Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2007
I've watched this a couple of times with my son and we've enjoyed it every time.

It wasn't as educational as I originally expected. The emphasis is more on the storyline however the filming is a joy to watch.

It would have been nice to refer the viewer to a website address at the end of the film so that we can keep up to date with what happened next. I assume the tigers are still living in the sanctuary and I would have liked to know more about the sanctuary and the lives of the gamekeepers who work there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2003
Another fantastic natural history documentary from the BBC. This really is their forte. The film follows the fortunes of a successful and devoted mother tiger and her three cubs in an Indian nature reserve. You get a clear sense of the trials of her life- at long last defended from poachers by the elephant patrols of the park rangers, she also has to face the possibility of attacks from wild dogs or male tigers trying to take over the territory and its females. It is easy to see why this beautiful and elusive creature has become so rare (although the loss of natural habitat at the hands of man does not get mentioned here). The camera work is brilliant, as is the commentary. The story itself is gripping as the lion seeks to defend its three cubs. There are moments of both tragedy and triumph- but I won't spoil the plot by telling you what happens. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
this is lovely, i try only to buy dvd's that i think i can watch over again through the years and i made the right choice buying this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
This story depicts Lakshmi the tigress' struggle to survive and raise her young in the wild.

It is beautifully shot and wonderfully narrated. I was left wanting more when the end credits started rolling!

Please note this feature seeks to highlight the trials and tribulations of tigers in the area. It is not meant to be a fluffy DVD to "ohh" and "ahh" over. Don't get me wrong it is funny and touching at times, but it is also real and there are a few bits which are gruesome to highlight the real dangers faced from other tigers. Another reviewer gave this a one star because of this, but to me this adds to the quality of the feature.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes tigers and wildlife. Buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2006
I came across this wonderful work when it was aired on BBC 4. It was listed as an hour long program & referred to as "A Wildlife Special", usually code for not very special at all by programme pushers.

Even with David Attenborough billed as the narrator (he does not present or appear except holding a tiger cub at the very beginning) I prepared myself to watch not expecting much at all, but instead was greeted with this masterpiece of a work.

The quality of the photography is utterly superb. If you've a decent TV or a Plasma/LCD you'll relish the extremely sumptuous glorification of colour throughout.

There are no wasted scenes or seconds of footage. Every image has direct & pressing relevance to the story being told which unfolds in a relaxing manner allowing the viewer to really 'feel' what is being portrayed.

The music score is masterful too. There is a fantastic long shot at the start of the piece which zooms in from miles away to a warden on an elephant walking through the forest timed absolutely perfectly as they emerge into a clearing against the natural greens and orange of the surroundings. Film making of a very high order indeed.

I was totally taken aback by the warmth and feeling of this portrayal - the story of which is adequately dealt with by other reviews here.

Sadly, at the start of the closing credits it states that one of the main photographers (Chip Houseman) died before seeing his own undoubtedly superb work on this programme.

Rent it or buy it. Either way it's a steal at the price. I have watched it many times now, and it just gets better.

David Attenborough is as always perfection itself in his role as narrator being able to properly convey the appropriate level of gravitas, emotion and tragedy for the events that take place here.
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2001
This video takes you on a privileged visit into the private life of the awesome tiger.
Sadly a seriously endangered species, these particular tigers have been given protected freedom within the Project Tiger Scheme in a wildlife reserve in the Madhya Pradesh.
You follow with the Park Rangers, a female tiger and her cubs to watch her daily battle to defend and protect her territory to ensure their survival.
This video shows just how magnificent this cat is;
but also how vulnerable in its natural enviroment.
Captured on film undisturbed by the presence of the camera, the tigers allow you to view them as they really are.CAPTIVATING!!
Narrated brilliantly by David Attenborough, this video is a must have for all wildlife fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2005
The documentary is set in Kanha National Park in central India - a sanctuary that I have been to dozens of times. It is a place that all Tiger enthusiasts should see at least once in their lifetimes.
The documentary is superb. I have recorded videos of Tigers in Kanha and can vouch for the difficulties one faces when filming in a thick deciduous forest that is almost impenetrable in places. In addition to the excellent footage, there is a good story which reaches a climax at the end.
All in all, a great video and probably the best documentary on this fast vanishing species available on the market.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Brilliant documentary, (Was expected from BBC) anybody who loves the big cats, especially the poor seriously endangered Tigers, should own this, just to see what they go through daily in their natural habitat just basically to bring up & feed a family...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
Tiger- this is a fantastic film ,defenetly worth 5 stars, about a tigeress and her 3 trouble makking cubs, Its the first time the bbc managed to film the Tigers world in this detail. Its a story of good fortune the mother provides for her cubs untill she is forsed away by a new egresive male, then the cubs are on there own, wild dogs, spotted dear and langre monkeys also star in this special film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)