Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
10
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2004
I Like this DVD. Alright, it's not the best ir could be, as both Vegas Job and Live at the Royal Albert Hall better this one by far, but it has it's moments. You Better, You Bet and Won't Get Fooled Again ranks as the best on here, but most of the other tracks come across adequately. All in all, The Who are far from the spent force some accuse them of being. Pino Palladino provides a great replacement for John Entwistle, and Zak Starkey reminds us just how much he's like Keith. All in all, not a patch on the Who at their best, but adequate.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
You know what? I'm sick of people claiming The Who are washed up. Anybody who has actually SEEN them recently as opposed to watched them on TV will know that they still have a lot of passion in their performance, and they still gain overwhelming admiration from the audiences they play to.

This performance was recorded just weeks after the death of John Entwistle. It's not their greatest performance...perhaps they still wern't used to turning around and not seeing John standing there with his bass. It's understandable. They had to get used to a slightly new sound with Pino Pallidino...a fine bassist in his own right. They're "backing band" are actually very well known. Rabbit has been with them for years. There's nobody who could drum like Keith Moon, but that doesn't mean Zak Starkey isn't a fine drummer in his own right.

People complaining that Roger doesn't sound as good as he used to? He's in his 60s...no 60 year old sounds like he did when he was in his 20s...absolutley nobody. Complaining that he doesn't swing his microphone around? Same answer. My dad is only in his 40s and HE wouldn't be able to swing his microphone around either (although, admittedly, he's not a singer).

The problem seems to be that people want The Who of 1971. But, its not 1971. People age. I'm glad Roger's not going crazy with the mic these days...lets face it, he'd look ridiculous and it would effect his voice. I'm glad Pete isn't going through the motions in his stage moves, the way the naysayers seem to want him to be. They seem happy doing what they are doing, and there are still a helluva lot of people who want to see them.

Is this The Who? Not really...there are 4 members of The Who. I've heard people comparing the current Who to Page and Plant...but Page and Plant didn't have all living members of Led Zep onstage with them, The Who do. However, I'm also not so ignorant of the way business works to know that The Who is like a brand name, and unless it says "The Who", people won't know who it is. And they need to break even financially.

So, to the naysayers...bite me...
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2008
I Can't Explain/Substitute/Anyway Anyhow Anywhere - what a start! A similar set list as to when I saw them in Glasgow with Entwistle. There are nice Quadrophia and Tommy sections thrown. All in all a decent DVD. Roger and Pete are full of energy and put on a good show. However, you can't help missing Moon and now Entwisle.

7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2012
I really ,suprisingly enjoyed this show....Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey were up there and determined to show they may be the survivors of the whats left of the baddest wildest band ever, but they are far from dead and finished. Daltreys voice was in good form for most of the time ,but he was dancing and swinging the mike ,good style, but Pete was in blistering form. Anybody who doubts that Townshend isnt one of the most powerful skilled creative guitarists and performers in rock watch him here. Townshend ,to me has always been the powerhouse of theWho, when he goes ,then its over. I enjoyed this show and if your a fan you wont be dissappointed and if your not a fan ,i think you'll be pleasantly suprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2004
This DVD shows the Who to be a shadow of their former selves. The same old songs are wheeled out yet again, but this time the absence of John Entwistle really shows the band to be a spent force. One can't blame them for taking the opportunity to make money if they can, but the fact that there is no creativity whatsoever evident is saddening. From rock pioneers to a golden oldies act, what a shame. There is the promise of a new album, but as Daltrey makes plain in his interview this will at best result in 4 new songs in the golden oldies set.
It is a pity that the band doesn't release some good archive footage,as per last year's Led Zeppeling package, to remind the world what a great band they were in their day. As with the band's own Encore CD releases of every concert performance of recent years, this DVD serves only to document a band well past it's sell by date. If only the marketing effort was put into releasing classic era material. Serving up ever diminishing quality performances on video coupled with repeated greatest hits audio releases will only damage the band's reputation further. For completist's only - for all others I recommend buying The Kids Are Alright or 30 Years Maximum R&B DVDs
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
who fans great sound recording. only 2 members alive when this one came out still as zag. and alot of hits. bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I will see You on December in London O2 with my wife. Can't wait!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
A good show, but John is sorely missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2005
the who which will always be pete townsend keith moon roger daltrey and john entwistle..not pete townsend and roger daltrey and some terrible back up band that makes the who sound like weak tribute band of there former glories..the bass player is dire the way he plays is just mediocre and bland at best john would be cringing if they wanted a good bass player to try and fill john's shoes which you can't..because he was one of the best bass players ever you couldn't of got chris[nirvana] he would of made a great replacement
then there's zak starkey's drumming what was pete saying that zak starkey surpresses keith moon's genius i think pete must be getting a bit confused in his old age
zak starkey is nowhere in the same league as keith moon..
even though keith used too teach him he hasn't got the passion
but atleast his better than kenny rogers...
now for rogers vocals and performance yeah he still sounds good are all these years but not great..i know he's getting old but come on..where's the swinging of the microphone what's with the stand this is not what's the who is about..
all in all a dire dvd from a band who should of hung there guitars up years before they've turn into the joke tribute band they are now..
the who sell-out..what a shame this is not rock and roll
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)