Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
55
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
Not what you'd call typical Motorhead that everyone's familiar with, but a slightly more sophisticated sound with more modern recording techniques. Well things had moved on since the 70s. Terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Head-banging goodness!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
A fantastic new album to headline Motorhead's 30th anniversary last year and a good line-up of new songs. The live gig they did at Hammersmith Apollo was actually worth going to, and it's good to see that the production and the editing has once again been superb. Although the band has changed it's looks through the years, members have come and gone, but one thing remains true, and that's Lemmy's still rocking it up at the top.

This is far superior to their standard Inferno CD, and at a few pounds difference the extra investment is definitely worth it, as the DVD is jam packed full of extras, including interviews with most of the original and current band members, who will walk through the band's 30 years of glorious rock n' roll. During their 30th celebration the band also played 2 old favourites "(We are the) Road Crew" and, of course, "Bomber" so anyone not getting the DVD will be missing out big time.

Tracks to look out for on this CD are: Killers, Suicide, In the name of Tragedy, Keys to the Kingdom & In the Black. Motorhead fans (and ex-fans) shouldn't be reading this review, you hand should already be hovering over the "Add to Shopping Basket" button!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2005
What an album, and what a show! The mighty motorhead pinned me to the floor once again in an ear bleeding quivering state of gibbering confusion. For all those lost in the wildness of life and in need of therapy, look no further, pull the curtains shut, turn the volume up, lie on the floor and press play---instant relief!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 January 2016
This is without doubt a superb Motorhead album - fast, aggressive and packed with great material. They have stuck to the blueprint and it works!

Stand out tracks include 'Killers', delivered with venom and Lemmy's trademark hypnotic rasp and featuring some terrific lyrics ("we'll kill you 'til you're dead").

A great album from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2004
Lets get this out of the way first - I am a huge fan, always have been, always will be. However, I would hope that this fact wouldn't stop me from giving an honest and critical opinion where necessary. For instance, Iron Fist had internal turmoil written all over it coz it was crap. More up to date and their last release, Hammered, was formulaic and uninspiring. Although Lemmy is quite rightly regarded as one of the last true rock legends who hasn't sold his soul to the record company accountants, that doesn't mean he's incapable of writing a few turkeys on the way.
However with Inferno I'm pleased to report that we're back on track. The saying 'familiarity breeds contempt' is dispelled here - it should read 'familiarity inspires tight musicianship and ear-bashing rock and roll unequalled by any other band.' Inferno is a winner, no two ways about it. I've left this review a good few weeks so as not to give any knee jerk reaction. The proof of the pudding was when I was on the way home from my dull job today and was grinning from ear to ear in the car whilst nodding my head to the opening track. Surely the measure of a good album is that you don't get tired of hearing it. I put Iron Fist on every now and again for novelty value and I haven't heard Hammered for over a year - Inferno won't go that way.
If a band wants to carry on evolving and writing new music rather than trot out the old hits on tour every couple of years then they have to make sure that anything new moves them along to a different place. Otherwise they go stale and end up playing with Bananarama on the Here and Now tour at Christmas. I defy anybody who has a passion for good, old-fashioned , loud, hard rock and roll to be anything other than impressed by Inferno. The production is fantastic, the musical ability of all 3 of them (plus Steve Vai) is as good as anybody and the end result is honest and totally satisfying.
Any upcoming rock bands reading this, just have a listen to Uncle Lemmy and learn. As Dave grohl of the Foo Fighters recently said, 'Lemmy is amazing, he just comes in, kicks shit out of a song and then leaves!' Hallelujah. And lastly boys and girls, lets enjoy them while they're still going - the World will be a poorer place without Motorhead.
9/10
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2006
Ok before i start i actually havn`t seen the DVD that comes with this album yet, i`m only reviewing the CD. As has been said in previous reviews the first three tracks out of this album show a welcome return to form !! "Terminal Show" opens the album fast paced & full of attitude, "Killers" has one of those great catchy Lemmy type chorus`s "In The Name Of The Tragedy" has one of those brilliant vocal deliveries that only Lemmy could do. "Suicide" " Lifes A Bitch" are both good to the latter having a great set of lyrics to it. "In The Black" "Fight" "Year Of The Wolf" have the feel of being fillers i`m afraid. "Keys To The Kingdom" returns to form with "Smiling Like A Killer" & "Whorehouse Blues" bringing up the rear. It says everything that i`ve had this album for 3 weeks now & still havn`t got round to playing the DVD yet ! Everytime i pick it up i think i`ll just play "Killers" again !!! & promptley play the whole album again !! Nuff Said !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2008
What an album! Every box ticked - songs, musicianship & production.
Previous releases were often mixed affairs; Hammered,We Are Motorhead - Good, and Overnight Sensation, Snake Bite Love - Ok but patchy.
This 2004 album is a killer from start to finish! Even the Joe Petagno cover art is one of the best in recent years, apparently a Motorhead version of Mars, God Of War. Indeed War & Death appear to be the central themes of the album - Lemmy excels himself lyrically.
Very much an out & out metal album, this is full of classic riffs, hot leads & VERY powerful drumming. Lemmy's vocals are some of his best ever , and will this guy EVER get the credit he deserves for his bass skills?!
Cameron Webb probably gives the album the best production Motorhead have ever had - its how a metal album should sound, - modern, clear & loud with a solid snare, thick, crunchy guitar & the bass turned up to 10.
My favourites are:
In The Name Of The Tragedy - Great bass chords, monstrous drums & just a great song with a great chorus! Very clever lyrics & vocals!
In The Black - Heavy yet insaneley catchy! stunning double bass drums at the end!
Fight - The album's heaviest? very urgent & more really heavy drums!
In The Name Of The Wolf - Classic mid-tempo 'Head, great lyrics from Lemmy and a great riff from Phil Campbell.
Down On Me - More great riffs!
Killers - One of the catchiest songs, Rock N Roll!
Terminal Show - Fast, guest solos from Steve Vai..
What is really great is the the order the songs are on the CD - everything flows just so! Track order is often neglected, even thrown together but definiteley not here!
Just a really solid metal album - Definiteley one of Motorhead's best, easily as good as the late 70's/early 80's classics (nostalgia aside).
Around the same time, Motorhead did a ferocious cover of Metallica's Whiplash. If you like Inferno, you will love that too - you can find it on Lemmy's Damage Case compilation CD (see my review).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
One of the very best Motorhead records ever made I loveit KILLERS TRAGEDY IN THE BLACK SUICIDE & FIGHT are the standout tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
I always look forward to a new release from Motorhead and Inferno is a real rock and roll cracker that should hopefully sell well. “Ferocious” was how my sixteen year old son described it when he first heard the album and that sums it up pretty well actually as Motorhead have put together a stunning set of tracks that are as good (or better) as anything they’ve done in a very long time. Don’t get me wrong, there are classic tracks on all the Motorhead albums, but the collective strength of the songs on Inferno makes it stand out from the rest in my view. The line up of Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee have been together for quite a few years now and it shows in the quality of what they do and how they sound. The band is as tight as the proverbial ducks rear end and they are clearly totally comfortable as a unit, with Lemmy showing no signs of letting up with his brilliant lyrics and unique bass playing combining with Phil Campbell’s great guitar riffs. As Lemmy often says, Mikkey Dee is “the best drummer in the world” and his aggressive style is key to the overall Motorhead sound. The stand out tracks for me are Terminal Show (which features a certain Mr Steve Vai on guitar), Smiling Like a Killer, Life’s a Bitch, In the Black and Killers, but there are no fillers on Inferno. The album closes with an acoustic (yes that’s right) blues number titled Whorehouse Blues that works superbly (Lemmy on harmonica and everything!). Inferno is a great album and is the best thing that Motorhead have done for ages. I genuinely feel it is right up there with the classic Motorhead stuff from 20+ years ago so go ahead and check it out, you won’t be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)