Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
26
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2015
a great 2cd set packed with disco classics and cheap as chips
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Awful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Disco Classics is a stupendous sequence of dance hits across two CDs and goes to make up a kind of bible of disco. Compiled by Ministry of Sound and featuring a variable overlap from one track to the next, it approximates the effect of hearing the hits one after the other on the dance floor, and feels far "hotter" than most disco compilations. The sound has an incredible depth that is rare to find at home, and 12" versions allow them to breathe, however tight the rhythm. The sounds of the voices have a particular fascination heard side by side, for instance it is striking what a great voice Donna Summer had for this kind of material, and Hot Stuff is surely a giant track. Halfway through the first disc in Bohannon's Let's start to dance again, the sound of Carolyn Crawford sails out - uncredited on the track listing, but one of the most energising sounds ever to pass through human lips, a bit like Martha Wash or Loleatta Holloway. Here mixed with some pretty funky rapping. And if one can take any more of this high-octane stuff, Sylvester then goes through his paces in Do Ya Wanna Funk. Loleatta Holloway, who also has a voice like a tidal wave, later sampled by Black Box, sounds incredible in Love Sensation, as well as two other tracks, Runaway and Relight My Fire. Diana Ross sounds effortlessly laid back in her superb delivery of Upside Down and Love Hangover; she could hardly be more different from Amii Stewart, whose Knock on Wood remains one of the absolutely great disco songs. And there's Evelyn "Champagne" King, Thelma Houston incomparable also in Don't Leave Me This Way. Chic's Everybody Dance cannot be heard without going with it, showing if any track can that disco can strike a chord in one's very soul ... And how could one not fall in love with - and to - the Love Unlimited Orchestra with its sultry strings and squelching guitar beat? Ah, what an era it was, a decade when disco was a street boy with winged feet, and a quiver with enough arrows for all the world slung across his back, on the upper side of his rear like two soap bubbles ... there, then gone.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I wish I'd read the reviews beofre I bough this. I bought it today in Bristol in a shop called Head, ripped it to iTunes and started listening in great anticipation because of the track listing. I managed to listen to about 10 secs each of three or four tracks and then I had to give up. It appears that none of the tracks is original. What other people say is accurate. The whole thing is very poor and I feel conned. The only saving grace is that it only cost me £3. It's going to a charity shop tomorrow, but I'll tell them to charge £1, although that is still probably 99p too much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
I can't even find the very small print that says this is a live recording! Demon Records - Hang your collective heads in shame. The music industry - you included - complains about illegal downloads, but when stuff like this is foisted onto the few who do pay for their music, it's no wonder we're a shrinking minority.

Guys at Amazon, I don't know if you have the technology, but if you do then bar this piece of trash - and if possible boycott Demon altogether until they withdraw it from the market!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
Disco Classics - the Ultimate Collection THE SELLER AND THE RECORD COMPANY SHOULD MAKE IT MUCH CLEARER THAT MOST OF THE TRACKS HAVE BEEN RE-RECORDED. THIS CD IS JUST RUBBISH.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
Was really looking forward to having a car boogie with this compilation. It's not quite what you might think. The versions are either bizarre ones that sound like they're covers, or live versions. I love live music but when you buy a disco comp you just want to hear the old classics, exactly as they are!

Don't go there if you want a comp of the old faithfuls!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2008
The tracks are 'live' recordings (says this in very small print!)The quality is very poor
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
Amazon have let themselves down badly, not just for actually selling this rubbish, but more importantly for not telling buyers that these are not the original recordings and just some rubbish re recordings or poor live versions. Come on Amazon we expect better from you!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
I am extremely disappointed by this CD collection. These are not the original hits, but mostly shabby live recordings of extremely bad quality. I find it unbelievable that Amazon sells this junk.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)