Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2012
Having played this recording several times I still get great pleasure in watching this over again.

good picture and sound --- recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
On the face of it this film doesn't have a lot going for it. If you are looking for an accurate biopic of the Dorsey brothers then you will be disappointed. If like me on the other hand you are an avid fan of the big band era, add this DVD to your collection. The acting is (to be polite) dated and the dialogue is corny but the music and the sight of the musicians on this DVD can never be repeated.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
This movie is another one from the biopic stable of long gone bandleaders of the 1920's to their demise in the 1950's but whose music lives on, and is followed by - interestingly - a constant supply of lovers of the music of the big bands.
Once again the script and screenplay is of little consequence, and the acting - if it can be given that honourable description, is hardly sublime! Its all about the music (and I should mention that the 30 minute mark nears before any of the real stuff is heard). The music is what buyers of this movie want of course, and who would probably enjoy the entire ninety minutes with their eyes closed if so wished!
What storyline exists is about two quarrelling brothers who are reunited only on the death of their father. During their lives the brothers each develop distinguished musical careers, throughout which they constantly disagree - both socially and professionally. However, each was a talented musician and went on to lead his own successful band. That brief summary at least, was true in real life.
Also appearing in the movie is Janet Blair, Helen O'Connell, and 20's bandleader Paul Whiteman among others. The film was shot in black and white of course (which curiously, seems to suit these kind of movies), and the soundtrack of the film is, technically, not bad, especially considering this is a 1947 production. The film contains the Dorsey bands favourite numbers and a generous helping of other enjoyable big band music. I should mention that the video quality is not the best you will have ever seen but its okay. Aficionados of this musical period won't be too disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Well worth the price if you are a fan of the big band. Obviously this is an old film and as such do not expect surround sound but I would reccommend this DVD
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
good big band music when talent was the norm not like the rubbish called music we have to put up with today
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
You can see the Dorsey Brothers playing and acting, it is a old b&w movie, if you love jazz and its history it is a very nice movie. No subtitles in any languages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
This dvd is better than my original VHS (which I have viewed many times). The pictures and sound cannot be faulted. I ordered on the 17th November and it was delivered by post on the 19th November. What service and post free !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
I don't like it but I will keep it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Not a very good movie, not very well made and resolution poor. Nevertheless historically entertaining. Delivered in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
this was a dvd I loved and I will play over and over you just can't beet the big band sound and the story was very good to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)