Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
270
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Change
Price:£23.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2006
This is an extremely useful addition to any Duplo collection.
Not only does it hold bits of Duplo still making them easier to be added to, it encourages 3-D building for children who have a tendency to build 2-D 'towers'.
Can be linked together with other plates of the same or different colours to create towns, beaches etc. and stretch young imaginations.
Also very useful when you are putting Duplo away. Just stick all the blocks onto the board and you have a solid lump of Duplo, reducing the loss of small parts.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 January 2006
Once you have this board you can firmly attach your duplo constructions to it, and make more interesting things. When I make a house for my daughter I can now attach the garage just next to it on the base plate rather than using more blocks to attach it to the house itself.

The board is about 40 cm square so you can build BIG!

Great addition to my (sorry my childrens) ever expanding lego and duplo collection. Megabloks of the same size as dublo also fit, but they are a bit lose on the plate.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
It's a green sheet of plastic. It costs a tenner. A rip off but sadly a requirement to build on. At least you'll get your money's worth in the packaging Amazon send. See picture (pen added for scale).
review image
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
The baseplate makes a small box of duplo seem to go much further. My 3yr old son has played with it almost every day since we received it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
Really glad i bought this alongside the bricks etc.
It is played with everyday, several times, and is sooo sturdy
Well worth every penny
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
The addition of this baseplate has increased the play value of a box of Duplo bricks by a factor of 10. You could see the light dawning on the face of my 3 year old grandson as he realised the possibilities that having a stable base for building presented. He actually played with this almost all day.

The only downside is that at almost twenty quid its a bit pricey and it seems to be the same price from every supplier, on line and on the high street.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
This is an important item if Duplo is to be used to it's full potential. I am rather concerned that baseplates have to be bought seperately, though pleased that baseplates of this size are available. I found this item not to be as robust as would be desirable
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
this is stuff of my childhood - my kids play a lot with Duplo (all children I am minding from 1 year to 9 years), and the baseplate is expensive but well worth it as a base for building houses, towns, gardens, etc and just lift up the whole thing to store it whenever needed for the next day. Also makes a great sweeper for pieces under the sofa...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Firstly good points
I think that its essential to have a base plate for the kids to build on. It allows them to create much more complex structures
This is a good size and both her princess set and her Dora set can be built (one at a time) with room to play.

Bad Points
Its really bendy - if they build something and you try and move it, it bends and the bricks fall off. Even if you're careful and use two hands, leading to either disgruntled little ones or me having to rebuild everything.
Its expensive, for the price you'd expect a much more solid and rigid product. Esp from an official lego product.

In conclusion - it would be 5 stars if it was rigid, but as it is I can only give 2 or 3.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
We use it with mega blocs and they fit on perfectly, so don't need to buy duplo to use with this board
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here