Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2007
This version of Peter and the Wolf is much better than that in the usually excellent naxos collection. The narration by Peter Ustinov is far superior to that of the irritating Edna Everage in the naxos version, who talks over the orchestra at each opportunity and refers to listeners as "possums". If you want Peter and the Wolf, get this cd instead. The other naxos children's cds that I've heard are very good except for Peter and the Wolf. I haven't heard Carnival of the Animals in the naxos collection, but I don't need to now as it is also on here so you get 2 for 1 as well. The Toy Symphony by Leopold Mozart is also on here so excellent quality and excellent value.
44 Comments| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Nice selection of music for children, I find it's great for playing in the car. Only down side is that Peter Ustinov's narration on "Peter and the Wolf" is far too quiet compared to the music - a real shame, as it's then quite difficult to hear the story.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
The narration by Sir Peter Ustinov is absolutly fantastic, this is a true masterpiece, the musical score paints a thousand images as the story unfolds.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
This is a lovely CD for imaginative dancing/miming with children. My daughter loves it and spends time listening and hiding from the wolf, however her little friend (a 3 year old boy) got quite scared by the cat and wolf music and we had to turn it off.
We are really pleased with it though - sparks the imagination!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Child loved it, mum loved it.
A great introduction to classical music and instruments
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Legend has it that prior to his death - or perhaps after - the King participated in an Elvis impersonator-contest. He came third. Equally, Peter Ustinov (of Quo Vadis vintage) is more Neronian than Nero himself. Who's really to blame for the Great Fire of Rome or the death of Britannicus? History is silent. Moreover, Ustinov was such a masterful verbal-actor; to wit, his 1989 narration of Peter and Wolf, accompanied superbly by the Philharmonia under the baton of Phillip Ellis. This is a delight from beginning to end. I never tire of it. Ustinov's powers of characterisation are vivid and subtle. One hangs off every word in anticipation of the next. The story itself is evergreen. When the Wolf emerges from the Great Forest, it's enough to chill one's blood. The recording is exemplary.

It comes in train with a joyful account of the Toy Symphony - whoever thought that Leopold Mozart (of all people) could be such an iconoclast - and a splendid performance of the Carnival of the Animals. As a creation, the latter has a fluency that is Mozart-like. Ever so eloquently, the members of the Philharmonia promulgate its zoological pomp and circumstance. When the Tortoise tapers away into a vista of cerulean, who is not mesmerised and afire? How the Swan enchants as it skirts eternity.

This is opulence. Tremble at the visage of the Wolf! March with the Lions! Put a smile on your dial!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
The orchestral performance is excellent, and Peter Ustinov is OK (but only OK)- but the whole thing is let down by a very poor technical mix. Ustinov's voice is at a much lower level than the orchestra, and he often lets his voice drop, so even in the car you keep having to adjust the volume. I expected better!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Good reports so far. She is just 2 but already singing some of the tunes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
brilliant,just as i remembered as a child,love the story,music and arrangement.Really glad i bought it,brings back many happy memories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
my two and a half year old loves this CD. When he hears the wolf he cries out to warn peter. It's a great alternative to cheesy children's nursery rhyme CDs for in the car.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse