Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2005
This DVD is the best one (with the exception of the season boxsets) but each episode is great homer the heretic where homer stops going to church, is a classic episode. Treehouse Of horror IV is very funny aswell where homer sells his soul for a donut to the devil (ned flanders), Bart sells his soul, where .....suprise, suprise bart sells his soul to milhouse for $5 which features the single most funniest music moment in the whole simpsons where bart makes iron butterflys ina gadda da vida a church hymn. And finally in marge we trust where marge volenteers at the church and ned flanders is almost kill by a gang of savage baboons. 5 stars is very justified. I would strongly recomend you to buy it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2001
This is a great video.It includes the Simpsons episodes'Bart sells his soul',where Bart sells his Soul to Milhouse for $5 ,but soon later wants it back ,'In Marge We Trust',where Marge volunteers to work in the church and manages to solve everybody's problems,'T.O.H. VI 'the fourth halloween special from Season 5,and 'Homer the Heretic' ,where Homer stays home from church and has the best day of his life. Great video,and well worth the money for Simpsomniacs, TV buffs, media students, and comedy addicts! WESLEY 'DJ' MEAD 8/10
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 January 2016
Like all of the entries in the popular 'Simpsons Classics DVD series, 'Heaven and Hell' was originally released as a VHS, which is the reason why the disc only contains four episodes. Whilst this may not seem the best value for money, for a few extra pounds, you can now purchase one of the complete season boxsets.

'Heaven and Hell' contains four religious-themed episodes of the show: 'Bart Sells His Soul' (season 7, 1995), 'In Marge We Trust' (season 8, 1997), 'Homer the Heretic' (season 4, 1992), and the fourth entry in the 'Treehouse of Terror' series: 'Treehouse of Horror IV' (season 5, 1993). The DVD is worth having for the first and latter episodes alone. 'Homer the Heretic' is notable for the appearance of God, who speaks to Homer after he decides to miss church.

This compilation offers plenty of classic laughs with The Simpsons, and a few things which might encourage you to think more seriously about, all at a budget price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
This DVD is classic Simpsons with Marg excelling as the listening lady in one of the episodes. Lots of things to make people think about the reality of Heaven and Hell but done it the usual Simpson style!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
This is possibly the best individual Simpsons volume- and believe me, I know; I have fifteen. This collection contains my personal all-time favourite episode, "Homer the Heretic". It also contains other fabulous episodes such as "In Marge We Trust". This video is worth buying solitarily for Homer's world-recognised Universal philosophy on his couch in "Homer the Heretic": 'Everybody's stupid except me' There are other videos that you can buy that are equally excellent, but considering that The Simpsons is the most intellectually advanced and witty programme ever released on television, you can't go wrong with a set containing religious satire, which we all love. Just a word of warning concerning the Boxsets... if you intend to buy the Boxsets *after* collecting the individual volumes, it is not recommended, as almost all the episodes on the Boxsets are somewhere on one of the individual volumes. Anyway: buy it, if for nothing else then for "Homer the Heretic".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2000
This is another themed Simpsons video, collecting four episodes from different seasons of the show, all with vague religious connections. 'Homer the Heretic' sees the low-IQ Simpsons breadwinner deciding he no longer wants to attend church on Sundays (and suffering the consequences); 'Treehouse of Horror IV' features a sub-story wittily titled 'The Devil and Homer Simpson' (in which Homer sacrifices his soul for a doughnut, and the Devil wants him in return) and 'Bart Sells His Soul' sees Bart sell his own soul to Milhouse for five dollars (!). The best thing about this episode is that Bart spends his payment on an expanding-dinosaur toy ("DAMPEN ME FOR DINOSAUR TERROR!") which he imagines will grow into a monster capable of terrorising Lisa - instead he pours water on it and it goes soggy and washes down the drain! The remaining episode ('In Marge We Trust') has only the very vaguest religious connection (Marge takes Reverend Lovejoy's place counseling Springfield parishioners).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
Once again another achievement from the Simpson creaters. This video conatins four great episodes but particular 'Homer the Heretic'. This episoede shows Homer at his best. He quits church and starts his own religion. Once again he nearly causes his own death and has to rely on others to save him! (Simpson Dog also a class act) This episode focuses on a winter sunadys and this would also be a great day for you to watch it. A great gift to watch at christmas, you will feel right at home with this video! Enjoy!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Really annoyed! Brought this dvd and it had the wrong disc inside...Was really looking forward to watching this. Will have to purchase again as my children really want to watch these old episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
I ordered this dvd to fill up the time at the end of the school year and it proved invaluable, funny, and useful to teach students about media, situation comedy, and American values. Works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
I got this for Christmas in 2009. The episodes are really good you get Homer The Heretic, Tree House Of Horror 5, Bart Sells His Soul. And In Marge We Trust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)