Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2004
My best friend at comprehensive school in the late 70's was a big Rush fan. I could never understand his fascination with them, likewise him of my retrograde mining of albums by Cream, Buffalo Springfield and a host of other 60's acts ("but this song lasts less than three minutes!" he once said aghast).
Some 25 years later things have come full circle with this amazing release. Why is it amazing? Well: -
1. The playing is incredible
2. They stick to the original versions both in style and timing
3. The choice of songs is first rate
4. You can tell that they really love this stuff!
5. At 30 minutes it doesn't overstay it's welcome
6. The artwork is a nod to those fabulous late 60's psychedelic posters
I can almost forgive Rush for all that stuff about Trees, and maybe my friend from all those years ago can finally appreciate what I was getting at when I played him "Crossroads".
Go buy this, it's great and you won't be disappointed whether you're a Rush fan or whether you just love that late 60's rock sound.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2005
Having been a Rush fan for most of my life, I was a little sceptical about this offering. It wasn't until I watched the R30 dvd, which includes some of these tracks, that I realised what I was missing. This is a real gem of an album. It might initially feel a little odd to hear Rush playing such short tracks, but they cover these songs beautifully. And, whilst they're pretty much sticking to the orginal arrangements, their legendary muscianship gives these versions the edge over anything anyone else has done with these songs. Actually, they're a lot better than the original versions too. Stand out tracks are The Seeker, Mr Soul and Crossroads. Buy this. And buy the R30 dvd too to see them perform these tracks live. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2006
not only have RUSH proved they are one of the world's top rock bands with their own material here they have released an EXCELLENT bunch of covers. SUMMERTIME BLUES and THE SEEKER will definitely have everyone jumping around with their air guitars, every track is a brilliant piece of work and among my all-time fave classics....well done guys! can we have some MORE!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
5 star quality cd from a 5 star quality band, only complaint would be length of it. I'm sure it could have had a few more tracks put on, but hey still a brill cd. you just have to play it twice everytime .Cheap enough and speedy delivery make a good deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
an album of covers - why not ?
from the opening stomp of the blue cheer cover of summertime blues to the rather excellent closer of crossroads(listen to the 3rd guitar solo for the wonderful geddy lee bass counterpoint(beat that jack bruce )this album rocks.
the sound is clear,uncluttered and very powerful.even my wife (who is not a big fan of rush)said "this is very catchy "!!!
the songs stay true to their origins but have that distinctive rush sound.nice to hear untreated drums and alex releasing all those years of no solos on recent rush albums on this E.P.
this is a refreshing listen for all fans of real music - roll on the u.k. 2004 tour - i can,t wait.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
This is a phenomenal album - much more than a tribute to the 60's songs they have reinvented here. Rush show themselves to be at their best with short snappy SONGS not the interminable noodling of their other recent albums. This is the best thing they've done since Counterparts in 1993 - more of the this kind of thing please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
This is not a normal Rush album, to commemorate their thirty years together the lads returned to their "roots" and paid tribute to those they had learned from (their words, not mine).
These cover versions are Summertime Blues, Heart Full Of Soul, For what It's Worth, The Seeker, Mr. Soul, Seven And Seven Is, Shapes Of Things, and last but not least, Crossroads.
I personally like Rush's version of, The Seeker & Summer Time Blues.
Keep On Truckin' lads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
I've been listening (and playing their songs) for twenty years now. They have been through quite a few changes over the years both musically,and in their personal lives as well. But one thing I knew that I could count on is that they would be back ,and throw everyone a curve ball with a spin on it. Alas, something that was totally unexpected, a list of tunes they played as teenagers. Thank's for your memories to share with the rest of us. Nuff said.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2004
Well, who'd of thought it; after 30 years Rush get round to recording a collection of cover versions! Great, unfussy production shows Rush at their most energetic and heartfelt. This collection is no cynical money maker but shows a genuine affection for the artists covered. The Rush musicianship flourishes are still there: superb interplay between the three make the covers original and will give many hours of enjoyment, Good fun too! It will be interesting to see how this and their last album Vapor Trails informs their next, particularly production wise. Look forward to seeing them in the UK. Just wondered whether they intend to release a single from this?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
Being a huge Rush fan, I was more than a bit concerned that it would be difficult for the band to cover some of these tracks whilst imparting their unique sound and style. How wrong I was.
Some new intro's and a nice deep throaty tone thoughout help to give the feeling that the guys really enjoyed puttin' this together.
Highs are The Seeker and a cracking version of Crossroads. Not too sure about Seven and Seven is though.
All in all - if you like Rush, you will love it just for the sound. If you like the tracks from previous versions - go buy it, and then but the Rush back catalogue. If you're not sure but are intrugued - go get it, it'd better than you will expect.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)