Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Two Pints of Lager & a Packet of Crisps - Series 3 & 4 [DVD] [2001]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 November 2017
dvd arrived quickly still funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2006
If only I could express how unbelivably hilarious this comedy is!Last few years on my trips to the UK, while late nights on the piss, I came across this sitcom! God I died of laughter! I demand this to be broadcast over here!!!!!!!!!
Muah!
Much love,
Mandy from Minnesota,MN,USA
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2005
This brand of comedy is clearly not aimed at everyone. Northern humour tends to be the order here, and it works much in the same vein as other titles such as The Royle Family. A lot of the people who criticize this as 'playground' humour and as having a cheap script and bad actors clearly miss the point. No, the writing is not as intelligent and in depth as 'The Office' (which i also enjoy) but it isnt meant to be...
One of the key factors in making a good sitcom series is creating believeable and lovable characters. Two pints fits the bill. Any northern lad can relate to characters such as Johnny and Gaz where life basically revolves around beer. I imagine females can also spot some striking similarites in their characters to those of Janet and Donna (maybe not Louise!) The jokes, although childish, can still bring a smile to the face more so because of how funny they are to the characters, not necessarily to you. The acting is not Oscar winning, but i doubt very much that the show would work if it were (I actually think Will Mellor is a great actor.) Simplicity is not always a bad thing.
If you enjoy The Royle family, (which Ralf Little also stars in but as a character with a completely different personna) you should give this a try. In my view, series 3 and 4 are much better than 1 and 2 with more memorable episodes. If you are a pretentious would-be TV critic who is only prepared to enjoy challenging and groundbreaking comedy then this will not be your cup of tea.
" Im not havin some old perv runnin after ya impressin ya with brunch. And yes i do know what it means and you wouldnt catch me wearin one college boy!"
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I ordered series 3,4 since it was the last the beep was making of this show.
i currently capped season 1,2 using my TV tunner card so i didn't need to buy the first 2 series.

the discs was not scratched, instantly worked as soon as i put them into my PC/DVD player.
The box is very sterdy so if you're like me and collect boxsets, there's no cardboard involved really strong plastic.

The only thing i am not to happy about is the price of these boxsets, they are a complete rip off in price.
But as for the quality of the media / case i was impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
I thought after the ending to the fourth series that they were gone, I was shocked to discover when channel hoping that they are back.
The characters are fantastic, for me, it is a British surrogate Friends, we don't produce many decent sitcoms in this country and this is one of very few great ones.
Louise is loopier than ever and the tangled lives of Janet and Johnny are hilarious. The characters are all fantastic and the casting is 100% spot on!
You will be left on the edge of your seats at the end, that is all I can say.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2004
the first episode i saw i loved this comedy, there isnt much new good comedies around, if you like the ones such as men behaving badly, royle family, the office and im alan partridge then this is another you should add to that list, its about 5 19/20 yr olds: Johnny, Janet, Gaz, Donna and Louise each episode would guarentee a laugh, series 3 is my favourite: janet quits smoking, johnny looks for a job with a classic scene with an oap and a roll of tissue, Gaz meets his brother munch (HIYA!!), louise meets david fish (wernt he tad on neighbours????) and Donna plans for a kinky night code word: Kangaroo!
there are some great episodes.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Absolutely brilliant - every episode reminds me why I love this series. Bit much for anyone with a delicate personality who doesn't like any swearing, but I find it hilarious and inoffensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
Well worth the money if it was twice the price, the Gorgeous Sheridan, Natalie and Kathryn and the Mighty Mellor all for the price of 3 Pints and a pkt of Crisps 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
A brilliant series with outstanding, continual humour.

The whole series gets better and better.

A must for any dvd collection.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
i chosed this rating cause it was interesting,there was nothing i disliked about this dvd and would recommend to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)