Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
138
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2004
It was always apparent that The Prodigy was 80% Liam Howlett, and 20% everyone else, however it's amazing what a difference that 20% makes. This album, (Which did take ages in all fairness) is good by anyone's standards, but is by no means great. But then following up "Fat of the Land" was never going to be easy, especially without Maxim and Keith Flint onboard.
My advice to anyone is to listen to "Girls" before buying this, because if you don't like it that much, the chances are the rest of the album will disappoint you. Howlett's new millenium sound still has all the raw energy that it always had, unfortunatly a lot of this energy is wasted through a fair bit of dodgy mixing. The result is basically; Prodigy music with a heavy twisted disco feel, provided by the Aphex Twin / Basement Jaxx style production. I know this all sounds a bit far-fetched, but "You'll Be Under My Wheels" really reminds me of "Right Here's the Spot" by the Jaxx, and some of the tracks have some mental Warped style mix ups, eg: the last minute of "Girls".
Howlett still provides some phat beats, and some quality psychadelic synths, but the overall tone of every song sounds vaguely similar, which is a shame when you condiser the variety that "Fat of the Land" had to offer.
But enough dwelling on the past. My advice is that if you are a massive Prodigy fan (or a big twisted disco fan) than this is well worth a try. But don't expect a repeat of the previous form that won The Prodigy such a notable reputation in the dance industry 7 years ago. While I'm on the subject, 7 years ago, a collaboration between Liam Gallagher and the Prodigy would have been the biggest thing to hit the music scene all decade, so it's a shame that "Shoot Down" creeps up now rather than then. Plus it's also one of the worst tracks onboard, which sucks because it seems to be made out of elements of a wicked hidden track they made called "Triggerful" which was quality.
Anyway, it's still well worth £10. My favourite tracks on the album have to be "Girls", "Wake Up Call" and "The Way It Is".
These 3 tracks are by far the most complete tracks, when you consider the blend of bass, beats and synth. And "Wake Up Call" features a wicked little vocal sample from Kool Keith who featured on the excellent "Diesel Power" from the previous album.
PS: Can anyone hear Julliette Lewis on the record? Send you're answer to this number: 0800-GET-A-JOB.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
To my opinion, this album is notably different from the three previous albums ("The Experience", "Music for the Jilted Generation" and "Fat of the Land") of the Prodigy. The songs are not as melodic nor do they have similar drums / rhythm. Rather the songs are more full of ... "rattle" (sorry I just cannot find a suitable word in English). With this, I mean that the music contains more electric guitar and, well, influence from punk than the songs on previous albums.

If you have an opportunity to listen the album before buying, I suggest that do not stick to the two first songs, as they are probably the most well-known songs from this album and do not reflect the album as a whole.

As a conclusion, the album is not poor... it is just very much different than what I expected and thus, one has to listen the album through several times before the songs begin to "open". Yet, from all the five albums (the previously mentioned three, this one and the "Invaders Must Die") published by the Prodigy, I have to say that this one earns the lowest grading (3/5 stars).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2004
Again, all the same stigma that preceeded the previous album, Fat Of The Land, and still all the same mixed reviews after the release. Its as simple as this, never has Liam produced two albums that are identical, and there are always the people holding onto how they remember how The Prodigy used to be.
This album is excellent. Full stop. I won't bore with a run through all the tracks, however, if you buy this with a pre-conception of it being like The Fat Of The Land or the Jilted Generation or even the Experience, then don't buy it, you'll only be disappointed.
After the disaster that was Baby's Got a Temper, it is a huge relief to see that Mr Howlett still has the knack of finding himself a new direction. Its for those of you who have grown up with the Prodigy from their early rave days to the downright filth of Fat Of The Land. This is the new direction, and for those of you open to change, this is 21st century Prodigy. Buy it, your life will be better, period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2004
After such a long time since the release of the groundbreaking Fat of the Land album, I was hoping for something similarly fresh and exciting from the Prodigy. Although there are some excellent tracks on Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned, in particular Spitfire and Girls, not all tracks are of such a high caliber and I cannot help but feel let down by the bands latest offering.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2004
i've been a prodigy fan (big fan) since they started and think this album is highly recomended!!!
many people say Prodigy has let them selves down with this one but i don't think so. when has prodigy EVER stuck to the exact same style as they did previously? they're really innovative and you'l always expect to hear something different from them and i think you'l see that when you listen to this!
it's great! very breakbeat and old school with the elctro feel to it and maybe some punk thrown in!
"You'll be under my wheels" is especially awesome in my opinion.
Don't think you'll regret buying this album if you're a true fan or even a "new" follower :o)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2005
What have I heard about this album? Its not the same as before, It was a mistake for Liam to go it alone, if Babys got a Temper is a sign of what the Prodigy would be doing if they had the full group then I'm glad its just Liam. Fat of the Land is a good pop album but it is Prodigy at there most listener friendly. I only mention this as most of the negative reviews compare AONO to FOTL, which is an unfair comparison. If you look at the album compared to the time it was released then all of 4 albums are top produced pieces of Electronica.
AONO is right on the button, top breaks with wonderfully colourful synths, this is an album that will confuse you the first time you listen but everytime after that it will find something new to love.
Great Album but if you expect FOTL then find some Punk cos this is a dance album through and through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
When you were as big as the Prodigy, or when you have peaked in terms of success as they have, it can be tough to make your comeback. 2002's Baby's Got a Temper certainly wasn't as bad as some people made it out to be. But how people made it out to be no doubt influenced Liam Howletts decision to scrap an albums worth of new material, and start again.

And, after a nightmare year of writers block, things started to come together for a man quite rightly referred to as a genius. Just look at the back catalogue, three excellent and differing albums preceding this, the Prodigy's fourth, to gain an idea why.

Anyway, Spitfire is a massive sign of intent. A thunderous opener, with crashing guitar stabs and a big, heavy beat, and shouty vocals not a million miles away from one Keith Flint. For him, and Maxim, are not included on this record. And straying away from the Prodigy formula, which includes those two, generally works quite well.

The next song, and first single, Girls is a hip-hop inspired slice of fuzzed out bass over a simple hook line and beat. And no, it's no Poison, but it's nice. Fresh even. There's nothing here as immediate as say, Firestarter, or 1996's No Good Start The Dance, but some perfectly acceptable modern dance music that blows hot and cold.

And it's loud. Very. In Maxim and Keiths place comes a line of guest vocalists, from Hollywood star Jullitte Lewis (who lends her tones to the un-Prodigy-like bounce of Hotride) to Oasis frontman Liam Gallagher, who has certainly sang on worse songs this side of the millenium. In fact the track in question, Shoot Down, is a highlight. Howletts description of the track - 'I wanted to chew Oasis up and spit them out Prodigy style' - is spot on, and the result is good, with an excellently menacing sneer of a vocal, if not great.

And that's really all there is to say about Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned. Good, but not great. But it's an important step for Liam and The Prodigy to make; a step away from The Prodigy everyone knows, and post The Fat of The Land, expect. With the frantic Wake Up Call and the insanely catchy, trippy Middle-Eastern vibe of Pheonix in tow, it's a decent step to take.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2004
Do not judge this album on first listen. It's a grower.
It has been coming a long time but it has finally happened. The Prodigy have dropped another full-length album, and once again have disturbed the popular music scene. The album has gone number one in the UK so a lot of people have heard this and I believe a lot of people will be influenced by the abilities of Liam Howlett. He has once again shown that the capabilities of electronic music has been heavily under rated. A lot of bedroom producers will certainly gain encouragement to express themselves after hearing this album and realising that the majority of it was written on a laptop.
There are a lot of retro elements being brought in by Howlett. Stand out tracks on the album are "Hotride" featuring Julliete Lewis, Action Radar with some mad man spitting some wacky vocals over a funky beat, and Get up Get off featuring a fast-spitting, angry, Twista in full flow letting you know that Prodigy are in control. Kool Keith also reminds us that Prodigy are back on form on the dirtiest track of the album - "Wake up Call"."The Way It Is" is the mashed and cyberly funked up view that Liam Howlett has always had Michael Jackson's Thriller.
Liam Howlett seems to have the ability to find just the right bleand between showing off electronic tweaking skills and tricks and writing a really solid musical composition. This ability certainly shines through on "Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned."
You have to own this, for this will certainly shape the future sounds of electronica. Some might not want to admit it, but deep down they will realise it is getting to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
I have been listening to Prodigy since i was 16. I am now 29. I was raving to 'Charlie' and 'Jericho' and 'everybody in the place' and 'Your love'. I loved everything that i believed the prodigy stood for. The music was always so powerful that it took me to another place. The agressive bass was second to none. No one could touch the prodigy. I still have a homemade cd with all the best tracks from all albums in my car. I'm trying to get to the point here. In my hoest opinion Spitfire is the only track that is the prodigy i know and love. This track will be the first single released and people will go out in droves to by the album and be dissapointed. This album is only out there to make money. It doesn't feel like its from the heart. I will love the prodigy until the day i die but when the band started to break up so has the music. Baby's got a temper is brilliant no matter what anybody thinks and Spitfire is along those lines. There are so many Prodigy tracks out there that when you here the intro, no matter where you are you get goose pimples all over. Sadly there is only spitfire that has this hook in me. The rest are uninspiring. I will not be buying this album which saddens me as i have seen them live and have been a lifelong fan but all the things that prodigy grew famous for are slowly dissapearing. Still, i've got my disc in my car.
Long live the prodigy. The best band in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2015
Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned seems like a return to form after The Prodigy's equivalent of What's the Story Morning Glory in the form of Fat of the Land. “Spitfire” is a huge opening track with enormous beats, massive bass hits and great distorted vocals, “Girls” is really funky and I like the fact that they are using original female vocals and seem to have sampled themselves in places (e.g. in “You’ll be Under my Wheels”).

The female vocals are most evident in “Hot Ride” which uses the familiar ‘up, up and away in my beautiful balloon’ lyric in a rather sleazy/sinister fashion and some nice grungy guitars. As well as familiar sounds there also seems to be an Arabian influence with lots of odd sounding strings and pipes (not that this wasn’t already creeping in during the previous album e.g. the Sisters of Mercy sounding female vocals in “Smack my Bitch Up”).

For me this album seems like a progression of The Prodigy sound rather than a cash cow and it stands up to repeated listening - it's a gift that just keeps giving. Admittedly after the joyous Michael Jackson “Thriller” style grooves of “The Way It Is” I usually skip the final, quite lame, track “Shoot Down” to get back to “Spitfire”.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)