks.

Well worth a look
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2004
Game On is special, 3 totally different people under one roof, going about their everyday (but really wacky) everyday lives. It is more subtle than "Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie" and has true smooth british 90's comedy, think "Brittas Empire" meets Friends, if there is anyone out there who hasnt seen it,,, get it, Its about 1000 times better than "Pint of Lager and two packets of crisps"!!!!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2007
the first two series are great. the third is ok. the problem is while it did get more serious in the second series it still worked. the third series was too serious and therefore got more depressing than funny alot fo the time. the vacuum cleaner scene is hilarious though. i cant decide which series is best out of the first two. one scene that sticks in my mind is the reservoir dogs re-enactment by matthew. it is hilarious. i love how he cuts the teddies ear off and then sticks it back on but on top of its head instead of the right place.
buy it for the first two series!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2004
Not an 'extra' in sight I'm afraid which is really disappointing as a commentary would've gone down great but at least Series three is here to re-watch after nearly a decade! Game On was one of those shows which pretentious Arts lovers and 'terribly serious' comedy writers turned up their noses at but I'm sorry; the sight of Neil Stuke frowning at Martin's baby saying "Nobody told me it was ginger tosser" is absolutely hysterical and makes me laugh every time I watch it. From gorgeous Mandy showing off her curves to Wally Basoom at the Bank this box set will really entertain you..People rant on about Fawlty Towers and Bottom but I'm sorry, Game On was a situation comedy that could stand alongside any of them. Very 'Nineties' sure, but to anybody that was in their twenties/early thirties then it will really appeal.
66 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2004
Classic stuff from the 90's.
Everyone debates which 'Matt' was better - but let's face it they were both great!!
My favourite episode would have to be the one where Matt joins the band - "I'm on the streets, I'm in the gutter, It's years since I've had bread and butter".... A star is born - I defy you not to laugh!
If you used to watch the series you have already placed your order. If you are new to Game On and don't know what I'm talking about - trust me - you need this!
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I watched this when it came out on TV nearly 20 years ago and loved it. If you can't find Series one on it's own, this is worth the purchase just for the first series.

Series one is fantastic, Ben Chaplin is superb and every episode is very funny.

Series two is ok, they changed the actor who played "Matthew" to a different person sadly, and while he's just about believable in the role, he just isn't as funny. It's worth a watch though.

Series three is awful. I'd recommend not even taking it out of the box. Seriously.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
IF you didn't get to see this series on television and you don't mind a bit of vulgarity

and

IF you need cheering up

and

IF you like Gavin and Stacey

then

Please, do treat yourself to this set.

My favourite scene, is where Mandy, who is desperately trying not to sleep around, lets herself down with a casual 'one nighter'. Her defense when challenged by the lads was, 'well, it seemed rude not to'...

I know that Samantha is highly intelligent in real life, but she certainly plays sensual naivity very well.

Enjoy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.00

Need customer service? Click here