Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 23 January 2018
I know this has come in for some harsh treatment by the music press, but actually I think this is as good an album as any that Paul Simon has produced. I think in years to come it will probably be regarded as among his best six.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2015
VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2015
Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
Brilliant, as expected!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2016
All good, service and product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2015
Steve Gadd on drums...sublime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2010
This album of songs, dating from the period of Paul Simon's unexpected starring role in the film One Trick Pony, is a collection of generally excellent jazzy and relaxed songs, some performed live, with one regular band (the core members being Richard Tee, Eric Gale, Tony Levin and Steve Gadd) rather than the various collections of musicians used on many of his earlier solo recordings. Although only Late in the Evening is relatively well known, all the tracks on the album are very good examples of Paul Simon's late 70s / early 80s smooth jazz style and would appeal to keen fans of his work. The bonus tracks are also good, and particularly welcome is Stranded in a Limousine, the rare track which first appeared on Paul's Greatest Hits etc collection in 1977 but has been omitted from many compilations since. Given the inclusion of this track, the omission of the finished studio recording of Slip slidin' away, which was another song from this era that appeared on the 1977 collection, is very regrettable, since it has not been included as a bonus track on any of these reissues of the original albums (a demo version only is included as a bonus on Still crazy after all these years). However, apart from this unfortunate omission, this is a great sounding album which is, in parts, as good as any of Paul Simon's solo work and is therefore strongly recommended. Like all of the 2004 series of Paul Simon remasters in cardboard sleeves with extra tracks, the remastered sound is superb and has clearly been done with great care, and I'm sure does full justice to what Paul and his various co-producers intended in the studio.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2008
This is an important addition to Paul Simon's impressive anthology, and certainly doesn't deserve to be put down in comparison to others. Oh Marion is, in my opinion, one of the best works Paul Simon has done (no small feat). It is a lyrical and musical masterpiece. This album has a more eclectic feel (as with his earlier works) which could be said to be lost somewhat in his later albums which stuck closer to themes (which I don't mean to be a criticism). I have never seen this film, but the music on this album stands up to a lot of what he's done before or since. It may not have as many catchy numbers as Graceland, and may have dips here and there, but he's an artist who doesn't always make the listener comfortable. Anyone who enjoyed his debut album will enjoy this. Those hoping to tap along to Call Me Al in the background may give this 3 stars!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2009
"One-Trick Pony" is a wonderful Paul Simon album, seriously underrated and underplayed. It's full of beautiful melodies and lyrics, creating a special mood I often enjoy to return to, ever since the days the album was released. I never saw the movie, which goes to show one enjoys the soundtrack nonetheless. I'm happy and grateful about the release of a remastered, extended version!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2000
I'm not sure what the problem with this album is - maybe it just shows the same lack of purpose as the film. There are too many tracks which don't really say anything: 'God Bless The Absentee', 'That's Whay God Made The Movies', etc. There are some good lines: 'The boy's got a heart, but it beats on his opposite side/it's a strange phenomenon, the laws of nature defied/He says The more I get to thinking, the less I tend to laugh' from 'Oh Marion', but generally the effect is pretty bland. The band doesn't help either, with some fairly weak lead guitar work - maybe that's part of the irony of the film, but it doesn't sound like it, as the rest of the band are fine. 'Ace In The Hole' is too weak a song for the film's message to come across strongly. This is an album to have as part of your Paul Simon collection, rather than for its own sake. Sorry Paul - I love the rest of your albums!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)