Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 1 August 2014
Yea I like Razorlight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2007
Does it really matter whether an artist or band is flavor of the month, or the latest hype by institutionalised promotion?

Well I only caught up with Razorlight from the Live 8 concert, and instantly recognised that there was more to this band and their sound than just an image, fad... whatever you may like to call it. On the back of that, I got hold of their studio output and listened deeper. Was I dissapointed? Nah! Only invigorated. Loved the many differing tunes and after also getting hold of a couple of DVDs, loved their live selves.

Golden Touch, Stumble and Fall plus of course Somewhere Else. Fine tunes, fine performance, knockout album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 October 2013
I do prefer Razorlight's more mainstream material, which can be found in their two subsequent album releases, but 'Up All Night' was a promising and memorable debut.

Almost half of the songs were released as singles, and although each track is obviously it's own, you can't help but get the feeling that they all belong together. If you like The Strokes and Kings of Leon, this is the Razolight album to buy. It is exciting, fun and catchy, with very few mellow moments to be found.

The band's front man Johnny Borrell was rather arrogant (but good for him!) during the release of this album, which is surprisingly almost ten years old now, and proclaimed himself to be a ''songwriting genius''. I don't know if I'd go along with that completely, but songs like 'Vice' and 'Golden Touch' are certainly great fun to listen to. Track seven, 'Don't Go Back To Dalston' is a hidden gem, and among my favourite Razorlight songs.

Personally, I favour the self titled second album, but 'Up All Night' rides high on passion and energy. It isn't the most varied of albums, the sound remains pretty much the same throughout, but there isn't anything wrong with that. In all, 'Up All Night' is an impressive debut from one of my favourite bands from 'back in the day'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2011
Razorlight started getting exposure back in the early 2000s with their catchy, and anthemic, songs, including Golden Touch, and Stumble and Fall; both of which show the band producing the kind of punk rock n' roll to get excited about. With their debut album, Up All Night, the entire album proves that Razorlight are making some music that can please a good chunk of the music-buyers, with their memorable, but lacking edginess, kind of punk pop music.
The album really kicks off with their major hit at the time, Golden Touch, to their melodically thrashing To the Sea. These tracks make Razorlight have such a following. This is because their songs have catchy rhythm, executed lyrically by their vocalist. The rest of the albums have all the elements of a fine Indie punk album from that era. Therefore, for track for track, this album packs a punk-like punch for its listener.
Up All Night sounds like an entertaining album in their now thriving back-catalogue of music that is guaranteed to get a crowd on their feet in their ever popular live sets. This album will remain a fine place to hark back to their punk roots as a band, as they continue to thrive into the next decade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2007
After hearing Razorlights 2nd record and enjoying it at the time. I decided to buy this debut offering, and after hearing this record i decided to listen to razorlight again and i found out that it actually isn't that good, Johnny Borrell's lyrics are heavily influenced by Pete Doherty and Carl Barat formely of The Libertines. Unlike 2006's Razorlight which is trying to be a album with a U2 epic scope, but this album is trying and succeds to be a album full of Libertines influnced tunes about London nights and romance. The first Track Leave Me Alone isn't the greatest opening to an album, although it is catchy enough to be a decent opening to the album. Rock N Roll Lies was the first single Razorlight did and is a great first single that should have got higher in the charts while Vice is a perfect example of the London influence in Borrell's lyrics, even though he makes out to be Bob Dylan(which he cleary isn't) he does on this album prove to be a fine Songwriter. Up all Night is one of my favourites on the album a slow title track. Which way is out is a decent if not outstanding song while Rip it Up is a classic Razorlight song.Dalston is a great song, a great guitar riff, even though the lyrics are not amazing. The albums classic Golden Touch is a live favourite and a Razorlight classic, the Razorlight breakthrough. Stumble and Fall is another great song. I find Get it and Go a poor song really, preety good, but a bit boring, not much excitement. In The City is my favourite, an epic song about London life with some great lyrics "The Boys Are in The Bar mixing up there medicine and the girls are in there mobiles tryin' to get reception" great tune, which To the sea is like Get it and Go, a boring song, Fall,Fall,Fall is decent ballad and the bonus track is the classic Somewhere Else a classic Razorlight tune that ends a fine debut album.

Key Tracks:Rock N Roll Lies,Vice,Rip it Up,Up all Night,Golden Touch,Stumble and Fall,in The City,Somewhere Else

Also Buy:The Libertines "The Libertines"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2005
Sparkling, clean, simple, energetic, tuneful, punky. Imaginitive lyrics, excellent vocals and guitar work but special mention to the drumming on these tracks - it really is cracking. The guitar & vocals remind me very much of Tom Verlaine's Television, particularly their Marquee Moon album - but with more energy - and I also get hints of Jarvis Cocker, Dylan and The Spin Doctors (whatever happened to them by the way?). A great debut album, deservedly successful. And lucky me, I've got the release with the bonus track, which I've listened to a dozen times and ain't tired of yet! To you Teenage Whingers, doom-laden hamsters etc. who bought the earlier release - look, it's seven quid - shuddup and go and buy another one! And think yourself lucky - I'm 54 but I don't go on about it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2004
Even the bad bits of said culture.
Although I'm afraid you're not going to hear anything you haven't heard a million times about Razorlight, I hope I can encapsulate most of the views about this funky indie album by saying that it's really good, but frankly completely derivative.
This album deserves plenty of praise for its catchy lyrics and riffs in its own right, and Borell has put both a successful band and an exemplary album together.
This is not to say that you can't hear these songs in a rawer form by more acccomplished artists - the Clash, Cure, Stones, Bowie, Cream - well, just about anyone. Borell's 'arrogance' is so widely reported, harped about and declaimed that "Up All Night"'s sales have shot through the roof, leading me to believe that he is a very clever man, and if he isn't, I don't see that he'll give a damn while his records sell like hot cakes.
The pure adolescent energy present in every track is the real selling point here, and in my humble opinion more than makes up for the highly derivative nature of the songs. If you have a beef with artists being ripped off then fine, but tell me these tracks aren't just as addictive as any of those of the Strokes or the Libertines and you're either lying or letting your bias cloud your judgement. Give it a listen and then judge it, I beg you! Anyone can grow to love this album for its playability alone, so let your sensibilities lie and like it for what it is - incredible fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2004
When I first heard "Stumble and Fall" on the radio months ago, I thought it was a great song. The name Razorlight didn't appear for a while then untill I read in a magazine about Johnny Borrell's declaration about his genius. Which made me dislike the band.
But upon buying this album, that all changed. This is awesome and definately the album of the summer, possibly the year. With the immiment arrival of The Libertines' second album, Razorlight may be overshadowed by their fellow Londoners, but it'll take nothing away from this album. It has all the makings of a great debut album.
As has been quite regular with great debuts, the title track is amazing. Just like with The Strokes and The Libertines, the title track is an amazingly well written song, both lyrically and musically. The singles definately stand out. Although Borrell's lyrics may be quite "what you see is what you get" (or maybe "what you hear is what you get") i.e. one-dimensional, "Golden Touch" is beautifully written. There is nothing wrong with one-dimensional lyrics so long as they are good, and the excellent storytelling of the "Girl with the Golden Touch" is as cooly romantic as anything done by The Libertines, the band that people say they are imitating.
My personal favourite however is "In The City". An amazing story again, with the superb diversity in the pace of their music and also an absolutly awesome guitar riff make this song the standout one. Infact, the riff is probably the most pleasing 15 seconds or so on the album and also the part where you are guaranteed to just go absolutly mental to, whether you are driving or partying.
A 4-star rating only because of the fact that the lyrics are pretty one-dimensional and also that the dreaded fade-out is incorporated too much! But without those two flaws, there would be no room for improvement. Enjoy this album for a long time untill album two comes out. The stories told are excellent and the music is delicious!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2005
From being hailed as one of a number of promising indie / punk bands courted by the music press in 2004, Razorlight have emerged into the mainstream in 2005, becoming a major Summer festival draw and leaving the others behind. The reasons for this are partly the band’s unshakeable belief in themselves and partly due to the quality of the songs on this debut album.
Up All Night is full of scruffy rock’n’roll songs with good sparse arrangements making them relatively easy to reproduce live. There are certainly elements of indie and punk but for me the album has just as much of a Stones-y swagger. Furthermore, singer and mainman Johnny Borrell sounds uncannily like Bob Geldof – an interesting comparison as, like Razorlight, the Boomtown Rats emerged as part of a movement but were not afraid to have wider, more mainstream ambitions.
Some of the highlights of Up All Night include the singles Golden Touch and Stumble & Fall as well as the piano-led opener Leave Me Alone. The sound is lo-fi, stop-start indie rock until we get to the final track which is altogether much grander. Somewhere Else was released as a single in early 2005 and added to this Special edition. It’s an epic string-laden ballad, reminiscent of the finest work by The Verve and had critics musing that the band had finally found a sound as big as the lead singer’s ego!
It will be interesting to see if Razorlight’s second album continues this epic trail or will they return to the looser sound of the rest of Up All Night? Whichever path they choose, Up All Night will remain an excellent debut, full of catchy, sleazy rock’n’roll.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2004
after seeing razorlight supporting suede last year i wasn't impressed at all,in fact i thought they were awful. then i heard the excellent singles golden touch and stomping rip it up and i had to buy the album.this a great debut, every song a highlight and after several listens it really gets under your skin.they've been compared to the libertines but personally i think they are much better and along with keane, hope of the states and scissor sisters have released one of the best albums of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)