Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
61
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2017
I enjoyed this. A quite slow film which doesn't really do very much but a gentle watch all the same. Very young Colin Firth and Kenneth Brannagh star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Wonderful to have this brilliant film available again, quiet, reflective and endlessly watchable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2016
I love this film. Read the book years and years ago and the film on video but needed to change to dvd /bluray as video players now extinct. Life after WW1 for two very different men, both broken and tortured souls who are survivors and surving despite all. Love it, love it, love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Great acting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Very atmospheric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
A forgotten classic. Three great performances from Firth, Branagh and, most especially, the late Nathasha Richardson. She was a much underrated actor. Watch her performance in "Suddenly Last Summer" if you are in any doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
One of my favourite films ever. Glorious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Channel 4 Channel 4! What will it take for you to re-issue this exquisite and beautiful film? Why am I reduced to watching sections, piece by piece, on youtube, rediscovering the moving depths and undercurrents of this heartbreaking story when it deserves to be seen at it's best? Although I find peculiar comfort in comparing this fragmented viewing experience to the jobs of Birkin and Moon in the film itself, as they slowly uncover a medieval wall painting and dig for bones outside the churchyard, I'm left astonished at how such an important and enchanting film is out of circulation. I will continue to return to the book, but the film makers knew what they were doing when they melded this glorious adaptation.
And we've just had the centenary of WW1 for goodness sake! What a fitting tribute it would have been to re-issue the DVD. You've missed a trick channel 4. But please get round to it soon. I have visions of our ancestors, digging for evidence of this film in Oxgodby, 600 years from now.....
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2001
One of the best films by either Firth or Brannagh. Beautifully filmed and one which captures the primitive attitudes of a rural community in the 1920's. One's heart goes out immediately to Birken (Firth)as the WW1 soldier struggling to come to terms with life after war and Brannagh's excellent portrayal of a man determined to 'keep on smiling' through his own tortuous journey back to normality. A truly lovely film which I will easily watch again and again - the scene in which both Firth and Brannagh are having lunch on a sunny day in the churchyard makes one feel one is there with them also laying on one's back, face up to the sky chewing a blade of grass - bliss!
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
A Month in the Country (DVD + Blu-ray)
The film itself is lovely, and has been reviewed by numerous others as well as on the various movie websites. I won't add my own plot summary or review and concentrate solely on the technical aspects of the BFI DVD +Blu-ray edition I purchased (see product link above).

You get both the DVD and Blu-ray disc in one case. Depending on how you watch your movies, you may be buying and paying for an extra disc that's no good to you. The film is nicely restored, the picture is clear and the colours are very vibrant. The sound is good, but due to the rather strong (Yorkshire?) accent of many of the characters, some viewers may need the (optional) subtitles to help them understand every word of the dialogue. This is not a complaint, the film is set in Yorkshire and the accents are appropriate and add to the charme of the film.

One shortcoming of the DVD is the absence of a scene/chapter selection in the menu. If you want to find a particular scene you have to navigate blindly by skipping forward or backward until you find it.

A nice feature are the recent interviews included in the extas, about 20 mins with director Pat O'Connor and 40 mins with lead actor Colin Firth, both looking back at the film some thirty years after its release.

There is also a feature length commentary with film historians Julie Kirgo and Nick Redman, which plays without the audio track of the film. A pity, because at times it would be nice to hear the dialogue of scenes that are being discussed. Some of the commentary is interesting, but personally I would have prefered a commentary by the director and/or lead actors. The choice of an American lady who struggles with the word "Buckinghamshire" (one of the filming locations) as main commentator seems odd. Ms Kirgo's suggestion to just go with "B-shire" for convenience is cringeworthy. From that point on, she had lost all credibility as a competent expert as far as I am concerned. And much as I enjoy Colin Firth's performance here and respect him as an actor in general, her prattling on about how young and beautiful he is here, was getting on my nerves. I cannot think why the BFI choose this particular lady as commentator.

Having said all that, I enjoyed the film very much and will likely watch the DVD again in the future, but definitely not with the comments track selected.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)