Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2004
This is a superb addition to the growing Hummel discography. The performamces (esp of the C major concerto) are stunningly vivid and lively. The concerto is heavily influenced by Mozart in the 1st 2 movements but of course the piano part is much more expansive. The 2 concert rondos are very attractive. Only the later piece is actually a first recording as the OP 56 piece was released in 2000 on the Koch Schwann Label (I have a copy!)
Anyone interested in early romantic piano concerti should definiteley snap this release up immediately. You will not be disappointed
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
I am a regular listener to classical music programmes and I must admit that I had never heard this music until a few weeks ago and I cannot understand why it is not played more often. For anyone who loves the piano it should be an essential component of their collection. I suppose that Hummel entered the composing 'business' at a time when Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn were at their prime and as a consequence he didn't get a 'look in'. I just love this CD and now intend to explore more of Hummel's work.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
ditto the earlier reviewer - this is idiomatic and mozart/early-beethoven (slightly light) but edifying, communicative, touching and vivid in its own right. If you want to add to a cherished collection of Beethoven and Mozart piano concertos then you can't go far wrong with this, it certainly doesn't gather dust on my shelf.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This well recorded disc from 2003 forms part of the series of Hummel's piano concertos performed with sympathetic style and considerable virtuosity by Howard Shelley. The concerto on this disc is a large conception and was the first of Hummel's concertos which was evidently intended to be an impressive calling card from a new player on the block so to speak.

This status of Hummel should not be dismissed too lightly by modern audiences as Hummel achieved considerable success both as a pianist and as a composer throughout his life and earned the respect of Beethoven in both regards amongst others. He also held influential posts at court. Generally his music was aimed at giving pleasure rather than education. Consequently it falls easily on the ear and is lyrical in nature. There are cascades of notes to provide entertainment, especially including trills and triple trills - acrobatic feats popular at the time.

Since his death, Hummel's star has waned but, as this series plainly shows, his music is well written and well with enjoying for what it is. This would also apply to the two Rondos on this disc as well as his various pieces of chamber music available elsewhere. I would suggest that he could be described as a top quality second rank composer. A similar description could be applied to Spohr, Berwald, Krommer and Crusell for example. All of these composers still reward listeners with plenty of musical reward.

I would therefore suggest that this well played and recorded disc is certainly worth investigating and it is unlikely that the contents are likely to be better delivered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
I've always had a soft spot for Hummel as one of a group of excellent composers that have been unjustly overshadowed by their contemporaries Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert. I hadn't heard his piano concerto in C, but what a revelation! Highly tuneful, well crafted and unjustly neglected. Oh, and it's well played too. If you like music of the classic era, this is to be thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
The credit is really due to Herr Hummel. This is a beautiful composition and the playing is superb. It is great for either background music or to sit and liisten with full attention. My wife and I play it almost every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
Discovered on Classic FM, CD found on Goggle, ordered, delivered quickly, free, in perfect condition by Amazon. A perfect system. Suits me fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
The first time I heard music by Hummel was earlier this year, what a revelation. This is a beautiful recording, I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
A very good quality and it was immensly enjoyed by my Father who the pruchase was for - many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
good but maybe not excellent quality recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)