Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12


on 19 December 2014
Great album with classic tracks from a superb duo who have kept up a phenomenal rate of quality music over the years.No wonder they are the best selling duo in history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
good cd had a hard time finding it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2017
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2011
In what seems like an endless supply of 80s revivals, Big Bam Boom is often overlooked. But it's an absolute masterpiece of power pop. Whether it's Arthur Baker's masterpiece of Hall and Oates' is hard to determine. Ideally this album would have been reissued as one of those 'deluxe' double packs, with a second disc featuring the songs in their original pre-Baker demo form (if they exist).

As things stand it's impossible to seperate production from songwriting. So sample-heavy - Arthur Baker utilising a lot of latin freestyle techniques - yet the songs never actually disappear into flash (then hitech) mixing strategies. The drums are enormous (Baker would go on to perfect this sound in his 12" mix of Fleetwood Mac's 'Big Love'). Yet for all its grand production, Big Bam Boom oozes quality songwriting. Obvious standout tracks are the hit singles 'Out of Touch' and 'Method of Modern Love', also included as bonus 12" mixes; revealing just how smart Baker was, able to turn power pop into club anthems without abandoning the original soundscape.

So much for my efforts at relatively objective rational commentary. Truth is, the sun came out, I stuck this in the CD player, kicked up the volume, jumped around grinning like a fool - totally charmed.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2006
My wifes car only has a tape player, so hunting under the stairs I found this album. I have binned most tapes from this era, but relistening to this one was a joy! Hall and Oates are best known for soul, but this album is pure pop/dance, brought alive by talented vocals and great arrangements. The amazon review is spot on - Once you have listened to this album you cannot get half of the tunes out of your head! I had to get the CD!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2010
Some great tracks on this CD, takes me back to the listening to it on my first Sony Walkman (on cassette, of course). If you're re-building your 80s collection back up on CD, this is one that has to be included - fantastic songs, fantastic production.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
Very good album by Hall & Oates. Quick delivery and of good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2015
Pleased with item and prompt service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2015
excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Voices
£12.15
Big Bam Boom
H2o
£11.57
Daryl Hall & John Oates
£6.28

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)