Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2000
This is the film that brought Edward Burns to everyone's attention and rightly so. If you want one of the standard glossy romantic films or a drama filled with special effects that seem to be the norm these days then this is not it. But if you want a film that is refreshingly different then this defintely the best. It is well written and well acted. It may not be big budget but I can't say I even noticed, I was too busy watching as the three brothers struggle to make sense of their confused lives and relationships. You'll laugh and relate as Ed Burns takes the ordinary things in life and injects reality and humour which is often missing from current films. This film is funny, charming, dramatic and touching. In a word. Fantastic.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2001
With this debut Film Ed Burns took hollywood by the scruff off the neck and showed them how to make a male romantic comedy. The struggle between the three brothers to make sense of their turbulent childhood is more confused as they try to make sense of their own lives and the repecussions their father has had on them. all of the characters give you something to like about them even the whiney patrick character. if you come from an irish upbringing this will strike a chord or two. Burns makes a superb debut film which is more remarkable as the budget was non existent, but the writing, directing and acting is all superb a worthy winner at the sundance film festival!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I bought this film because it's a classic example of a low budget film that did really well.
You do get carried along with the characters and the plot moves pretty quickly.
Some good performances too, but it's a bit dated now. I wouldn't watch it again.
If you buy it, just keep in mind it was made for next to nothing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 February 2008
I heard a lot about this film and what I heard was so good, that finally I decided to watch it. I don't regret it, but I was a little disappointed, because this movie is really less good than its fame.

Let's begin with the good points. This is a definitely not-Hollywoodian film (a very small budget, mostly unknown actors, it is almost totally dialog based, etc.) and so it is a welcome change from the usual product available on the DVD market. Many dialogs are really funny and intelligent. One of the girls in the movie is really a delight to watch. All the adultery story is very well shown and the conclusion can be only one - cheating is ugly. Simply ugly. Finally, the general tone is optimistic and nice, this is not a gloomy European-like cinema.

But there are also weaker points. The less welcome is the usual Catholic bashing - somebody called the anticatholicism the last racism still respectable, and this movie is another good example of it. In the adultery story we can not really understand WHY the man is so easily cheating on his wife - it is totally contradictory to the opening scene of the movie... Another brother, looking to avoid a marriage he doesn't want, finds exactly at that moment a girl who is in love with him since high school...

The last of the three brothers treats his girlfriend (the most attractive woman in the movie) with a mixture of passion, contempt, distance and cowardice; and when after the ultimate insult they break, she let him come back ten minutes later, without one word of apology... which is a little bit hard to believe. Sorry people, that is not like women work - at least not in this galaxy.

To conclude, this is a nice and smart movie you will not regret watching, but better do not expect a great masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
Ive just sat through this mess of a film and can quite honestly say this was the most poorly acted, boring film Ive watched in ages.
The story is very simple (Irish men like a drink, avoid any emotional commitment, can never express their feelings, and live in permanent fear of going to hell) as we stumble from cliché to cliché until the credits finally call last orders.
The acting is so hammy its almost like watching a porn flick - with all the sex scenes cut out.
Avoid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
A great feel-good film about American Irish family. If you are a proud Irish you will love this film its great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
poor film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Perfectly described, Great Value, Speedy Delivery, Great to deal with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
I had heard about this movie as it received a lot of critical praise. I finally got the chance to watch it, but was not impressed. The acting was fine, but I thought the film was incredibly boring and the screenplay was quite immature - not in the sense of the subject matter, but in the sense that it could have been written by a thirteen-year-old. I enjoyed watching Edward Burns in Saving Private Ryan, but in this film he came across as whiny and childish.
I feel that he needs a lot of practice before his directing and scriptwriting are any good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)