Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2007
Elvis movies. They're that strange breed of film that however poor the finished product, they still have the potential to be enjoyable. Most of the films that Elvis made are poorly acted and scripted, and if judged by most benchmarks that film buffs use to evaluate movies, can easily be ripped apart and dismissed as cheaply made garbage. This is exacerbated by the fact that in the sixties, Elvis was working flat out churning out these musicals for the big screen faster than a chicken lays eggs.

Despite this though, there is a small group of films that Elvis made that are hugely enjoyable, more than the sum of their parts if you like, and this is one of them. I rate this as a 5 star effort, my favourite of the King's movies, and one slight step ahead of Blue Hawaii.

Elvis and his bandmates take on the job of watching over a Chicago gangsters daughter while she hits party town Fort Lauderdale during college summer recess.

The plot reeks of sun, sea, sand and romance, funky sixties music and funny moments. And of course (as in all Elvis movies) it features the inevitable punch up, with laughable fight choreography, but fun anyway.

There are a few great touches of old style humour. Gary Crosby has an classic line in the film ...... 'This year I'm not going to play the field, no sir. This year I'm gonna pick me about a half dozen chicks and go steady with 'em'.

Despite the dodgy script, poor acting and direction, I can still watch this timeless movie over and over again warts and all, because it is such a sunny, feel good song-fest, and to decry Girl Happy for it's faults would be to miss the point by a margin bigger than Elvis Presley's bank balance.

As I said, this is my favourite Elvis movie, and considering he won't be making any more, I suppose it will stay that way.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
This is a classic Elvis movie. Rusty Wells (Elvis) baby sits a gangster's daughter Valerie (Shelley Fabres). Lots of problems for Elvis and Shelley to sort out. The holiday atmospherics and the Presley/Fabres combination are mint! Elvis at his best and in good voice make for some great songs such as "Fort Laurderdale" "Spring Fever" and "Wolf Call." This a memorable swinging sixties romp. A must for all elvis fans. One of his best! A one to add to your collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
This is a feel good movie which Elvis fans will recognise as typical of his style with lots of songs, larking about and the obligatory romantic interest! It was enjoyable - exactly - for the escapism regarded as so outmoded today; it isn't a film which takes itself seriously but there are moments of sentiment which ensure - occasionally - you do. It's a lovely journey back in time and certainly takes me back to my carefree childhood - and I loved 'Puppet on a String' - as the song of a first romance. Not just for Elvis devotees but for diehard romantics too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
A QUITE OBSCURE 1965 FILM FROM ELVIS THAT SPAWNED A TOP 30 SINGLE IN "DO THE CLAM".WITH A SONG TITLE LIKE THAT YOU COULD BE FORGIVEN FOR NOT BOTHERING TO BOTHER WATCHING THIS FILM,BUT WAIT.THIS FILM IS A VERY FUN FILM WITH ELVIS LOOKING GOOD AND SOME VERY FUNNY SCENES AS ELVIS AND HIS BUDDYS TRY TO PROTECT A GANGSTERS DAUGHTER FROM THE "GIRL HAPPY" BOYS AT FORT LAUDERDALE.THERE'S SOME SLICK COMEDY AND A FEW GOOD SONGS AND THE ONLY TIME IN A MOVIE WHEN ELVIS HAS TO MASQUERADE AS A WOMAN. THAT IS WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION IN ITSELF.SHELLEY FABARES MAKES A VERY APPEALING C0-STAR IN HER FIRST OF 3 FILMS WITH ELVIS.TRY IT I THINK YOU'LL LIKE IT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
Considering this is an Elvis musical movie from the mid 60's it is actually quite good and deserves more recognition than it seems to get.
Elvis and his band head off to Fort Lauderdale to "chaperone" the daughter of a Chicago big-shot while she is on vacation there.
The problem is that the daughter, played by the attractive Shelley Fabares, does not know that Elvis is looking after her and he has his work cut out to keep the local romeos at bay. One thing leads to another but eventually the couple fall for each other and all ends well.
Some of the songs are decent by Elvis movie standards and if it had been shot on location the film would have merited a much higher rating. Elvis' management had, unfortunately, decided by this time to make films on as low a budget as possible in order to maximise profits and some of his films produced around this time weren't even as well made or entertaining as this one was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
a must for fans, one of his best
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
As usual Elvis is gorgeous. This was one of the better films and it was very weird to see a very young Kurt Russell in it kicking Elvis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
Girl Happy [1965] Super fast delivery to an Elvis fan since 1956. I had been continually pushed to one side by one of your competitors (or so it felt). Then because I was purchasing a Birthday present for a friend and needed prompt delivery on a certain day, I found Amazon, the rest is history. I needed to collect quite a few Elvis films and performances, have found them and purchased them with Amazon. I am now one very happy Elvis fan. The excellent reproducyion of these films and performances means I will never get bored by repeats on television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
I am an Elvis fan and have been for many years, so I am going to give it 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Elvis Presley in yet another of his musicals. Delivered fast by Amazon, Packaged against transit damage. Because this DVD is hard to get hold of I did mind paying extra. After all I paid considerably more for the VHS version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)