Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
55
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Best Years of Our Lives [DVD] [1946]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping


on 26 April 2017
Very good dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
This is just the Magic Moments documentary repackaged and renamed steer clear if you already have this and don't fall into the same trap I did assuming this was a new documentary
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
A beautifully made Human story. Loved every minute of it. Unfortunately two movies out the ten I ordered had problems with the lip synching. Forbidden Planet was AWFUL, but this disk was really annoying too. As the movie progressed it got worst. Really disappointing. At the end I just closed my eyes and listened to the soundtrack. Delivered promptly and well packaged.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
Anyone who hasn't seen this film will be agog to discover at the end of it that they've sat through around 160 minutes.

The clutch of Oscars for this film only does partial justice to the sheer integrity and super acting of everyone in it. I defy even the stoniest-hearted person not to get a damp eye or lump in the throat at times, especially watching Homer with his girlfriend and Fred and Al discussing what to do next. And yet there are plenty of occasions for fun and laughter too.

Extraordinarily moving and memorable. If the film industry had one film as its ever-lasting tribute, this would be it for my money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Though we had a plethora of films about troops returning from the Vietnam war and trying to re-integrate back into their societies, most of which were hard-hitting, angry voices against War, here is arguably the original - and best.

Definitely a family orientated movie (Cert U) this will appeal to and find favour with all ages, but don't start thinking that this is all gooey, slushy nonsense. There's some quite hard-hitting topics covered, even by today's standards and of course, with our minds on our current troops in Iraq/Afghanistan, equally relevant.

Multi-stranded, which each of the three G.I.'s immediate and extended families and friends being examined, it's about them coping, with varying degrees of success, with home life and getting jobs, now that the War is ended. It's the little observations and stories around them that are so fascinating, as the Heroes of yesterday are now anything but when it comes finding new purpose in a changed world.

The cast is exemplary, not necessarily the biggest stars of the day but the most believable and natural for their roles. Dana Andrews, Myrna Loy and Fredric Marsh are the ones most easily recognisable and their appearances convey a sort of reassuring familiarity and normality. They're all excellent, of course.

Though long, at nearly 3 hours, William Wyler's easy going and assured and tight direction keeps things flowing nicely and it never drags. This, my second viewing, is an enjoyable one as the first and if anything I'm more at ease with it.

Though obviously not as exciting or dramatic as other 'normal' war films, it's a tragedy that it's not more well known. I've never seen it to ever have been on TV, or to my recollection, even Sky Movies, for that matter. Any movie that won 7 Oscars and is currently no. 180 on IMDb's films of all time, voted by its voters (us, the public) is hardly one of minority interest.

A friend I lent my DVD to watched it with his family and normally they only go for current films, or ones they know, but they not only enjoyed it, but felt enormously moved by it, too.

If you haven't seen The Best Years... yet, make a mental note to do so. Your life won't change by doing so, but it really is worth the 3 hours of it that it will take. You certainly can't say the same about every film out there....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Hadn't seen this one in years, but it just blew me away. Fabulous cast and a fine story. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a good story.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
three men come home from the war, and find it difficult to pick up where they left off.It stars fredric March,myrna
Loy,Teresa Wright,Dana Andrews and Virginia Mayo and also Harold Russell a( non actor trained handless veteran)and directed by William Wyler.Its high quality film making in the 40s and the characters a little obvious at times but are superbly well cast and they work well enough to make them seem real.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
This film is quite simply my favourite film of all time . The 163 minutes pass by in no time and the fact it won 7 academy awards is a further pointer . The story is simplistic ...3 American serviceman return from war duty with a mixture of relief at coming home to fear at how their families will react to their reappearance after years away with differing outcomes...the signature performance for me is from the disabled serviceman who was plucked from total obscurity to play this role and whose story is the most poignant . The direction from William Wyler is magnificent and a further delight is the musical score which undoubtedly squeezes every ounce of emotion from your body as you watch the film cover a mutliplicity of scenarios that beset the returning serviceman and their loved ones at that time .I am a relatively stereotypical middle-aged man who keeps his emotions in check and in the last 30 or so years that has passed since first watching the film (I have seen it at least 15 times over the years ) it has brought tears every time ...a masterpiece it truly is and I heartily recommend it to anyone who wants to look at a definitive reflection of the emotional side of war when heroes who have served their country (try to) return to the physical and emotional ties of their civilian life .Yes , it is over 50 years old and dated to many but as someone who is a genuine film buff who has watched and enjoyed many genres of films made from all decades this one is my all-time favourite . Buy it and enjoy ....
33 Comments| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Whilst there are no decent extras on the disc you have a superb print of a film which has always been one of my favourites given the superb performances delivered by the entire cast, stunning direction by Wyler and one of my all time favourite film scores by Hugo Friedhofer. This film should simply be on the shelf of every movie lover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2007
Captivating film that has stood the test of time. Great storyline and acting. The film also has a positive message about life which many current films dont have. Really enjoyed it. Uplifting. Recommended.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)